We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enjoyable stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Tanjuro

Villa Tanjuro 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Tanjuro 1
Villa Tanjuro Mawella Beach...few kilometers away from villa tanjuro
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
49 reviews
Villa Tanjuro 1
Villa Tanjuro
Mawella Beach...few kilometers away from villa tanjuro
Garden and Private Bungalow
Villa Entrance gate
Beach next to Villa Tanjuro, less than a minute walking distance
Beach next to Villa Tanjuro, less than a minute walking distance
Villa lounge area
Villa lounge area
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Delicious Sri Lankan cuisine
Breakfast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
ShihamaI
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A very nice holiday villa. The couple who manage and cook were very nice and accommodating. The food was very nice. The pool is a good size and was enjoyed by all. Ideal place for a barbecue; owners should consider getting one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Apr 2014
Thank you Susanne, we are glad you enjoyed the great cooking of Priyenkha and enjoyed the relaxed pool area...

You are always welcome to visit us again.

Warm regards.

Romain & Juliana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kliph
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
2 reviews
“Highly recommended!!!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Villa Tanjuro and the only negative thing I can say is that we should have stayed longer! We absolutely loved the place. There is a lovely couple who manage the property and will cook delicious meals for a small fee. Great location - It is located 3 minutes down a village road to a limitless stretch of beach & 5 minutes to Tangalle's main commercial street. The house itself is very comfortable and nicely decorated. The pool is perfect for cooling down and having a bit of a swim (the beach has big waves and swimming is not necessarily safe). At dusk we sat on the terrace by the pool, sipped our gin and tonic and watched the parrots flit madly through the trees. All in all, Villa Tanjuro was a real highlight of our trip. Highly recommend it!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Villa Tanjuro and we hope to welcome you back again one day soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVT113
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our most relaxed holiday so far!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Villa Tanjuro in September after reading all the positive reviews on trip advisor. We travelled with our 18 month old and our Nanny and wanted a place that would have the space for our son to run around and be close to the beach. This villa and its location are perfect. The house manger and his wife took care of us throughout the entire stay. We ate everyday authentic and freshly prepared Sri Lanka food. It was divine! The house manager cleaned our pool on a daily basis and made sure that all the surroundings were clean and safe for our child. The walk to the beach is less then 5 minutes. The town is close by where you can by any essential if you need to. For the first time we felt that this was the most relaxed holiday we had since we had our son. Staying in hotel rooms is just not an option for us anymore. So this turned out to be the perfect get away. I can't recommend this villa more. If you want the true Sri Lanka experience, this is the place you need to go to!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The option to have the food prepared in the villa.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2013
Dear guest,

We are very happy to hear that you and your family had a very good stay at our villa and were well taken care of by our Manager Jayentha and his wife Priyanka.

Thank you for your review and recommendations and we hope to welcome you back to Villa Tanjuro again in the near future.

Best,
Romain & Juliana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKCD
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautiful villa close to the beach”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The Villa Tanjuro lived up to our expectations and its previous good reviews. The villa is furnished to a high specification and well equipped and the grounds and pool are well maintained. The manager and his wife were very welcoming and attentive without intruding on our holiday. They shopped and cooked two meals each day for us and the food was excellent. Our eldest daughter enjoyed having her own space in the detached 'cottage' which even has its own garden area with seating!
The villa is in a quiet area, a two minute walk from both the town and the beach. Our stay at Villa Tanjuro provided a relaxing end to our holiday in Sri Lanka.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Layout and design of the property and space.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing