We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$251
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eclypse de Mar(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ushuaia(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Selina Red Frog(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Caribbean View(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Los Secretos(Isla Bastimentos)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palmar Beach Lodge(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Azul Paradise(Isla Bastimentos)
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostal El Jaguar(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
277
48
18
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
48
18
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive clubfishother guestsopen airsnorkeling right off the beachhot waterrobinson crusoedive masterlarge tablecool offfree kayaksbocas del toromangrove islandssnorkel gearmosquito nettingwhite sandstayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Our friends had already gone to the resort and had to bring us back! It was a blast, super relaxing, and the food was perfect. We did the SCUBA tour with Abner and it was a highlight of the trip. Half of us had never dove before but he made it really fun, safe and super memorable. I'm so glad we did it!

The resort overall is amazingly beautiful, the food could not be better (thanks, Vincent) and the staff became our fast friends.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deats123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This resort has been built with caution around the idea of ecolodging (before it was trendy), 20 years ago. It has a limited amount of bungaLows, all facing the sea, it’s unique!
Don’t look for too much hand holding or organisation, you are on a desert beach with limited infrastructure, it’s perfect if you want to meet other like minded people and disconnect from world craziness.
Michel and Vincent, 2 Belgians are in charge. They host lunch and diner on a big table where everyone mixes, Europeans, Americans, very diverse backgrounds.
The food is exceptional! Really...considering the place and limitations, you will not be disappointed, Vincent is inventive and passionate, no shortcuts in the kitchen.
The only problem is the proximity of the waves and wild life during the night :-) you will get used to it after the first night but come prepared with your ear plugs if you are sensible to noise.
I can warmly recommend this place for 2-3 nights.
Child friendly, your little Robinson Crusoe will disconnect from Wifi for 2 days and will learn to fish from the jetty.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank tartineLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Overall a wonderful experience! Exactly the respite my friend and I needed from our busy work lives. I only wish there was availability to extend our stay, but we had a wonderful two nights at Al Natural. Would absolutely come back in a heartbeat.

Transportation:
We flew into Albrook airport, and our flight was unfortunately delayed by about 3 hours. A rough start to our island getaway. Despite this, we and two other guests were greeted by a driver who drove us to the Al Natural office in Bocas Town. Aesha greeted us at the office was very helpful to us, however because of our delayed flight, we had missed the scheduled boat that was supposed to pick us up. We were given an option to pay for a private boat or hang around Bocas town for lunch and wait for the late afternoon boat (free-of-charge) which was coming anyway to pick up some other guests who were coming in on a later flight. We decided to eat and hang around a few hours rather than pay the extra fee ($60 for the group) for a private boat. Unfortunately when we returned in the afternoon, we learned that the afternoon flight was also delayed and therefore we had the option to wait again for the late guests to arrive and take a free-of-charge evening boat, or pay for a private boat now. Only now the price tag for a private boat went up ($100 for the group). We felt a little suckered, but shelled out the money anyway as we had already lost 5 hours of our vacation.

The speed boat ride was about 30-40min, a little choppy, but a great way to see the mangrove islands that are peppered around Isla Bastimentos.

After the two nights at Al Natural, we had made reservations for a night at another hotel on the other side of the island, and our host Abner was helpful in arranging seats on a boat that was already going back to Bocas town (without a fee), but had us dropped off at our hotel's dock first, which was very considerate.

Accommodations:
We had a private bungalow that was open to air, the bedding was protected with a mosquito net, but otherwise no real doors or walls. It was rustic but also tastefully done and clean. The shower and sink set up were simply designed. The private toilet was a little separate from the living space (and had a door). We very quickly adapted to island life and walked barefoot everywhere on the grounds.

Food:
The food was so so good! Although we didn't get to meet the Chef personally, his kids were adorable and such a hoot to have around. Seating is family style and we got to know the other guests pretty well in this manner.

Activities:
One of the perks is having access to all the snorkel gear, kayaks, and a stand up paddle anytime. There are excursions available by boat, such as snorkeling or any of the hikes into the indigenous villages. We went to Coral Key one morning after breakfast and it was great! We got boated back in time for lunch. That was our only excursion we chose to do, the rest of the time we were there we kayaked the smooth waters encompassing Al Natural or openly swam.

Staff:
Our hosts, Juan and Abner, were fantastic from the moment we got there. They were knowledgeable and helpful (and easy on the eyes too ;)). And the remaining staff who helped captain our boats and prepare our meals were great and are locals from the island. Everyone was friendly and professional. Michel (whom we never met) was who helped arrange our accommodations by email, and gave us a lot of info ahead of time to prepare us for our stay.

Other tips:
--credit cards accepted but cash (USD) is also very convenient to have around the islands
--hang out around the dining/bar area after dinner and wait for the monkeys to visit!
--keep your eyes peeled for Panamanian wildlife, we spotted a sloth on our last day right by the bar, but he was well camouflaged

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

To be clear, the term resort is appropriate because everything you'll need for your stay is at Al Natural. However, this is not a place where you'll find bright lights and air-conditioned amenities. The accommodations are basic, but extremely comfortable. And the food is exceptional and ample. It's a giant jump up from the backpackers' places we all stayed when we were younger and poorer. I give it my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

The best place we stayed in Panama and will be back. We had the double story bungalow which provided the most amazing views at the top and bottom. Food included in the stay was delicious. Access to paddle boards and kayaks is free and readily available. Highly recommend kayaking through the mangroves. The most surreal experience! A trip out to Zapatiallas is a MUST. We saw multiple sloths. In fact I would watch them as I showered and out of my bed when I woke up. So amazing. They also have monkey visitors at dinner which is fun. One last thing. Can we say hunky hunky staff. The two main guys that set up tours etc are very yummy. If I was single those two would be in a lot of trouble.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aleksandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews