We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Eclypse de Mar(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Selina Red Frog(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palmar Beach Lodge(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Azul Paradise(Isla Bastimentos)
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Los Secretos(Isla Bastimentos)
US$110
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hostal El Jaguar(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
US$22
US$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
404
107
57
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
107
57
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolgolf cartpunta lavared frogzip liningwater taxifull kitchenluxury villacanopy tourwasher and dryerla rosajungle villageplaya tortugapanama citybeach barper daynatural beauty
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Truly terrible. We have travelled all over the World and haven’t experienced service as poor, miserable and downright stagnant as at this truly depressing “resort”. It’s amazing that they seem to have collected so many bad reviews in such a short period of time, and from people like me who typically leave positive objective postings.

The atmosphere is generally depressing and the staff have “go away” written across their unsmiling faces. It seemed that everything was too much trouble for the staff.

Food was bad, very very bad. I am sure there are better canteens in some prisons that serve nicer fare. Certainly I am sure prisons typically have seasoning. One breakfast we were given an omelette with broccoli in it, but devoid of any other flavour $30 for 2. A fish finger and red cabbage in folded flour bread was their version of a “taco”.

As you are driven over a rutted pot hole filled mud track- having bones jarred- you pass forlorn signs advertising “plots” for development. We wondered if the complex is one where the building is funded by future sales, which perhaps have dried up and the place is running out of money. It seemed largely empty of guests. The only building work seemed to be right outside our apartment with a digger laying some road paving. At the pace they were going I would expect completion some time next century.

Location is amazing and with some effort it could be great.

We complained about the building noise to the young guy who was acting as manager and got moved to a different villa. One that had a nominal and unneeded extra 3rd room but no sea view which was the main positive thing the first one had going. We were also given a free zip line trip but didn’t use as was raining heavily for the last 2 days.

To get off the “resort” we took a taxi boat to Bocas in the evenings which cost $34 round trip (2x7, 2x $10 return as more after dark) - Bocas is a collection of so/so restaurants, though Azul was very good. They have grocery shops that sell better options than the resort shop (I think most places do) even if we did see a rat run out of the grocery shop we just got supplies from. Bocas also has no shortage of men on bikes who cycle up and enquire if drugs are required. We wouldn’t rush back.

Back to the Red Frog Island Resort. It was ridiculously bad value for the considerable money charged and a dismal affair. We can’t wait to check out tomorrow.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cmdenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

This place is like Jurasic Park without the dinosaurs. We stayed in Villa #19 at the top of the hill near the zip line with a view of the ocean. We were greeted by a furry sloth friend in the tree above our personal private pool who slowly moved and munched leaves all day long. The Beach Club was our favorite. We enjoyed sitting beside the infinity pool ordering yummy meals anytime of day and were only steps away from the white sand beach which we enjoyed walking up and down. Parts of the resort are currently under construction (roads, condos, etc.) but we look forward to returning again once all the additional improvements have been made. Red Frog Beach made us fall in love with Panama. If you're looking for somewhere remote, quiet, and off the beaten path, this is your kind of place.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Darin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red F, Public Relations Manager at Red Frog Beach Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Red Frog truly is unique- so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We loved our 6 days at Red Frog Beach. We were in villa 804 which is beach front but a ways down the bumpy road from the Beach Club (food, pool, fun) and a longer way from reception, boats, etc. The villa was great for a family - two bed, two and a half bath. Full kitchen (go to the grocery in Bocas before they take you in a boat to Red Frog.) Small private pool out back was a hit with the kids and being beach front is really nice there. Hell, it's nice everywhere. But the beach is quiet and a 15 minute walk to the Beach Club. Full washer and dryer was a godsend. AC was overpowering. Villa has the essentials but is sort of spare. But it's new and nice and spacious.

On premise zip lining was great, convenient, reasonable and slightly terrifying at first. Whole family ended up loving it. Guides are great.

We did not rent a golf cart. They are sparse and expensive and the massive potholes would make us not great candidates to get one. They will come get you at no charge and take you anywhere. But it takes a long time and it's not reliable. Sometimes the phones don't work. Sometimes no one comes. Sometimes the internet is down.

But if you can deal with all of that, the beach and the jungle feel are pretty awesome and having your own villa makes it really lovely.

Go to Palmar and Selina for meals as an alternative. They are on premise but independent so not promoted as much. We enjoyed their restaurants more and especially their pool tables, hammocks, random dogs roaming, music and scene.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ChicagoAmy60657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red F, Public Relations Manager at Red Frog Beach Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We booked our stay 6 ms ago requesting a beach side villa. Upon arrival we were given the villa all the way on top of the hill.
I asked if they ever looked at the request.. was told to call my travel agency...
Thanks god by the second day we were able to rent a golf cart, otherwise we couldn’t walk to beach or restaurants.. the roads are really dangerous now due to construction everywhere. Very bumpy rides in a golf cart but we got used to it.
The villa 4 is really old, it has 4 beds which is great but closets doors that swing open, AC that doesn’t work on tbe second floor, pool with tiles that 50 percent either fallen off or coming out, some sharp too. To top it all we had construction around the villa for 3/5 days.. tractor, tracks, ATV, excavated the entire perimeter of the villa.. 8 am-5 pm. Noone had notified us of any of that happening or offered to move.
So, would i ever stay st that place again? No way!!!! It’s sooooo poorly managed!

On the nice side beach is pretty, beach club a good addition to it with pool and bar and restaurant. Food was pretty fresh snd well prepared.

This place can turn into a nice resort with good management company and stuff trained with customer service skills.. until then... we go somewhere else. It’s not a cheap place.. if we pay the money to stay in a resort i would expect it to be a resort!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank LItraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

First lets focus on the superb setting and flora of the hotel. The views and sourroundings are magnificent, the vilas well appointed and furnished and wi fi works well. It is truly a tropical paradise.
As you can predict there are a few howevers for the substantial daily rate
A) vilas and equipment lack maintenance, it all is done rather precariously. Whether is a leaking sink with a bucket under it that collects the water, to missmatching table ware, lights that dont turn on or very old appliances. Having said that you can comfortably cook and stay as a family of 5 in our case in the vila with private swimming pool and have enjoyable lunch and dinners, but there should be more attention to maintainance
B) the choice of food in the little market by the Reception is very limited and frankly unhealthy, almost no vegetables or healthy options and mostly high sodium meals or processes meat. I understand logistics for fresh produce are not easy for the resort but this should be made clear to prospective guests so that you can stock up before arriving.
C) the staff at the activity centre provide minimal information on the conditions of the trips. Prices would assume a certain level of service that is far from minimum.
For example the trip to starfish island at 45 USD per person, just for the transport, lunch and beverages for your own account is done is a small and there was no warning about the lack of infrastructure ( and frankly hygiene) on the island. There are restaurants ( barely huts) no visible trash cans or proper rest rooms. Unfortunately the beauty of the place is completely overshadowed by the trash all over the island. Am all for the true local experience, however that requires the price to be set accordingly to the facilities and at the very least a minimum of cleanliness. None of those conditions were met and the staff in charge of the activities could at least warn you about the complete lack of infraestructure and conditions of the trip.

D) though generally friendly staff at the resort have a rather careless attitude, we asked twice for cleaning of our villa, as we were out all day on an excursion only to come back to an unclean villa after a 3 day stay. At 1720 a helpful woman showed up, did a very quick sweep and apologized she could not change the bedsheets as laundry was closed. I understand that Easter is probably one of The busiest periods, but staffing can be planned in advance. Our villa was only quickly cleaned once in a 5 day stay ( upon our request) and bed linnen was not changed.

Overall it was a wonderful experience, peppered with a few incidents that made our stay a little less memorable than what we hoped


Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank rmorandinideoliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red F, Public Relations Manager at Red Frog Beach Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are continuing to improve our maintenance, housekeeping and food options and hope you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews