We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, very quiet, helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Amanda Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amanda Hills
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 27 March 2015

good place but a bit overprice:
breakfast should be include and most of all 3% charge if you pay witth Amex (2.5% with Visa) is really too much for that kind of price...
and don't forget to let them your room key if the you want they do your room, they won't ask for it and therfore don't clean the room... they say they don't have extra key..
may they could buy one with 3% charge ...
anyway it's a good hotel, clean and quiet, would be really great if a bit cheaper and no tax on credit card... i mean private tax of course...
i forgot at this purpose they charge you 10% service on the Booking tag... first time i see a service charge on an hotel price in Sri Lanka or anywhere else specially when they don't even clean the room!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with balcon even if you don't eally see the lake , a bit more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank arzklh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2015

Located 10 mins from railway station by taxi and walk of 30 mins. Lake is a 5 min walk away. Its located on a slope. No lifts and rooms are located on 2nd-3rd floor so be prepared for the climb everytime. Rooms are quite small but clean with tea coffee facilities. TV reception was poor, anyways we were not there for watching tv. The staff is friendly , chef nice always willing to accommodate your preferences.We paid 300LKR for a taxi from kandy railway station to the hotel. We extended our stay from 1 night to 3 nights and did all the sightseeing with kandy as base.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms are spacious. There is no difference in an ac or non ac room except tht the ac rem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AsthaDush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in a double AC room (the room had a double and a single - family room). The beds were very comfortable, the room was bright and airy, the aircon worked wonders in the heat, there was a kettle with bottles of water and tea/coffee/creamer/sugar, and a TV that did the job! Also, the room was very clean.

The manager, Jude, was very hospitable and friendly, and the rest of the staff were great, too!

I can't write a review without mentioning the chef - he loved his job and ensured that you enjoyed your meal - everything he cooked was fantastic! You must try his battered onion rings with tartar sauce - delicious!

I nearly forgot to mention the wifi- excellent signal!

As a heads up, this isn't a great place if you are less able as there are quite a few steps and no lift. Most of the hotels near by are similar, but that's what you get if you stay on a hill with stunning views!

Thank you, Amanda Hills!

Lisa and Drew.

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank playlislay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandahillskandy, Manager at Hotel Amanda Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2015

Dear Valved Guest,

I take this opportunity to thank you two for your highly recommended review. It's my duty to give my best who stay @ Amanda Hills Kandy.

You spend your valuable time to setup my Tab and this is unforgettable in my life. Thanks you so much for it and pl visit to Amanda hills Kandy when ever you come to Sri Lanka.

Wish you two all thee very best

Jude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015

Friendly, efficient staff, clean comfortable rooms with balcony and wonderful view.
Good wifi.
Breakfast on the verandah with a stunning view and amusement provided by the local monkeys!

Spent 1 night here and loved it. Very good value for money!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Zeehash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2015

We were staying at the next door Sharon Inn but decided to eat next door at Amanda as our roof top restaurant was closed for refurbishment. We had veg curry and rice which was really spicy and tasty. The service was excellent and when we paid, the guys did not have a 500 rupee note to return to us so they dropped it to our hotel the next morning. It was a spur of the moment decision to eat here but not one we regretted at all. Thanks guys.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.3 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
724 reviews
0.8 km away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
504 reviews
1.0 km away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#35 of 56 in Kandy
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kandy
196 reviews
0.0 km away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#21 of 56 in Kandy
543 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#48 of 56 in Kandy
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amanda Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amanda Hills

Address: No 65 Saranankara Road | Kandy, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: RM108 - RM191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amanda Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s just 5 minutes away from the city of Kandy,this newly built hotel offers apartment type accommodation with tastefully furnished air conditioned luxury rooms.You will be having a fully furnished living area specially for you.Enjoy the stunning and wonderful views of the Kandy lake,Udawattakele sanctuary and Temple of the tooth from the roof top restaurant. The friendly staff takes pride in preparing delicious Sri Lankan, Western or Chinese home-cooked meals.We provide all the facilities to make you a homely environment deviated from the concept of a hotel. It is ideal for families and travel groups.From this comfortable base you can explore number of world class attractions and experience number of exciting activities in and around Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amanda Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing