We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in the area”
Review of Aliya Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aliya Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

A beautiful and well managed resort which will undoubtedly compete well with the more established ones in the area. The pool with the Sigiriya Rock in the background is stunning. The rooms are clean and spacious. The food is pretty good, both local and western cuisine, but if this is a priority Kandalama is much better for variety. The best part though was the staff who were probably the best that I've seen in Sri Lanka--very friendly, efficient and attentive without being in your face. The only slight nuance for me was the decor which was a bit off, but this is being over critical. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
Thank BluesTraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 890 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed the large rooms, the stunning view, and the infinity pool overlooking the countryside. However, there is too much concrete for our taste, especially with the lobby/main building looking like an airport hall. Hopefully, the vegetation will grow and mask most of it in the near future. The Spa is nicely done, but the massages & the mosquitos were not a nice experience. Food at the buffet, for breakfast and diner, were good, but not the best compared to our stay in other locations afterwards.

Stayed: April 2015
Thank Philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2015

Yes it is a resort, and yes it is isolated but built over 20ha with separate living pods it is a wonderful place to be, not claustrophobic and a pool to die for. We had an upstairs room with 2 levels so kids on one and parents on the other - perfect. There was an issue with the hot water coming out at easily 60deg without warning so be careful about that.
The food was of high standard, and whilst they have the western diet to keep tourists happy, they were thrilled to serve me proper Sri Lankan breakfast daily and more local curries for dinner.
The daily yoga from Anura was a perfect way to start the day and he was a great host during outstay.
I would highly recommend Aliya for families because of the apartment space, the landscape and the pool and it is close to the elephant safari's and Sigiriya Rock as day trips.

Room Tip: upstairs room have 2 levels and sleep 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cichti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2015 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for several days for an ayurvedic treatment under the supervision of Dr Sanjeewi. The hotel stuff was very warm and friendly and everyone was trying to make my stay as comfortable as possible. Even in the difficult situation when in December 2014 it did not stop raining and the streets were blocked, the hotel did his best to make me happy. Dr Sanjeewi is a very competent Doctor, caring and a a wonderful person. Thanks to her and the help of the hotel stuff, I felt much better when getting back home.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
Thank Claudiwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2015

Stayed at this hotel on the first day of our Sri Lanka vacation, we arrived very early in the morning & were given complimentary early check in. The hotel staff is very courteous & hospitable, the food is excellent, the view from the restaurant & the swimming pool is amazing & the rooms are great!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bilism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
15.1 km away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,646 reviews
10.4 km away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,518 reviews
5.1 km away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
138 reviews
11.0 km away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
431 reviews
14.9 km away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aliya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aliya Resort & Spa

Address: Audangawa, Kimbissa, Sigiriya 21100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range: RM362 - RM1,098 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aliya Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concept and Design Embracing one of Sri Lanka's most beloved animals, the elephant ('Aliya' in Sinhala), the Aliya Resort & Spa is set in the lush forests where elephants roam free. An artful blend of contemporary architecture and the minimalistic style with an authentic Sri Lankan touch, the resort aims to provide the distinctive experience of a villager's uncomplicated lifestyle. Location - Sigiriya, Sri Lanka Accommodation Each chalet's chic yet simple structural design has been carefully planned to blend in with its natural surrounding and have been built to comply with green building guidelines on energy and environment. The resort consists of 96 rooms that come equipped with all modern comforts, illustrating a discreet opulence. These rooms have been uniquely designed with the colours and motifs of Sri Lankan batik with themes mostly inspired by the elephant, giving them an artistic appeal. In addition to the chalets, the resort accommodate 18 spacious luxury tents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Aliya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing