We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$73
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hanthana House(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$36
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanthana Holiday Rooms(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$21
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
25
12
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
12
3
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Although they would make breakfast if asked they didn't do evening meals but our stay here was very good and like being with a proper family. The rooms were excellent and the shower nice and hot and powerful. It was great sitting on the patio watching all the birds, monkeys and chinchilla type creatures in the morning around the garden.

Room Tip: Comfortable beds, clean, large rooms and sitting areas.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank deejay2574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

My wife and I stayed 3 days there. They have only 3 rooms so you feel familiar. The owners (an elder couple) are very friendly and helpful. We had Sri Lankan breakfast which was delicious. The room was clean and spacious.
The house is on the hill in the south of the lake in a quiet area. There are some restaurants around so you need not to go down to the traffic hell around the lake.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TrillianAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

We stayed 3 nights end September 2014 in this family homestay. The eldery couple is nice, although in the beginning the man is a bit reserved. In this time of the year they don't serve dinner or breakfast, but there is a small restaurant around the corner. They have 3 room, each with badroom, clean, hot water, enough place for your luggage, moscitonet. Wifi is not always working well, but we bought at the airport a 3G sim card (Dialog) 10 euro for a month, so no problems with slow wifi... In September we paid Rs 1500 p/n, because we stayed 3 nights. There is not a great view, but they hava a veranda where you can sit even when it rains. With a tuktuk it is 150 Rs to the centre, but is also an easy walk down hill and along the lake.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank wamky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I walked to The Glen from Kandy town. A bit of a walk up but it was no biggie. Of course, along the way up, there will be people trying to convince you to take their places but just politely decline and be firm with you choice. The Glen is a home and not a hotel. The elderly couple who lives there are simply offering up some of their rooms for travellers. They keep their house and rooms very clean so I felt very comfortable with the affordable rate that I paid. Kinda reminds me of my grandfather's house. The couple were also very easy to talk to and they spoke a fair amount of English. The old couple basically watches TV at home or do some gardening so it's definitely not a place for big groups to be making lots of noises. They also go to bed early, so if you have intentions of coming home early or checking in late, I would suggest some place else. I'm a morning person and I get out at 6am so I was thankful that it wasn't a bother for them :) Great place to stay in Kandy! It's also up a small hill so you'd get a way from the noise and traffic of Kandy town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smellyocheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a chance to stay here for 2 beautiful nights.
The elderly couple was hosting us their place, preparing great food and giving great advise for sight-seeing in Kandy.

Nice and clean rooms, very nice hosts and homely atmosphere.

Be aware of the tuk-tuk drivers, some of them try to get a comission from other places, when they bring you there.
Stay at your route and get to The Glen,
room-rate will be probably even better, hosts will be great for sure.

If we are around, we will visit back!

Ben and Tina

p.s. Sad to read the previous comment, we can't imagine the couple would force you to be back at 10, our experience was different from that and usually communication is key!

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms, we had a nice double-room with bathroom.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benjamin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews