We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Deer Park Hotel(Polonnaruwa)
US$112
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Binara Home Stay(Polonnaruwa)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Giritale Hotel(Giritale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ariya Rest House(Polonnaruwa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ayame Guest House(Polonnaruwa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Angel Tourist Home(Polonnaruwa)
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Amara Residence(Polonnaruwa)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bamboo Inn(Polonnaruwa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
122
171
87
53
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
171
87
53
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparakrama samudrawater buffalowelcome drinkthe ground floorrestaurant staffsri lankareception stafflovely swimming poolstayed one nightlobby areaamazing locationpleasant stayancient citywild elephantslakesunsetruins
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2015 via mobile

After being robbed by a member of staff associated with this hotel I tried to get the hotel manager to put in writing that i had reported the theft. He refused. He also refused to let me go to the police to report it without him coming with me (clearly wanted to speak to the police officer first) the manger just brushed me off and accused me of trying to make a fake travel insurance claim (to the sum of £75! Ha £50 of that would have been my excess payment!) Terrible attitude and poor management. So rude. Reported to head office but after 3 weeks still no response so writing review as a warning to others.
Do not stay here.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2015

Dear Guest
As per your comment on tripadvisor you have mentioned that the letter sent to our head office with regard to your complaint wasn't reply. As you can see below our GM had replied to the same on dated 15th Januaty 2015.
Further more we reject what you have mentioned in the commet, it is false & damaging. and thoes reading your comment & our reply are well in a position to understand the thruth against your alligation.

From: GM | SAFARI [mailto:gm@safari-tissa.net]
Sent: Thursday, January 15, 2015 2:15 AM
To: danielle.k.ward@hotmail.com
Cc: Omer; Manager | The Lake
Subject: Formal Complaint

Dear Madam,

I am in receipt of your complain which you have sent to our head office in Colombo.

First, my apologies for the delay in replying as I needed some time to fully investigate the incident.

I wish to inform of you of the following;

* your complaint of the Manager being rude to you is denied by him and also the other officers present at that time but if you think he was rude, I apologize for it.

* As a service we at the hotel helped you to get the bicycles and you had agreed to the price quoted by the service provider.

* The settlement of the bicycle hiring charge was done by you directly to the service provider and the hotel was not involved in any way with this.

* You have complained to the Hotel a day later after your transaction with the service provider that you have paid him Rs. 15,000/- (Rupees Fifteen Thousand Only) instead of the Rs. 1,400/- (Rupees. One Thousand Four Hundred Only), which was the agreed price for hiring of the four bicycles and also at the same time acknowledged the receipt of Rs. 100/- (Rupees One Hundred Only) from the service provider being the balance payment due to you.

* We have checked with the service provider and he totally denies that he received Rs, 15,000/- as mentioned by you.

* You have insisted from the Manager that a letter to be given from the hotel confirming the overpayment done to the service provider.

* We wish to inform you that this is purely a private transaction between you and the service provider and furthermore, as mentioned by you, if you have paid any excess money, it was done on your free will and not under pressure from any person. As such the hotel cannot take any responsibility for the said private transaction.

* You have requested a "Tuk Tuk" to go to the Police Station at which point, as a courtesy, the Manager had offered the hotel vehicle and said that he too will accompany you to the Police Station so that the matter can be resolved and acted upon on the advice of the local Police. We find no reason for the Manager to go to the Police Station first and speak to them since the hotel in no way got involved in the money transaction which transpired between you and the service provider.

I take this opportunity once again to apologize for any inconvenience caused owing to this misunderstanding and hope the above is to your satisfaction.

Thanking you,

With warm regards,
Deepal Amarasinghe
General Manager
The Safari Hotel - Tissamaharama
The Lake Hotel - Polonnaruwa
The Lake House - Polonnaruwa
M : (94) 77 4778470
T :The Safari Hotel -047 5677620-3 / 047 2237299
The Lake Hotel - 027 5678956 - 8
The Lake House - 027 5701550 -1
F : The Safari - 047 2237201
The Lake Hotel - 027 2222412
E : gm@safari-tissa.net
W: www.ceylonhotelscorporation.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2015

the hotel has very nice views of the lake. It is very quite. Rooms are spacious and clean. The bathroom was a bit too small and simple. We had a great dinner and breakfast. Staff was very nice and helpful. Wifi was only available in the lobby. It would be better to have it in the rooms too.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Netopyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2015

Dear valued customer
Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor, we welcome your feedback, Thank you for your appreciation of the services given to you from our staff and staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015

We stayed in the Lake Hotel for 2 nights and had a very good time. The rooms were good and clean and the food very good. Breakfast was also super and the staff excellent. We didn't see any elephants but lots of monkeys! Awsome! Just a little problem with the lake-flies but that was not the fault of the Hotel and they warned us in advance. Its just a problem in that area.
Very kind people, supergood and very close to the ancient city.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have no balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carindekeijzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2015

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor, we value your input, which is of much encouragement. Glad that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you very much staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

The hotel was really a great disappointment. The location offers advantages: close to the monuments, great lake view, nice pool. But everything else is bad. Bad smell in common rooms. Smelly and dirty rooms. No hot water, unfriendly staff - we asked several times for the hot water and they kept saying lies to us. Food was mediocre. After 2 days our clothes were smelling fried food and moisture. Avoid, if possible.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank XriLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your positive and negative comments are much appreciated. We take note on ares that need more attention and apologize to the inconvenience caused. Thanks for your time and feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Visited both of the lake hotel locations and on the plus side they both are situated perfectly. That is about the extent of their virtues however and the atmosphere at both is impersonal and generally lacking and the food was very disappointing.

To be fair I only visited for food and drinks and the second one ( closer to the sudu) was somewhat more pleasing.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jarmon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your positive and negative comments are much appreciated. We take note on ares that need more attention. Thanks for your time and feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews