We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long way from Marriott”
Review of Peppermint Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppermint Hotel
Ranked #107 of 412 Hotels in Jaipur
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Note that this review is from the perspective of an American. I was asked by a guide how we liked the hotel one morning. I said it wasn't great. He said in India it is an "average" hotel so he wasn't surprised by our reaction. This hotel is located well off the beaten path, which I thought would be good for noise. That turned out to be true. There isn't much else there. The staff, from the doorman to the front desk to housekeeping were very friendly. The rooms aren't bad looking, although they are rather worn. But there is no attention to aesthetics. The lighting is all bright white. The bathroom is kind of dingy even though I think it was fairly clean. You have the standard sand paper-like toilet paper. Plenty of bottled water is provided. The beds are reasonably comfortable, though the pillows were firm foam and we noticed they were stained under the pillow cases, which were clean. There was dust and dirt in the corners of the room, tables, etc. Dust is a challenge everywhere in India, so not a huge issue. Breakfast is fairly limited and all Indian. We had much better options at other hotels on our travels in India. Now to the quirky stuff. Breakfast was not part of our $135/night deal. Yes, that is a crazy price for most hotels in India, but especially for this one. It was high season and a late booking. We would eat breakfast at the hotel for convenience then have to pay for it---not charge it to the room. There was a lot of confusion around making payment. The servers on several occasions told us to pay at the front desk a floor below. This was inconvenient. Each day the WiFi code expired. One has to go the front desk and request one code for each hotel occupant, which are printed out on receipt paper and it was pretty hard to read (think old dot matrix printers low on ink). We also had issues with the room card key. First, the hotel was confused or reluctant to issue more than one card for the room. Then they also seemed to expire daily. We learned this upon returning to the hotel at 10 or 11 PM, waiting for the slow elevator, attempting to get into our room and getting only a red light. So, back down to the front desk to get the card key re-programmed. If the cards actually did expire daily then the front desk could have spared us the trip up to the room and back down. We were greeted each time. To their credit, they ask that a comment card be completed upon check-out and actually ask about anything with a negative rating. They do care. Again, if their market is purely the Indian market (and we didn't see many westerners) then this experience might be like a La Quinta in the US---adequate. To my fellow westerners, we had better experiences at other locally owned hotels (e.g., Treebo chain). And it's a long way from the Marriott experience, which was almost the same rate as we ended up paying at Peppermint (Marriott and others were sold out).

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are heavily scented. Check out the room before settling on the one you stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank denverdogwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2017

This Hotel is situated at the edge of town. The rooms are compact but clean. The doorman is a classic Rajashtan man with long & pointed moustache wearing the traditional Rajashtan attire. Breakfast spread is a good mix of local and western spread.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank 77ismaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

Booked this hotel at a very god price. Hotel is nicely located in the residence neighborhood. Its clean and comfortable . Food is good and reasonable . Staff is nice and very helpful. Only problem is the proximity from the nearby market. Rest everything is great

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RahulGaira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Very near and clean room. i generally prefer this hotel when im in Jaipur.

Food is good and staff is very helpful, the check in and check out operations are smooth and the staff quite co-operative and courteous which is typical of Rajasthan hospitality. There is a pool at the terrace but it is too small to be significant.

If you planning to visit Jaipur i surly will recommend this one

Room Tip: Cozy & clean rooms what else you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Parag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

This is a decent business hotel in close proximity to the bypass which makes navigating the city traffic a bit easier.Nestled in a semi residential area along with a cluster of other similar hotel, this property offers clean and comfortable rooms suitable for short stays.Although we came across a few family travelers, this hotel was found to be the property of choice for corporate options like group training and language assessment exams, not to mention marriages. The check in and check out operations are smooth and the staff quite co-operative and courteous which is typical of Rajasthan hospitality. There is a pool at the terrace but it is too small to be significant. The food at the Spice restaurant is good, however the options maybe reworked. This is a good option for the business traveller but there are ample room for all round improvements.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Prabhangshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
4.4 km away
Ginger Hotel Jaipur
Ginger Hotel Jaipur
#46 of 412 in Jaipur
794 reviews
17.2 km away
Hotel Marigold Jaipur
Hotel Marigold Jaipur
#48 of 412 in Jaipur
260 reviews
12.4 km away
The Theme, Jaipur
The Theme, Jaipur
#72 of 412 in Jaipur
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 km away
Sarovar Portico Jaipur
Sarovar Portico Jaipur
#50 of 412 in Jaipur
710 reviews
1.9 km away
Park Inn Jaipur, A Sarovar Hotel
9.2 km away
Le Amour Inn
Le Amour Inn
#59 of 412 in Jaipur
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppermint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppermint Hotel

Address: 6, Subhash Nagar, Jaipur 302016, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 412 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range: RM 129 - RM 429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppermint Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppermint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing