We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$107
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lalit New Delhi(New Delhi)
US$112
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$138
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel City Star(New Delhi)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$45
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amax Inn(New Delhi)(Great Value!)
US$18
US$16
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Godwin Hotel(New Delhi)(Great Value!)
US$33
US$26
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Smyle Inn(New Delhi)(Great Value!)
US$16
US$13
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Leela Palace New Delhi(New Delhi)
US$201
US$170
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,186)
Filter reviews
1,186 results
Traveller rating
894
222
43
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
894
222
43
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantyoga roomtandoori ovenboutique hotelan oasissmall hotelmetro stationcentral delhiresidential areacommon areasfirst stopbusy cityindia tripbreakfast and dinnerairport pickuplong flightdriver
Filter
Updating list...
654 - 659 of 1,186 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We were already in Delhi when we made an impromptu decision to forego the money we have paid for the booking of our initial hotel in the city and stay at Shanti Home instead, after our return from Varanasi.

The standard of cleanliness of the initial Delhi hotel which we have booked (Hari Piorko – we have written our review for the hotel on this site) was so low that we could not imagine ourselves putting up another 2 more nights there. We have stayed at Sheraton in Jaipur and Radisson in Agra after our unpleasant stay at Hari Piorko and decided that we want to stay at a hotel of the same standard for our last 2 nights in Delhi. So, there we were, at the lobby of Hari Piroko, going through the Tripadvisor site, looking for such a hotel. It was there that we found Shanti Home, listed as No. 3, at a much cheaper rate compared to all the other high-end hotels.

We read the reviews, found most of them to be favourable, and booked Shanti on the spot! And let me tell you how glad we are to have made that decision! This ‘Home’, as they preferred to be called, is one of the best places we have stayed during our travels around the world.

All the rooms in Shanti are housed in a 3-storey building, with a roof top which serves as their restaurant and a basement which serves as their front-desk office, complete with computers with complimentary internet access and a small gym. They also have a massage room. Besides that, there is a cosy TV lounge on one of the floors and a big selection of DVD’s where you can unwind after a tiring day around the city. If you prefer a quieter retreat, there is another lounge on another floor which serves as a library, with a selection of books and magazines, complete with a laptop for you to access the internet. Free wifi can also be accessed from the comfort of your room.

We were given a reasonably sized room called the Bombay Masala on the first floor, with a big bathroom to boost, which has a strong, instant hot shower. There is even a fan in the bathroom, a safe-box and a built-in wardrobe for us to hang our clothes.

The customer service we received was of top-class. The staff was very well-trained, likeable and knowledgeable in what they do. We were greeted with smiles and treated politely during our entire stay. The food served at the restaurant was one of the best we have had during our 10 days in India. The breakfast, which was included in the room price, was more than sufficient. We had our dinner there and the waiters were able to describe the local dishes when enquiries were made of them.

The location of the Home is about 30 minutes away (by metro) from the city centre, but that was not a problem at all, as the Uttar Nagam East metro station is just 250m away. There is a direct line (Blue) from this station to Connaught Place. Like what other reviewers here had experienced, we were accompanied by one of the staff to the station on our first attempt at using this mode of transport and he helped us purchase our 1-day travel card, which costs only R150 per person. Using the metro was easy as the signs at the station were clear and it was a good experience for us.

If we are ever back in Delhi again, we will certainly return to stay here. Do not be mistaken by its name. Shanti Home is not a place for hometsay. Your privacy will not be intruded. You have your own very private and comfortable room in a secured building away from the craziness of the city. Definitely one of the better choices for Delhi!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hannisze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at Shanti home in April 2012 and in May 2012. Shanti home is e nice little hotel with a beautiful decoration and lovely rooms. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly also the restaurant is very nice and the food was fabulous. I cannot say one thing who was bad.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Biene3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I have visited Delhi several times in the past and stayed in the larger hotels. I much prefer the Shanti Home. What makes this viable is the proximity of a metro station enabling us to get around Delhi. The staff at Shanti are brilliant. they make you feel at home and cannot do enough for you. They even showed us photos of the staff during the recent Holi festival, as if we were long lost friends. The rooms are comfortable (we had a smaller room), the communal rooms well appointed and the restaurant is amongst Delhi's best. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We planned to stay at this hotel for 2 nights but ended up staying for 4. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and offer that extra personal touch without being intrusive or pushy, as some hotels can be. The hotel is a boutique style, very beautifully decorated with nice communal living spaces - complete with tv, movies, books, games and newspapers. The room was nicely decorated and clean, bathroom was also clean and there were no issues with hot water.

All of the staff are extremely helpful, professional and courteous. This hotel would make a good soft entry point to India. They will help with booking everything you need and are not too pushy to get you on tours which we had found with other hotels.

The kitchen is open 24/7 and the food is of good quality, although the menu is a bit limited in scope. We have no complaints and prefer the focus on quality of dishes rather than quantity, as some hotels try for. The restaurant staff were excellent, always wanting to please and very attentive to our needs.

There were numerous nice personal touches which we did not receive from other hotels, including a packed snack of fruit, juice and water for our tour to Agra; as escort to the metro station to ensure we did not get lost; they even gave us a small gift when we left, of a scarf, aromatherapy oils etc which was most kind and thoughtful.

This hotel also offers a small cookery course which we did not do due to time restraints, but looked like fun. They also offer massage services, which again, was very enticing but due to time we were unable to enjoy

This was clearly the best hotel we stayed at during our time in India. The only small negative point would be the location - as the hotel is a 30 minute metro ride from the centre of Delhi. We didn't find this to be a problem, by if you are not into commuting to the more central sites of Delhi then perhaps this hotel is not for you. Also, around the metro station in the evenings, a sprawling fruit market comes alive and converges with the bus station making it quite a busy area full of hustle and bustle. We came back late every night we stayed there, and had no issues. It is a 10 minute walk from the metro to the hotel.

A few things that may be issues for some:
- absence of a tv in room - there is a communal tv room though
- they aren't particularly generous with replacing toiletries, although we have no doubt you could ask for more soap if you needed it

As an aside, if you are planning on travelling to the Taj Mahal or Jaipur, the train is the best option as it takes half the time of road transport (there is no plane to Agra currently). You should book your train tickets well in advance (I am sure Shanti Home will help you do that - note that if you do not have an Indian mobile phone number you cannot book train tickets online)

As another aside, Delhi is probably one of th best cities for buying souvenirs and we recommend you put aside an extra day just for shopping. The hotel staff can advise you on the best places to go (we thought the Janpath St markets at Connaught Place were the best for souvenirs)

Overall, we would definitely recommend this hotel, and would definitely stay here again when we return to Delhi in the future.

Nb. When we landed in Delhi, we were a little concerned when the taxi driver didn't know where Shanti Home was, or the address in fact. However, after a phone call to the hotel, he was able to find the place - we would suggest keeping the name of the hotel, address and phone number with you for the taxi driver

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank millzorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at Shanti home in April 2012. The small hotel provides excellent service, the room was very nice and the restaurant is great! everyone went out of their way to be helpful by getting us a telephone, finding transportation and make us fabulous meals. I cannot say enough good things about our experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews