We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Palma Royale(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotelito Del Mar(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Jardines Vista del Mar Condos(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Surfari B&B(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bocas Inn(Bocas Town)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Hansi(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
404
143
32
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
143
32
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstarfish suiteplace to staybreakfast vouchersin townbocas del torowater taxiocean viewbuena vistafront desk stafftown view roomfull kitchensofa bedthe nicest hotelsdinner reservationsroom was largehotel is in a great locationi highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 593 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017

I would rate it neither very good nor average. Good doesn't exist for some reason. The location is great and we found front desk staff pleasant and helpful. The hotel doesn't do breakfast but you have plenty of choice right next door or opposite. We did two nights and while we thought one night would have been enough, it is a bit tiring to change hotels already the next day. We were on the ground floor which has a kitchen and a nice terrace to sit on and enjoy the views and the energy of the boats passing by. The AC made a lot of noise and we thought the room smelled of humidity. We didn't feel like complaining about it and we also didn't feel the need to ask for another room. Mentioning it here perhaps helps the hotel as well. In the end we thought the room rate was quite high for what it was and Colon area could do with some improvement, in our view at least.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of the water is definitely worth it
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simba1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayra M, Gerente at Tropical Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Simba1967,
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience; I agree this does not accurately reflect our commitment to warm and accommodating hospitality. Our top priority is an excellent stay with passionate customer service. We pride ourselves on making each guest feel as welcome as possible.
Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us. We hope to have the chance to better serve you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We stayed here for two nights and found it to be one of the nicest properties in the heart of downtown Bocas. The only hotels that offer anything nicer are to be found much, much further away in the small surf access areas of Playa Bluff. For convenience, Tropical suites is right on the main street, easy access to boat taxis and as many tour companies as you can handle. Local bars and restaurants are all nearby and within walking distance. The hotel is clean, comfortable and has spacious rooms. We stayed on the first floor, ocean view, across from their private dock - no complaints and would definitely stay again. For breakfast we didn't use hotel vouchers but instead ate at a place just down the street that did a good cook to order breakfast each day.

Room Tip: Water view is best, three choices 1st, 2nd or 3rd floor each with a price increase based on which floor you chose.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

This was our first trip to Bocas and Tropical Suites made it special. Super clean, great location and wonderful/helpful staff. We had the Starfish Suite and my wife loved it. Close to shops and restaurants. Staff helped with tour and fishing reservations, restaurant recommendations and area info. Breakfast coupons are supplied, MK is closed, we recommend Buena Vista and Cafe Mar, Be Good was not that great.
Free internet. Not pet friendly.
Already scheduled our return visit.

Room Tip: Choose the water view if possible
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank taipan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Great rooms with anything you might need.
Boast of the only elevator on the island.
Very helpful and forthcoming staff who can arrange anything for you.
Breakfast is not on the premises, but can be had next door and a few other places.
You can also have it delivered against a fee.
Good and reliable WIFI.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms come with a nice big balcony
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebaekOfCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days. The hotel, the setting and the rooms are all lovely.

However, there were a few issues with the staff that irritated us.

On checking in, there was an outstanding balance which our tour company owed the hotel, but reception insisted that I pay that balance now. After getting out my booking confirmation and being quite forceful in the end they realised their error.

The booking included breakfast, but again reception initially claimed that this wasn't the case, and again I had to get out paperwork and be visibly annoyed to rectify this. Not major issues, but annoying!

No complaints about the hotels location - tour companies and bars are all around.

Hotel has a breakfast deal with Cafe del Mar - get a voucher from reception and use it!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 September 2017

Dear Mr. Anthony C,
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience; I agree this does not accurately reflect our commitment to warm and accommodating hospitality. Our top priority is an excellent stay with passionate customer service. We pride ourselves on making each guest feel as welcome as possible.
Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us. We hope to have the chance to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews