We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but needs free wifi”
Review of The Glen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Glen
Ranked #140 of 394 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here in April for a few days after staying elsewhere in the area. It is a bit hidden away up the hill with lots of new developments and hotels being built nearby but is still a nice cosy retreat.
The owners are lovely, the rooms are beautiful but it is misleading when advertised as they did say they had WiFi....what they didn't say is it is not included in the room price and costs extra. There is a PC for free use in the main area, but it never worked when we were there.

Room Tip: The rooms they do have are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent three nights here in May . The Glen is a great place for a relaxing stay , there are three rooms in this Homestay .The price for the rooms is quite reasonable . The rooms are very clean and have attached bathroom . The couple who own the place Carmilla and Deen are just so nice , they go out of their way to make your stay pleasant . Its about a 15 minute walk to town or 150 rupees for a tuk tuk .Breakfast at the Glen is available and good . There is a restaurant just down the road that serves nice food for evening meals . If you want a beer, buy it in town and you can store it in the kitchen fridge. I would stay here again and recommend it as a great place for couples .
If you arrive without a booking and they are full there are a number of other places to stay near by .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daverob999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed a few nights here having stumbled across it due to guide book recommended guest houses being full. So glad we found it. The couple running this place were unbelievably friendly and welcoming, couldn't ask for much better. Booked some trips using there own transport, good prices and near faultless. Would recommend this place to anyone and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinbum999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We've spent 6 days here. Lovely homelike atmosphere, friendly folks, clean rooms, hot showers and good internet wifi connection. A ten minute walk from the town. You can chill out in front of the house, use the kitchan fridge to cool some beers.
That about sums it up, recommended!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank jopie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Kandy in the evening, and upon enquiry we definitely wanted to stay here.

The couple who own the home stay are very proud of their home and that is clear in the quality of the rooms.

The bathrooms and bedrooms are very comfortable and clean, with good hot showers.

The location is great, near other backpacker lodgings and to the main attractions in town.

The price is competitive for the good quality of the accommodation. We stayed an extra night as we found The Glen to be a great place to stay.

I reccomend!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhys J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0 km away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#34 of 58 in Kandy
559 reviews
0 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
0 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#6 of 58 in Kandy
747 reviews
0 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen

Address: 58 Saranankara Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 394 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range: RM 121 - RM 129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Glen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing