We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$41
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$302
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanthana House(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$36
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$29/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$121
US$60
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanthana Holiday Rooms(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$20
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$147
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,531)
Filter reviews
1,531 results
Traveller rating
407
717
283
62
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
717
283
62
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskandy lakepool areasri lankagreat view over kandynew wingbalcony doornice poolbuilding workbuffet dinneroverlooking the lakelovely hotelrestaurant staffstayed here for nightsexcellent viewbuffet styletooth templetop floor
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,531 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed for one night in kandy in our trip. The hotel is very old and I believe some construction is also going on to upgrade the hotel. The rooms are large and clean. We got a lake facing room beautiful view. The staff is very helpful and ready to help even before you ask. We were half board breakfast and dinner had very few veg options which was the only disappointment we had in our stay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank IshitaShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear IshitaShah,

We are so delighted to read your valuable comment and sharing your memorable experience and much appreciate that you have highlighting the factors that have won you over during your stay.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience; We look forward to welcome you back and to patronized Thilanka Kandy as your favorite destinations in Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

The staff at the Thilanka Hotel can’t do enough for you! We were there off- season but they were helpful and charming. Room was fine with a great view over Kandy and the Milk Lake. Suggest walking down to the town and taking a tuk-tuk back but beware of the 4kms around the one way system re the price of the journey. Cheapest price we negotiated was 150SLR but we gave a good tip also! Recommend the Kandian dancing which is just at the bottom of the hill below the Hotel as you meet the lake path, the ceremony at the Temple of the Tooth. Also recommend the Tourist Office ( next to bus station) who fixed us up with a great driver for a day’s tour of the famous (and not so famous) temples.

Room Tip: Higher floors - ask for lake view
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank j_r_melvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear Melvin,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with fellow travelers on Trip Advisor!

It was an honor to have you with us on your return stay at Thilanka Hotel, We are truly happy that you gave us an opportunity to show you our commitment to hospitality and that you enjoyed the excellent service provided by our team and we are truly grateful by your generous comments. My colleagues work tirelessly day by day to make all our guests feel home away from home, so it was heartwarming to read how content you were with the service they provided.

We look forward to welcoming you once again for another memorable stay in future.
.

Best Regards,

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

The hotel has friendly staff, big and nice rooms with balconies and one can see it once was very glamourous. Located above the lake, the view is nice. Currently they are renovating, which is good on the one hand, very noisy on the other. No real privacy at the pool area. Great breakfast.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Nicola A,

We are so delighted to read your valuable comment and sharing your memorable experience and much appreciate that you have highlighting the factors that have won you over during your stay.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience; We look forward to welcome you back and to patronized Thilanka Kandy as your favorite destinations in Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We travelled to Sri Lanka to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. This Hotel was booked for us by our travel agent in Sri Lanka. We stayed here for two night (17th and 18th May 2018)

Firstly, the good points:
Checking in was quick and efficient, with a welcome drink during the process.
Housekeeping staff were attentive and did as much as possible to help.
The restaurant is large with a wide selection on the menu and a well set out buffet (which we did not try). How ever the food we ordered from the menu was excellent.
A small chocolate cake was in the bar fridge in our room, nice gesture.

Now the bad points:
We were shown to room 906, upon entering the room there was a very unpleasant smell (mouldy and stale) as if the room had not been used in a very long time.
The floor was tiled, but filthy. No slippers or bathrobes were supplied. walking barefoot in the room would result in dirty feet. Only one small cake of soap was supplied for two people.
The toilet did not work properly, the button had to be held down for at least thirty seconds before it would flush properly.
The shower screen would stick every time it was used.
The kettle supplied in the room was not functional and had to be replaced.
The curtains did not meet in the middle, creating a 3 inch gap (So much or sleeping in past 6am).
Knowing we were at this hotel for our anniversary, they supplied us with two single beds, made up as single beds and pushed together.
When we complained to the reception staff, we were informed that the hotel was "Full of honeymooners and nothing could be done" when we continued to complain, we were hung-up on.
Housekeeping was sent to our room and they made the two single beds into a double bed, but left the same single bed linen, leaving us with insufficient covering for the night.

We complained to our travel agent and within one hour we were informed that we would be upgraded upon our return to the hotel. When we returned, we were upgraded to a suite, which met all of our expectations. Suite number was 960.

Our first room (906) was definitely not 4 star standard.

Joseph and Marie.

Room Tip: Book a suite.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank josephphilipd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear josephphilipd,


We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your detailed review and I can assure you that we do take feedback with the utmost importance as we value all our guest’s opinions and concerns.

We were sincerely disappointed to learn of your experience during your stay. I do assure you that we always strive to maintain the highest level of standards and you comments have been shared with the relevant team members. Your constructive feedback is highly appreciated and would be looked into.

Thank you for taking time to write to us and we certainly hope to have you with us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Stayed at Thilanka May 9 10 11 2018.
What a splendid place to stay.
Facilities first class.
Food excellent
Staff friendly, helpful and well motivated
Management attentive (Hi Marcus).
Prices reasonable.
This hotel is an old favourite which never fails to deliver the goods
If only ALL hotels were as good life would be so much sweeter
Thanks a lot Thillanka
Bruce and Joan Ware

Room Tip: All rooms OK. Poolside rooms best
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ponzico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Dear Ponzico,

It brings us great pleasure to know that your recent stay with us was enjoyable & memorable one. We truly appreciate your generous feedback specially mentioning our staff names that put a great deal of thought into how they care for our guests and it is very encouraging when their efforts are recognized. And we would like to share with you that loyal guests like you are the ones who make our team feel proud.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience; we look forward to welcoming you once again in near future.

.

Best Regards,

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews