We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not lucky to see elephants? You'll meet the mosquitos!”
Review of The Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Reviewed 13 February 2015

This hotel is rather large and is a typical stop for busses full of chinese tourists, french and the like that take over.

The beautiful lake view is by far the best property of this hotel.

My 2 lists:

The Good:
- Location on the lake shore, occasional elephant spotting, lots of birds.
- Good swimming pool with proper beds and towels,
- Staff attitude is excellent,
- Cook that can cook Srilankan and Western food very well with enough diversity.
- Free wifi (see that bad as well)

The Bad:
- More mosquito's than you can count or defend against, beware!
- Very noisy airco's, even if you turn your AC off, the neighbor's one will keep you awake.
- Outdated and *not very clean* rooms.
- Buffet only, however if you get there 10 mins after opening and there is a bus with Chinese, you'll find empty pots, of which several will be taken away not refilled.
- Wifi in (small) lobby and restaurant only, however range, bandwidth and connection capacity not close enough to hotel needs. With enough guests you will not be able to connect and if you can it is of no use, you'll have to wait till after 22 hours when mosts guest go to sleep.

We would have chosen a less crowdy hotel with a better sleeping experience if we would have know the above

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs have a porch with 2 chairs and a table and access to the green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bymy141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2015

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor, we welcome your feedback, for the plus and minus. Minuses are a source for moving forward with rectification. Thank you stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 152 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2015 via mobile

After being robbed by a member of staff associated with this hotel I tried to get the hotel manager to put in writing that i had reported the theft. He refused. He also refused to let me go to the police to report it without him coming with me (clearly wanted to speak to the police officer first) the manger just brushed me off and accused me of trying to make a fake travel insurance claim (to the sum of £75! Ha £50 of that would have been my excess payment!) Terrible attitude and poor management. So rude. Reported to head office but after 3 weeks still no response so writing review as a warning to others.
Do not stay here.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2015

Dear Guest
As per your comment on tripadvisor you have mentioned that the letter sent to our head office with regard to your complaint wasn't reply. As you can see below our GM had replied to the same on dated 15th Januaty 2015.
Further more we reject what you have mentioned in the commet, it is false & damaging. and thoes reading your comment & our reply are well in a position to understand the thruth against your alligation.

From: GM | SAFARI [mailto:gm@safari-tissa.net]
Sent: Thursday, January 15, 2015 2:15 AM
To: danielle.k.ward@hotmail.com
Cc: Omer; Manager | The Lake
Subject: Formal Complaint

Dear Madam,

I am in receipt of your complain which you have sent to our head office in Colombo.

First, my apologies for the delay in replying as I needed some time to fully investigate the incident.

I wish to inform of you of the following;

* your complaint of the Manager being rude to you is denied by him and also the other officers present at that time but if you think he was rude, I apologize for it.

* As a service we at the hotel helped you to get the bicycles and you had agreed to the price quoted by the service provider.

* The settlement of the bicycle hiring charge was done by you directly to the service provider and the hotel was not involved in any way with this.

* You have complained to the Hotel a day later after your transaction with the service provider that you have paid him Rs. 15,000/- (Rupees Fifteen Thousand Only) instead of the Rs. 1,400/- (Rupees. One Thousand Four Hundred Only), which was the agreed price for hiring of the four bicycles and also at the same time acknowledged the receipt of Rs. 100/- (Rupees One Hundred Only) from the service provider being the balance payment due to you.

* We have checked with the service provider and he totally denies that he received Rs, 15,000/- as mentioned by you.

* You have insisted from the Manager that a letter to be given from the hotel confirming the overpayment done to the service provider.

* We wish to inform you that this is purely a private transaction between you and the service provider and furthermore, as mentioned by you, if you have paid any excess money, it was done on your free will and not under pressure from any person. As such the hotel cannot take any responsibility for the said private transaction.

* You have requested a "Tuk Tuk" to go to the Police Station at which point, as a courtesy, the Manager had offered the hotel vehicle and said that he too will accompany you to the Police Station so that the matter can be resolved and acted upon on the advice of the local Police. We find no reason for the Manager to go to the Police Station first and speak to them since the hotel in no way got involved in the money transaction which transpired between you and the service provider.

I take this opportunity once again to apologize for any inconvenience caused owing to this misunderstanding and hope the above is to your satisfaction.

Thanking you,

With warm regards,
Deepal Amarasinghe
General Manager
The Safari Hotel - Tissamaharama
The Lake Hotel - Polonnaruwa
The Lake House - Polonnaruwa
M : (94) 77 4778470
T :The Safari Hotel -047 5677620-3 / 047 2237299
The Lake Hotel - 027 5678956 - 8
The Lake House - 027 5701550 -1
F : The Safari - 047 2237201
The Lake Hotel - 027 2222412
E : gm@safari-tissa.net
W: www.ceylonhotelscorporation.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2015

the hotel has very nice views of the lake. It is very quite. Rooms are spacious and clean. The bathroom was a bit too small and simple. We had a great dinner and breakfast. Staff was very nice and helpful. Wifi was only available in the lobby. It would be better to have it in the rooms too.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Netopyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2015

Dear valued customer
Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor, we welcome your feedback, Thank you for your appreciation of the services given to you from our staff and staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015

We stayed in the Lake Hotel for 2 nights and had a very good time. The rooms were good and clean and the food very good. Breakfast was also super and the staff excellent. We didn't see any elephants but lots of monkeys! Awsome! Just a little problem with the lake-flies but that was not the fault of the Hotel and they warned us in advance. Its just a problem in that area.
Very kind people, supergood and very close to the ancient city.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carindekeijzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2015

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor, we value your input, which is of much encouragement. Glad that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you very much staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

The hotel was really a great disappointment. The location offers advantages: close to the monuments, great lake view, nice pool. But everything else is bad. Bad smell in common rooms. Smelly and dirty rooms. No hot water, unfriendly staff - we asked several times for the hot water and they kept saying lies to us. Food was mediocre. After 2 days our clothes were smelling fried food and moisture. Avoid, if possible.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank XriLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your positive and negative comments are much appreciated. We take note on ares that need more attention and apologize to the inconvenience caused. Thanks for your time and feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Polonnaruwa hotels
3.1 km away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#6 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
127 reviews
10.7 km away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
546 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#4 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Giritale Hotel
Giritale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Giritale
344 reviews
4.6 km away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#3 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
197 reviews
1.5 km away
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
#5 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Hotel

Address: Pothgul Vihara | New Town, Polonnaruwa 51000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Price Range: RM205 - RM484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lake Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned on banks of the Parakkrama Samudra one of the largest man-made lakes in the country by King Parakkrbma Bahu in the Ancient City of Polonnaruwa.The Lake Hotel is the ideal point of transit within the archaeological cultural triangle and venture out on excursions. Furthermore en-route to the golden sandy beaches on the east-coast and it’s within an hour’s drive from 'The Lake' hotel. Guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. For those of you who want to venture out, shopping, banking, and other commercial needs, it’s only four kilometres away the from the commercial town of Kaduruwela.'The Lake' basically is a hub to the ancient city, Archaeological sites, wild life and the beaches on the east coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing