We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior view of cottage after the monsoon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior view of cottage after the monsoon
Closer exterior view Guests outside cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Exterior view of cottage after the monsoon
Closer exterior view
Guests outside cottage
Closer view
Living area with high ceiling and glimpses of the river
The walls have interesting artifacts and photographs
Divider beteween living and kitchen allows conversations
Dining area
Another view of the dining area
Both bedrooms now have fans. Larger bedroom has TV with tata sky connection
Larger bedoom
Additional aluminium sliding doors and curtains in the bedrooms
Ensuite bathroom with the larger bedroom
Smaller bedroom
The new aluminium sliding doors in smaller bedroom
Ensuite bathroom with smaller bedroom
Functional kitchen with fridge,gas stove,mixie,rice cooker, kettle,juicer, cutlery,crockery.
Store with adequate crockery
View of the river from near our house
Everchanging views of the river
Another favourite view point
On the way to the farm
The footbridge across stream to reach our farm
Red arch at entrance to village road
Signage indicating turning to village road
You can prepare your own meals or order from eateries in the city.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District, Karnataka

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sweta_SG
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We were looking for a weekend getaway and selected the place based on the reviews. The farm is right on the river bank and the cottage is beautifully done. Like other reviewers have mentioned, dont look for luxury when you are coming here. We chose to cook most of our meals ourselves as we didnt really want to drive around. There is local grocery shop you could buy most of the things from. The only downside was summer this year has been terrible and there were no fans. The evenings were really nice and we could hear peacocks all around. I would love to visit the place again in another season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
This year has been unusually warm and it is a little uncomfortable between 1 and 3pm in the bedrooms.The living room is more comfortable thanks to the higher ceilings. Our focus in the last couple of months has been on enhancing the landscape around our site and improving the riverside by clearing weeds,shrubs and making it more convenient to swim,sit by the river, or have a stroll.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humfrey20...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Completely Wonderful”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to sit by a pool with a gin and tonic and spend your afternoons in shopping malls then this place probably is not for you. But we loved it! A haven of peace and tranquility and 3 miles from the nearest road. Situated on an island in the middle of a river it lies in the middle of an organic farm growing coconut, mango and cocoa beans with bananas shortly to be added. The owner spends most of his time developing the farm but reserves plenty of time to look after his guests and is happy to drive you to anywhere you want to go in the local area. A lovely and very knowledgeable man who definitely treats you as valued guests.W e all have wonderful memories of this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique experience
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
The Goldsmith family were perfect guests and it was a pleasure hosting them. We had very interesting conversations on a wide range of subjects and they enjoyed the insights I was able to give them about the area around.We would love to have them back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan J
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Stay in a Calm Place”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed for three nights on Anananka Farms and felt very comfortable. The place is calm and there is a lot of nature around the house. You can do nice walks and find interesting places around the farm.

The owner, Prem, picked us up and hosted us in a typically Indian style. He was very friendly and tried to help us wherever he could. Moreover, we had nice conversations with him and could learn a lot about Indian culture and the local way of life.

Thank you for your hospitality!

Julia & Stefan

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Haven of tranquility, away from the frenetic towns”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Ananka Farms as part of a busy month of traveling in India and found it a wonderful opportunity to escape the exciting but tiring constant noise and busyness of Indian towns and cities. Although only a short drive from Mysore, it feels a world apart and the trip in is fascinating, passing through lush countryside with local people attending the their chores in the local village. The property is very comfortable, with good bedroom and bathroom facilities and a fully equipped kitchen. It also has an interesting ecological design, while the surrounding farm is lovely to wander round and relax in. I enjoyed learning a little about the farm plants from the very knowledgeable owner, Prem, who also knows a great deal about the surrounding area and other parts of India. There is a small village nearby and a beautiful, peaceful riverside spot, which you can walk to from the farm.
I stayed as a couchsurfing visitor before the property was available for letting through this scheme, but I would happily return and rent the farm house for another stay. Highly recommended for a uniquely different experience in India.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing