We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking view”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Saffron House

Looking due south across the veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking due south across the veranda
Exceptional views and sea breezes Pool steps
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Looking due south across the veranda
Exceptional views and sea breezes
Pool steps
Two horizons
The Dikwella-Hiriketiya headland
From The Courtyard Bedroom
The Saffron House looking east
A storm coming in
The Croquet Lawn
Entrance steps
Looking towards the central courtyard
Hiriketiya Bay; a few minutes stroll down the lane
Fishing boats on Hiriketiya beach
Hiriketiya beach from the bottom of the lane
The Penguin and Japanese Araliya
The Veranda Sitting Area at sunset
The sitting area
Master Bedroom Two
Master Bedroom One Bathrrom
South east from the terrace
Bathroom shower
The Sea Bedroom from the east
From The Courtyard Bedroom
The Penguin by the pool
Nighttime across sthe pool to the coconut tree
Mater Bedroom One shower
Looking south west from the veranda
The Veranda Sitting Area
The Veranda Sitting Area at sunset
The Veranda Sitting Area at sunset
Desk in dining area and cloakroom
Bougainvillea on the drive
Heliconia
Master Bedroom One desk and chaise longue
Master Bedroom One
Master Bedroom One Bathroom
Master Bedroom One
Master Bedroom Two
The Courtyard Bedroom Bathroom
Master Bedroom Two and Japanese Areliya on the terrace
Master Bedroom Two
Master Bedroom Two
The Courtyard Bedroom
The Courtyard Bedroom
The Courtyard Bedroom
The Courtyard Bedroom
Master Bedroom Two
Master Bedroom One Bathroom
Japanese Araliya around the terrace
Nightime across the pool to the courtyard
Peacocks on the rocks at the bottom of the garden
Dikwella beach in the evening
From the terrace to The Sea Bedroom
The Sea Bedroom from the swimming pool
South east through the coconut trees
Gardens from the top of the drive
Lilies in the Koi Pond
Courtyard from Master Bedroom Two
South west across the Koi Pond
Looking south east from Master Bedroom Two
Heliconia in the flower garden
Whales occasionally pass the bottom of the garden within 400 meters.
The Courtyard Bedroom
The Courtyard Bedroom
Path up to the staff house
Looking south across the main lawn
Heliconia around the staff house
Looking south from the vegetable garden to the Croquet lawn
Looking west on the rocks towards Dondra lighthouse
More Heliconia in the flower garden
Looking West by the Croquet Lawn
The Croquet Lawn
Looking south west to The Sea Bedroom
From the Courtyard Room lawn
Side entrance from Dickwella side in the rain
Dickwella Beach to the west; a short stroll.
South east from the terrace
Looking south from Master Bedroom Two
From The Courtyard Bedroom
The Dikwella-Hiriketiya headland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MKMcNamar...
Yanbu, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking view”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Saffron House for just under one week and wish we had had 2 weeks to relax there. I will always remember and cherish the view of the ocean waves crashing on the rocks at the bottom of the hill and the lovely coconut tree garden between the pool and the beach. We tried to spend every waking moment looking out at the ocean, during all our meals served al fresco and while relaxing in the infinity pool. We also enjoyed Horseshoe Bay nearby with its sandy beach. The meals were great and Jeremy and Chris found a wonderful driver to take us on day jaunts to a tea plantation near Galle, Dondra Lighthouse, and an elephant safari at Udawalawe National Park. My husband, kids, and I all loved the Saffron House and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable villa on the south coast. Many thanks to Jeremy, Chris, Lasitha our friendly and patient driver--and Paul for answering my many questions before we arrived.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the amazing view of the Indian Ocean
Liked least: windows would be much better with screens
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2015
Very many thanks for your kind review; it means a lot to the staff and I know they enjoyed looking after you. Thank you also for your comment about the window screens. We plan to install these very soon and they will allow guests to sleep with the windows open and the benefit of the sea breeze rather than aircon and also views across the gardens. We hope to see you again, particularly now there are flights from Dubai to Mattale airport with FlyDubai. Kind regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forde73
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We first stayed here in April 2014. Our stay was so magical then, we booked again for this year and it was even better than last year. So much so that we are in the process of booking for April 2016. What makes Saffron House unique is its staff, their attention to detail and ability to go above and beyond to make sure their guests are happy and comfortable. Chris, Jeremy, Gayaan and the rest of the team know exactly how to run this magnificent house, they are like family, totally professional and have the knack of being around but not being around. The pictures show how stunning TSH is but what you can't experience is the delicious home cooked food. I crave throughout the year for Chris's crab curry, passion fruit leaf salad with coconut & chilli, home made chocolate donuts and the local curd with local treacle is divine. Chris's cooking repertoire is vast and varied, she will also cater for fussy kids by preparing pizza, fried potatoes, lasagne etc. This year the on site masseuse was a fantastic addition (additional cost) you get the best massage I have ever experienced...and I've had a fair few! A short stroll from the house is a secluded bay with a beach bar owned by a very laid back Aussie who will rent you a surf board and even give you a lesson. The beach bar serves drinks, cocktails and food. The Saffron House is truly paradise, our little piece of heaven on earth and we are always truly grateful to Paul, Chris, Jeremy and all the staff involved for looking after us. See you in April

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for such a great review. This sort of feedback means a great deal to the staff. And of course we all look forward to having you back again next year. Kind regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis_MC...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding stay in Paradise.....!”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are a group of very satisfied adults and kids who stayed in Saffron house. Great value for a larger group with full board. Excellently catered for by the engaging and wonderful Chris, Jeremy and team. Accommodation first class, infinity pool with views to the rolling ocean, big gardens and easy access to calm or wave filled beaches either side of the villa. Great location for relaxing and exploring the south coast - Galle and further east to Yala Nat Park and Tangalle. And then there was the food.... simply delicious for kids and adults alike - not one complaint. One of the best ever vacations........ thanks Saffron House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The dream honeymoon location! Wonderful staff, food, views, pool and beach, nothing in our experience beats it.”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were kindly given our stay at The Saffron House by the owners as a wedding present. It was the best place we stayed in Sri Lanka, we ate the most incredible food (my husband now loves fish having never liked it before), the staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating; there to wait on us whenever we needed but also respectful of our privacy. We loved having the option of lying by the pool, or visiting the nearest beach (5 minute walk away) for a swim in the sea, or a beer in the little beach bar there. I would recommend The Saffron House to couples or families as a top holiday destination, you won't be disappointed.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The staff and food!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisboroug...
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 27 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at Saffron for 2 weeks. There were 4 adults and a 14 month old baby. We were treated like royalty.
The house itself is comfortable, with very comfortable beds an important feature. The pool is perfect, big enough for a good swim but small enough to be fun. The views from the house and garden stunning.
The thing that makes Saffron extra special, however, is the staff. Chris and her husband Jeremy lead the team and ensure that everything is done to make life a joy. Chris is an excellent cook and you pay only for food, no add ons as the staff are paid by the owner. Jeremy keeps an exact account of every penny and his honesty is shown by the offer of a refund at our departure. The rest of the team were equally lovely.
I cannot recommend this property too highly, a magnificent house with wonderful staff. We thank them all.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, particularly your comments about Chris & Jeremy. I know this sort of feedback means a lot to them. And thank you of course for staying at the villa and we hope to see you again. Kind regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing