We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lal Homestay(Sigiriya)(Great Value!)
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$90
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$147
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$63
US$46
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$76
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sigiri Queens Rest Guest House(Sigiriya)(Great Value!)
US$13
US$10
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$90
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$399
US$362
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sigiriya(Sigiriya)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
41
35
20
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
35
20
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housewho cooksthe ownersri lankasigiriya rocktuk tuknational parkspecial thanksan amazing viewtreehousecabinnaturetoiletacpidurangalamonkeyscomfort
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We recently stayed at the "Thick Forest Lodge", the latest project by the owners of the Teak Forest. There are currently 3 amazing, treehouse en-suite rooms made mostly from , mango wood, with stunning views of Sigirya rock, with more accommodation on the way. This unusual lodge is a unique, special place that I would recommend to anyone visiting this part of Sri Lanka. We were made extremely welcome by all the staff here and especially by the owner Kamal. We ate the finest authentic Sri Lankan food of our trip, in a wonderful setting with just the noises of the forest to accompany your meal. Make sure you go for the Sri Lankan breakfast after having climbed the rock first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollywilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

I struggle for words to describe how amazing the Teak Forest is! Wow! The owner, Kamal was so helpful and informative and really made our experience special, Kamal picked us up from our B&B 4* hotel (which was really starting to put a dampner on our holiday-literally!). When we arrived at the Teak Forest, having visited some amazing temples on the way! we were welcomed with a fresh fruit juice. The wooden lodges are suprisingly clean and comfortable, the villagers who help run the lodges are really friendly- and cook amazing meals! we even had lessons from them in cooking authentic Sri Lankan cuisine! And were treated to some magical singing over dinner. To experience a true feel of this wondeful country, The Teak Forest is a must!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktbiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

The Teak Forest comprises five wooden cabins on stilts, each with shower and terrace. The location is beautiful with a large lake just through the trees and a great view of Sigiriya. Very much an eco 'village' the accomodation is simple to basic and the only negative would some black mould on the back wall, the result of heavy rain in the preceding weeks - once pointed out, the owner Kamal did ensure it was cleaned although it was impossible to remove the staining. Kamal himself was an excellent host, he ensured we saw a great deal of the area and the afternoon walk around the lake is a must - birdlife (hornbills, kites, egrets etc - take binoculars or a good zoom lens), paddy fields, colourful villagers barhing after a days work etc. The food was superb. Aruna cooks on the simplest of equipment but puts together a range of curries that are utterly authentic - some of the vegetables we had never seen before and Kamal was always willing to explain further (tho if you are watching your figure be alert when Aruna hovers - he is looking for half empty bowls to refill and the food will keep coming.......). We had a power cut on the second night (of two) as an elephant had brought down a power line nearby - so take a torch. This is not five star luxury and doesn't pretend to be. It is a nature lovers dream and the ideal place to visit if you want an authentic Sri Lankan experience. Would we go back? Yes - for the food and good company and the back-to-nature feel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1951art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

My four girl friends and I loved this place. It's isolated from sounds and lights except for all things natural. Local staff create authentic and delicious meals.

The owner, Kamal, makes it particularly wonderful. He picked us up at the airport and guided us throughout the area of the ancient cities, to Kandy via a Spice Garden and to Unawatuna via a Tea Plantation and the Elephant Orphange. He speaks excellent English and can explain anything about Sri Lankan history and culture very clearly. He is a gem- very fun to hang out with, very professional and kind.

HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicGranolaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews