We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed - off the beaten track”
Review of Thick Forest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thick Forest
Ranked #48 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Sigiriya
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Our group of 5 tourists from Uk and Austria arrived in this amazing forest/jungle greeted by Kamal and his staff with a glass of thirst quenching freshly squeezed lime juice. Our friend and driver Sarrath from Deltota had driven us all day to this ancient historic city and we were quite exhausted despite frequent stops on the way and encountering some difficulties in finding the hide-away!

The owner and entrepreneur Kamal offers clean wooden lodges on 16 ft stilts, WC and hot/cold showers, provides clean crisp white linen and towels, an electric fan and a mosquito net to keep away any creepy crawlies. These were much appreciated!
You can also have early breakfast tea served to your lodge; there is a balcony from which you can see the Rock and watch the birds and wild life, numerous butterflies and just sit back and relax.
Breakfast is cooked by the locals in the kitchen on site and served under the canopy of the trees; we enjoyed Sri Lankan breakfast and delicous dinners for 2 nights;
We recommend you take binoculars to watch the numerous species of birds and Kamal is most informative about wild and bird life and is passionate about sustainability and the environment. There are plenty of walks in the surrounding area to the village where you can buy wood carvings (from Anton's shop) and replenish your exotic fruit/drinks intake.
Kamal arranged a van and a very competent and considerate driver to take us back to Colombo City. However, we regret we could not stay another night to take a day trip to Polonnaruwa.
We enjoyed an unforgettable stay in Sigiriya.
Luisa Asirvatham, London, UK

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisaAsirvatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 73 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2010

We recently stayed at the "Thick Forest Lodge", the latest project by the owners of the Teak Forest. There are currently 3 amazing, treehouse en-suite rooms made mostly from , mango wood, with stunning views of Sigirya rock, with more accommodation on the way. This unusual lodge is a unique, special place that I would recommend to anyone visiting this part of Sri Lanka. We were made extremely welcome by all the staff here and especially by the owner Kamal. We ate the finest authentic Sri Lankan food of our trip, in a wonderful setting with just the noises of the forest to accompany your meal. Make sure you go for the Sri Lankan breakfast after having climbed the rock first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollywilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

I struggle for words to describe how amazing the Teak Forest is! Wow! The owner, Kamal was so helpful and informative and really made our experience special, Kamal picked us up from our B&B 4* hotel (which was really starting to put a dampner on our holiday-literally!). When we arrived at the Teak Forest, having visited some amazing temples on the way! we were welcomed with a fresh fruit juice. The wooden lodges are suprisingly clean and comfortable, the villagers who help run the lodges are really friendly- and cook amazing meals! we even had lessons from them in cooking authentic Sri Lankan cuisine! And were treated to some magical singing over dinner. To experience a true feel of this wondeful country, The Teak Forest is a must!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktbiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

The Teak Forest comprises five wooden cabins on stilts, each with shower and terrace. The location is beautiful with a large lake just through the trees and a great view of Sigiriya. Very much an eco 'village' the accomodation is simple to basic and the only negative would some black mould on the back wall, the result of heavy rain in the preceding weeks - once pointed out, the owner Kamal did ensure it was cleaned although it was impossible to remove the staining. Kamal himself was an excellent host, he ensured we saw a great deal of the area and the afternoon walk around the lake is a must - birdlife (hornbills, kites, egrets etc - take binoculars or a good zoom lens), paddy fields, colourful villagers barhing after a days work etc. The food was superb. Aruna cooks on the simplest of equipment but puts together a range of curries that are utterly authentic - some of the vegetables we had never seen before and Kamal was always willing to explain further (tho if you are watching your figure be alert when Aruna hovers - he is looking for half empty bowls to refill and the food will keep coming.......). We had a power cut on the second night (of two) as an elephant had brought down a power line nearby - so take a torch. This is not five star luxury and doesn't pretend to be. It is a nature lovers dream and the ideal place to visit if you want an authentic Sri Lankan experience. Would we go back? Yes - for the food and good company and the back-to-nature feel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1951art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

My four girl friends and I loved this place. It's isolated from sounds and lights except for all things natural. Local staff create authentic and delicious meals.

The owner, Kamal, makes it particularly wonderful. He picked us up at the airport and guided us throughout the area of the ancient cities, to Kandy via a Spice Garden and to Unawatuna via a Tea Plantation and the Elephant Orphange. He speaks excellent English and can explain anything about Sri Lankan history and culture very clearly. He is a gem- very fun to hang out with, very professional and kind.

HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicGranolaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
4.9 km away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
578 reviews
6.5 km away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
431 reviews
1.6 km away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,647 reviews
2.0 km away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#9 of 20 in Sigiriya
111 reviews
0.8 km away
Sigiri Queens Rest Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thick Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thick Forest

Address: Pidurangala | Sigiriya, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Sigiriya
Price Range: RM149 - RM270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thick Forest Sigiriya is a unique tree house hotel over looking the eighth wonder of the world, sigiriya rock castle, in Sri Lanka. It is situated at the centre of three, mostly visited ancient cities, Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa & kandy.Minneriya & Kawudulla National parks are renowned as the best places to observe the wild elephants in their natural habitat, and it's a few minute drive from 'Thick Forest'. Wild Safaris, Bird watching, Elephant rides,Guided tour to Sigiriya Rock Castle and surrounding archaeologically important places are among many other activities which can be arranged to suit the need of the visitor.Sri Lankan cuisine made by our chef is served at the roof-top restaurant overlooking the Sigiriya rock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thick Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thick Forest Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing