We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing restaurant that should have a waiting list!”
Review of Orient Express

Orient Express
Ranked #17 of 13,333 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Having dined at this restaurant several times in the past I knew what to expect – the very best – and once again I was not disappointed. The service from beginning to end is of the highest quality, The waiters are very well informed about each dish on offer and are able to provide help with matching wines, either by the bottle or by the glass. The food is delicious and beautifully presented – the chef most certainly deserves formal awards.

The setting is a railway carriage on the Orient Express and this fun element only adds to the dining experience. The restaurant was quiet on the night I dined – as stated in the title, I would expect a restaurant of this quality to have a waiting list of reservations-= - this would be no more than it deserves. This is a must visit for all food lovers – I certainly plan to return on my next visit to Delhi.

Thank Cfab777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdegm_del, General Manager at Orient Express, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi !

Thank you so much for the positive feedback you have shared. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Taj Palace, New Delhi !

With best regards

Team Taj Palace, New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Super place to have Very Fine dining experience... Expensive but great food and top class service..Taj At its best...

1  Thank sanjeev1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdegm_del, General Manager at Orient Express, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your feedback. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.
We look forward to welcome you again.
Best Regards,
Team Taj Palace, Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

I and my husband had our first date in Orient Express, 26 years back. I am glad we chose this. Since then, many restaurants have opened and closed but this one has withstood time. It brings us our memories and we do visit this place as often as we can. In fact, it is our favourite. The quality of food, service and the ambience is impeccable.
It is a perfect place for a romantic date.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kiransawhney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdegm_del, General Manager at Orient Express, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

We thank you for your kind compliments and look forward to welcoming you back.


Best Regards,
Team Taj Palace, Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

One of the most beautiful interiors. Pricey but a luxurious experience.
Definitely one of the best places for a memorable evening out in Delhi-NCR. The setting, the service and the food everything is immaculate.

Thank bitoosharmanov17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdegm_del, General Manager at Orient Express, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your feedback. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.
We look forward to welcome you again.
Best Regards,
Team Taj Palace, Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Travelling with a picky eater, the staff went completely out of their way to provide alternative menu items to meet the taste of everyone in our group. Additionally, one of our party remained in their room in the Taj Diplomatic Enclave Hotel feeling ill. The staff sent a special food package to the room with rice, Dhal and curd to aid her recovery.

Whilst eating, an excellent pianist and singer provided atmospheric music. I thoroughly enjoyed this dining experience.

Thank rvsreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdegm_del, General Manager at Orient Express, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Diplomatic, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor.

It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

We are delighted to note your feedback and have communicated the same to the team.

We thank you for your kind patronage and look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards,

Taj Diplomatic Enclave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orient Express also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Orient Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing