We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulence at its best! LOVED IT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Earl's Regent Hotel
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2015

This is one of our favorite hotels in our ENTIRE trip! Only 7-10 min away from the Temple of the Tooth and busy city life, we found this place to be amazingly comfortable and we felt SO at home! Located on an uphill slope, this hotel is chic and modern, with a lovely backdrop of mountains and slightly chilly air. We were lucky as there was a wedding going on there and we got to see a Sri Lankan bride!

On check in, we were given lovely cool towels to refresh ourselves and served excellent wood apple juice, garnished with a pineapple leaf. We were promptly checked in, handed the wifi password IMMEDIATELY (so much love for that), and taken up to our room. The wifi worked beautifully even though we were on the 4th floor (tears of relief), and the tv had a great selection channels.

The room was very posh and very 5 star in presentation. The bed was incredibly comfy and lovely to sink into at the end of a long day's travel (8 hours in the car). The bathroom, though small, was modern, with Grohe fittings and a rain shower, which was incredible to use! The best part for us was opening the menu and finding incredible dishes at very reasonable prices! The dessert was flour-less chocolate cake with citrus fruit and ice cream - and it was OMG! Excellent! Best meal we've had since we got to Sri Lanka.

Breakfast was a whole new world of delights - they had an extensive selection of breakfast foods, both local and continental dishes, and what won my heart was the strawberry yogurt with the muesli - light and refreshing. We were particularly excited to get to eat outside on the patio, with an excellent view of the garden with its statues, the pool and the clouds rolling across the mountains. We were personally served by friendly and efficient staff, who made it their business to ensure we were 100% comfortable.

A HUGE THUMBS UP! WE love it and highly recommend it. It was the first true hotel experience we had in Sri Lanka, measurable to 5 star hotels abroad. With having been only 1 year in operation, we think they're doing a phenomenal job, and must urge you to visit!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room close to the lift, as that is close to the service area for staff and can be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Batty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarlsRegent, Front Office Manager at Earl's Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for selecting Earl's Regent and for the time taken in sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We are glad to note that the property has met your expectations and that you have enjoyed the surroundings, facilities, food and services during your stay with us. Your feedback and appreciation is of utmost importance to us in our strive to deliver superlative levels of service to our customers at all times.

Whilst thanking you for your patronage, we take this opportunity to wish you and your family all the very best in the coming years ahead. And sincerely look forward to welcoming you back at Earl's Regent during your next visit in the near future.

Many thanks in anticipation and warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 511 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2015

We stayed in Earl's Regent Hotel for only 2 nights but this was an unforgettable experience! This hotel is fantastic! The staff, the view, the food, the rooms, the amazing service and kindness......we will never forget this beautiful Hotel! We were really sad that we had to leave.
Next time we will stay much longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carindekeijzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarlsRegent, Front Office Manager at Earl's Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Earl’s Regent and for your kind review and recommendation. We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed the service and hospitality and trust you will stay with us again if you do visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015

I took part in a wedding of one of my friends. Great Architecture and Spacious.The best food I've ever had at a wedding function in Sri Lanka!!! I would give highest rate for the foods. Almost all the foods are great! They had really rich deserts too with a variety.

Anyway I don't recommend this place for a wedding of a Buddhist couple because of a picture hanging in the wall at the banquet hall, but Ideal for a western wedding!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarlsRegent, Front Office Manager at Earl's Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Earl’s Regent and for your valuable feedback. Your compliments on our plus points is greatly appreciated, as well as your comments on the negative issue as this enables us to take corrective action and ensure our guests are given an excellent and memorable stay with us.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to indulge in more of our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2015

We stayed in Earl's Regent for a very brief one night stay in Kandy, but I have to say we loved the luxury vibes. Very comfortable rooms, and welcoming staff. We were received with a nice warm cup of ginger tea after a long rainy ride. We arrived at night, so waking up to the stunning view of the hotel made it perfect! Nice decent breakfast with a stunning view.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hend E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarlsRegent, Front Office Manager at Earl's Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2015

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for selecting Earl's Regent and for the time taken in sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We are glad to note that the property has met your expectations and that you have enjoyed the surroundings, facilities, food and services during your stay with us. Your feedback and appreciation is of utmost importance to us in our strive to deliver superlative levels of service to our customers at all times.

Whilst thanking you for your patronage, we take this opportunity to wish you and your family all the very best in the coming years ahead. And sincerely look forward to welcoming you back at Earl's Regent during your next visit in the near future.

Many thanks in anticipation and warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed here on a brief visit to Kandy and it was pleasant. Had some issues with parking due to a cramped and crowded uphill driveway. Check in was a bit haphazard again due to a busy crowded small lobby. But the staff were quite polite. The rooms were small but clean and well decorated. Nice view from the pool area. Food in the restaurant was lovely but the menu was limitted. The whole hotel is on the small side. Yet the stay was comfortable so we might consider it again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dilini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarlsRegent, Front Office Manager at Earl's Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Earl’s Regent and for your kind review and recommendation. We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed the service and hospitality and trust you will stay with us again if you do visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
3.6 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
4.0 km away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,338 reviews
2.9 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
566 reviews
1.8 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
5.2 km away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earl's Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl's Regent Hotel

Address: 40 / 1, Deveni Rajasinghe Mawatha, Kandy 020400, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: RM254 - RM637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Earl's Regent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earl's Regent is aimed at local and foreign travelers who insist on staying in a hotel fit for royalty, just steps away from many of Kandy's most glittering attractions. The hotel's 60 elegantly-appointed Rooms providing the utmost in privacy and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Earl's Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing