We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location to relax and enjoy nature at...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
The Living Room/ Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
74 reviews
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
The Living Room/ Dining area
Master Bedroom
View from the window
Another bedroom
Luxurious Full Bathroom
The All wooden staircase
Eastern view from cottage in March
Frontal view from windows
Sunset view from Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Shimla, Shimla District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amit R
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location to relax and enjoy nature at its best”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

When we planned our trip to Himachal, we were not that keen on including Shimla in our list. Our planning for Shimla was confirmed when we came across Tranquility.
Its actually a nice cosy beautiful house, that owners Aarti and Raja, have decided to share with us travellers. You actually get a good homely feeling with good home cooked food courtsey Aunty and Arjun.
Both Aarti and Raja are excellent host and they ensure that our stay at their property is made comfortable.
Excellent place to relax and enjoy nature.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thanks so much for your visit, look forward to hosting you again when you travel up North. Do please pass the word around too!! And thanks for being lovely guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manuraman
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
“What a view!”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Tucked away in a corner it is not visible from the main road but sits on the cliffs edge. Warm, cosy and very homely. Spectacular views of the valley below and rolling hills as far as the eye can see. Lovely mountain air. Friendly and accommodating staff. A perfect place to put your feet up - read, contemplate and enjoy nature. Not for someone looking for high action.

Rooms are comfortable and clean. Food is home cooked, simple and tasty. Roads are a bit of a mess so plan 5 hours from Chandigarh. Not very easy to find but worth the journey once you get there.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Thanks so much for your visit. Do come again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRC100x
1 review
“Tranquility in the Himalayas indeed !”
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Friendly owners, Disciplined & helpful support staff and a breath-taking view in a wonderful homely cottage. A perfect place to laze and rejuvenate in the himalayas, away from the city hustle. Thoroughly recommended !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Thanks so much for your visit and for being such wonderful guests. Look forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandstone...
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Has to be the best place to go with friends !!”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Well, this trip was a planned trip for a group of six of us (a group from Mumbai) and we wanted to try all adventurous activities in the 4-5 days that we were there, close to Shimla. But when we reached the place, after a long drive from Chandigarh airport in our Innova, all we could do was stand in awe, and feel kind of jealousy, as to how on earth somehow can have such a beautiful house.

Around that time, we had checked out “this property” and got in touch with Mr. Raja who was quite a gentleman (after playing a round of solving riddles though) and finally told us "App log bass aa jao, baki sab hum arrange kar lenge".

The journey from Chandigarh airport to Kufri was pretty daunting due to some issues, and hence we could only reach by 11:30 pm. But the caring host that Naushad was, he was just waiting for us, and greeted us all with a smile and made us feel comfortable. And don't even get me started on the dinner. The food over there was so-so yummy. And the glass in the walls, allowed us to see all the hills around. You won't trust me when i say that, on getting up all the clouds were below us.

Though we have seen many vacation rentals, but trust me, this has to be one of the BEST (has to be in capital letters). I have clicked some pictures from my phone, and am sure everyone will attest to the fact. If Mr. Raja was nice, his staff was the nicest you would ever meet. Naushad (the housekeeping guy) was just like a friend and was of really helping nature. He would keenly ask us all "Ajj kya banaun aapke liye"? and we would say "Non-veg" and he would just run and bring all the ingredients and get started. Also, the ladies who came for cooking never minded, even though we ate like devils. They say, you just name it, and the good employees would get it. But the best employees don’t let you even mention it, and get it beforehand only. And Mr. Raja's staff certainly came in the second category.

The food was home cooked & sumptuous (both in quality and quantity), the seating outside the home perfect, the chai “one of the very best”, the bed supremely comfortable. We also had a barbeque night once with help of Naushad (as he was the one expert in it), and trust me, the pictures clicked there would always stay in our memory lane, forever.

No matter, what you like doing. Be it going for treks, walking down the hills, having a campfire or a barbeque, cooking something special, sitting for a drink with friends, long night chats, reading a book, playing ludo or carrom, playing cards or Ujno or even a simple thing like “sitting idle”, then it is the place to be. The staff is courteous, the host sweet and the views mesmerising. We went for a trek in the nearby hills, and it was amazing. Also, there was a volleyball tournament happening in the village, which was interesting to watch.

The house is modern in terms of architecture and has all the necessary accessories. LCD TV’s, complimentary wi-fi and hot water geysers are the norms here. It has indoor games as well. So, even if it is raining or snowing, you and your famil or friends can enjoy inside. You will throughout your stay feel that you have come to a friends place, and not a rented villa.

The only regret we have is that “it didn’t last forever” and that it didn't snow, while we were there.

Though we all together have planned to buy a “similar” house in future when we grow old, which we know won’t be possible, and hence we have promised ourselves a return trip, but this trip in winter, and for a longer duration.And to avoid any gaffe this time around, we have added "Naushad" or our facebook friends list. Ha ha.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2017
Thank you so much for your visit and for your kind words. Do please visit us again, and this time the caretaker is even better than the last one!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecommon...
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Your search for the perfect place ends here!”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

It was a special occasion,
We were all going to gather.
After all it was the fiftieth anniversary,
Of my in-laws being together!

I searched till I found this,
The perfect place...
In a beautiful surrounding,
With ample space

It was as lovely as the pictures,
Lovelier if I may say.
The place, the cleanliness, and the staff,
Everything made our day!

The hostess was very sweet,
She had sent us a cake.
And she gifted us some awesome chutney,
Which I think she did make!

If you are a large family,
Planning to go to a place,
Which has all the comfort,
And a lot of living space,

Don't think twice before booking this,
Just knock at this door!
Problem is, you will never want to come back,
You will keep craving for more!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thanks for such an awesome poetic review! Our first one in rhyme. I will try and reply in kind.....
Thank you for your wonderful rhyme,
So much thought, effort and precious time.
For wonderful guests such as you one only tries,
But your beautiful words brought a tear to the eyes.
God bless, and see you again someday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing