We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm at an affordable price”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 4 March 2015

Spent a day and night with friends at this old hotel overlooking the beautiful Kandy Lake. Comfortable rooms and good food. The meals for which we paid separately were surprisingly cheap for a hotel of this stature. Booking online one gets a better deal than when booking directly with the hotel.

Room Tip: Elderly clients note to avoid rooms on the fourth floor as the quaint old lift goes only as far as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 350 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2015

Hotel Suisse is on the lake but you'd be lucky to get a lake view room. Also, there's no pavement on that side of the road so it was hair-raising to negotiate the pedestrian crossing to get lakeside with the 'interesting' Sri Lankan driving. We got tuk-tuks most of the time, which seemed to be R200 for 200 yards or 3 miles.
Unfortunately the hotel looks sad and uncared for, with most of the window awnings rotting. The pool looked nice but I'm not sure how healthy it would be to sit by a pool with a road belching fumes from the congested traffic close by either.
There were two receptionists (sometimes one) for a large hotel and the concept of a concierge seemed lost. However, there is a travel desk willing to part you with your money readily for tours etc but if you want help with train tickets forget it.
The shower was not great; it didn't heat for 20 minutes.
The bar was organised chaos with 3 staff asking the same person if they wanted a drink whilst others had nothing.
The food in the restaurant was very very average as this hotel seemed to have large coach parties staying and therefore doled out the 'international fare' they think these people want or believe they can get away with with such a captive audience.
We particularly enjoyed the disclaimer on the door stating the hotel wouldn't be held responsible for the loss of items not placed in the safe - there was no safe!
The bed was huge and very comfortable.
I found the hotel frustrating, I'm not sure how they can claim it's 3 stars, 2 at best for having a large bar/restaurant and secondly a pool, and the floors are immaculate but there isn't a moment you don't see someone without a polisher making you feel like you're in the way!

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank travelmad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015

The hotel is in a beautiful location, at walking distance from the temple of tooth. The restaurant is great with good ambience and delicious food and great music. The swimming pool is huge and quite deep. The children have dedicated splash pool.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank InfinityOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed here one night as part of a tour package - was unimpressed. The place is very old-fashioned in feel, in a tacky way & food was totally mediocre; the desserts were inedible.

My boyfriend asked for his case to be taken up by a bellboy, whilst in contrast I had to wrestle with staff to be allowed to take my own case! After the case not showing up for absolutely ages, I went down to chase, and found his case abandoned in the open lobby, unattended. I rescued it for him. Not good!

The room we were given was horrendously noisy - there were people doing building work right outside - angle-grinding, drilling, the works, and when this did not abate at 10:30pm we complained & asked to change rooms. They complied but was not very impressed that they seemed unsurprised & said it happens all the time! They should not be putting guests in rooms too noisy to sleep in. Second room was quieter but still had road noise. Overall an uncomfortable stay.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Slightly out of town - that evening they had a barbecue in the garden with a band - our room was above ! we ordered a cheese burger from room service - when arrived - no burger just cheese !!! - breakfast was ok

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank mparr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.4 km away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,329 reviews
3.6 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
2.7 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
2.9 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Address: 30 Sangarajah Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: RM351 - RM663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Suisse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing