We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location in bustling business area, perfect for shopaholics!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nachiappa Park Hotel
Ranked #257 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
359 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Central location in bustling business area, perfect for shopaholics!”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at the hotel after making phone bookings prior to our departure. Hotel is situated at the perfect location for shopping at Chennai. All the main shopping premises located literally stone throw away from the hotel. You can make your purchase and send it to hotel and continue shopping without carrying all the bags/boxes. The Anjapar chettinad restaurent is attached to the hotel, so food is not a problem at all, also eateries like Sarawana Bhavan, Renuka, Thalapakattu Briyani are all within few minutes walk. The busiest shopping street, the Rengganathan St is just opposite the hotel street. You'll enjoy your (short) stay here, because most of the time you'll be ouside shopping till you drop!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tsashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    23
    10
    13
    12
See reviews for
35
4
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My name is frustrated..... Chettiar, wish not to disclose. i checked in late on the 24/7/2011 and was recommended by my travel agent and said to be very good. i told the counter office Mr. Dayalan that i needed a family room for 5 ( 2 adults and 3 childrens). knowingly aware of all this Dayalan agreed at a rate (tariff) 2941 Rupees. Was happy and agreed and paid a deposit of 5000 rupees cash. Nothing much went well after that coz i got a room no. 315 which was not cleaned up properly and the air condition unit was no good and went to complain to the front office and Dayalan agreed to change my room to the last room on that floor, if i am not mistaken the room number was 319, it was almost the same condition but a little better on the bathroom, the air con was no better. I even called my driver to come to the room and have a look. we were all exhausted from the travel from Thirupathy and decided to stay on.The next day we stayed on coz of all the unpacking and repacking to do for my flight back to Malaysia on 26/7/2011. The corridor was all dark and i told the front office but no action was taken. On the 26/7/2011 afternoon while checking out i went to the counter to settle my bills. There was this guy by the name of Arjun who was arrogant and not welcoming was arguing on the bill and was demanding for an extra person payment. A commotion broke out and i called my driver to settle but this guy Arjun was throwing words at me , my wife and my children , saying sarcastic words involving my race & culture. Arjun started raising his voice until i called Dayalan to come and settle. Dayalan was very nice to us but all of them insisted on me paying extra person charge. i was almost late for my flight and decided to settle amicably and paid the extra charge of 1330 Rupees by cash. The embarassment me and my family went through was enough for me to not go there anymore. My only aim to put this review is to let others know about this treatment to foreigners and to teach some front office manners to your staffs so that this kind of animal (Arjun) is not put in the front office, its a disgrace to the Indians. You should upkeep our culture and not throw such remarks just to cover up your mistakes. Buck up Nachiappa, you should keep our Chettiar image on top always. Clean up or sweep all the dirts out of your hotel. My advice to all travellers , be aware of all this , don't ever go here or you will be bullied like me.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viradurga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NACHIAPPA, Manager at Nachiappa Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Dear Sir,
We greatly apologize for the inconvenience that you have been thru in the hotel. We would just like to clarify that the room offered was a junior suite room tariffed to accommodate 4 persons, if there is an extra person an extra person charge will be added on. This is clearly published in our tariff cards.
The room was booked by the travel agent. He had initially mentioned that there are 5 adults and 2 rooms are required as the hotel allows a maximum of 4 occupants in a junior suite room(family room). Later he said that only 4 of them are arriving as one of them did not get the ticket and one junior suite room was enough.
We could not be aware that there were 5 adults as all of you had not checked in the same time. You have paid the deposit of Rs5000 took the key and later checked in the hotel, Its on the next day that our housekeeping found this extra person and our front office have told you to take an extra room which you have refused and bluntly told to speak to the travel agent who had booked the room, Mr Dhyalan spoke to the travel agent and the travel agent said that he was not aware that there was a fifth person and told us that you will pay for an extra person as you cannot afford to take an extra room as you are on a budget travel.
It would be difficult for the front office person when you do not agree to pay as already committed by the travel agent since you have an extra person staying, Further more the hotel actually lost on a room revenue by just collecting Rs450per day other then a room tariff. Seems it was clearly pre-planned to take a single room only.
This extra person charge was clearly explained by Mr. Arjun to you and seems you have refused blindly to every explanation and also refused to pay for the extra person charge. Mr. Arjun is claiming that you have used threating and disrespectful language. You have written 2 adults and three children in the review. What you have not mentioned is that all children are more than 20 years old and are adults. It clearly seems you are venting anger on the hotel by writing the review and refuse to pay for something which you have utilised.
It's only after when Mr. Dhyalan had spoke with the travel agent and clarified you have agreed to pay for the extra person’s charge which you have already committed to the travel agent.

Regards
Leander D'Gomez
Manager Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights,lobby was full of mosquitoes,dont know why they leave the entrance doors wide open when it's quite obvious that they will fly in,air con not turned on at lobby unless you ask.weird.rooms are very basic,hot water in the bath was good after walking the whole day.beds are ok.
Make sure you use some insect repellent.avoid getting bitten by unknown insects.
Location is the only plus point,walking distance to Pothys,Saravana stores,Sri Kumaran.
Food easy to find,Saravana Bhavan is a stone throws away.good vege food.non veg,Madurai appu also abt 5 min walk.
Walk with caution,esp first timers to this place.roads filled with pot holes. Pavements not even.
Go to this hotel only for location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShashaFierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NACHIAPPA, Manager at Nachiappa Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Dear Mdm,

We appreciate your feedback and emphasis on clean, safe and value for money rooms and just like to mention that we are a budget hotel and advertise as such and not promoting our hotel as a luxury or premium property.
The price is relatively a great indicator for this, just costing around US$35 with breakfast for two, a bed and breakfast kind of pricing...and if you compare with other similar hotels you would agree that we are value for money. We could also have offered you our superior rooms which has a coffee makers a mini fridge and LCD TV if we knew that you wish to have something premium.
We find it saddening when you mention go to this "hotel only for location", It gives a misinterpretation that the hotel is charging exorbitant rates just for the location. Regardless of the location, the hotels which are way far off from the shopping area charge more then us, beside daily conveyance incurred toward visiting the shopping paradise... with the location having the highest real estate value ... we charge much less then other similar kind of hotels compared to us.

We will further imoprove on the rooms and hope you will see the changes on your next visit.

Regards
Leander D’Gomez
Manager –Operations
for Nachiappa Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The hotel is in great location but oh my god ...what a lousy service they provide. We stayed there for 4 days and 3 days. Every minute was hell. First our rooms were given to others despite booking made one months in advance. my family with children ages 4 - 9 years arrived at the hotel around midnight after travelling from Vellor. We were looking forward for a good rest. Unfortunately , the front desk said there's no rooms available. We were at the lobby and the the front desk staff was rude saying it's not his problem. Where do you go at midnight in Cheenai with children. Then after 30 minutes, the front desk staff ( claimed he doesn't know tamil only english ) showed a room with cockroaches and poorly maintained rooms. Since no where to go we took a room which has 1 bathroom and 2 queen size beds for 11 of us. The rude staff could not promised us the rooms as soon as possible next morning. We spent sleepless night and we were provided with rooms which was poorly maintained. The AC was not working. Called the housekeeping, The housekeeping Supervisor was rude too saying that we do not know how to use AC. The third day one of room mattress was taken and never returned. We had to share the bed. FED UP with services and RUDE Staffs we were glad to check out. While waiting for our driver to turn up....guess what many guest complaint to the front desk. The rooms are dirty, the bathrooms... no words to explain. in the middle of bathing hot water stopped.. I would never stay in this hotel at all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NACHIAPPA, Manager at Nachiappa Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Dear Sir,

We are writing from hotel Nachiappa Park, We greatly apologize for the inconveniences caused at our hotel.
The reservation was made by the travel agent, We think there is a total misinterpretation of events which had taken place for the reservation which we think you might have not been aware,
It is true that the reservation was made a month before but when we had asked to pay an advance…no advance was paid to confirm the rooms by the travel agent, The reservation was made on the particular day for at 5pm and you have not arrived at the hotel till at 11.45pm that day and no intimation was given by the travel agent. As all hotel policies the rooms will be given up after 2hrs from the reservation time as ‘’NO SHOW’’ unless if there is a firm booking made with an advance or intimation of checking in late, On this scenario neither was made. Prior to this the agent had booked only three rooms not mentioning the number of persons who would be occupying the room, as a double room its assumed only for a double occupancy, a few days prior he had called to say there were 9 adults and two children. He wanted to book only 3 rooms for Totally 11 persons, the reservations had asked him to take 4 deluxe rooms and have turned down the reservation for three rooms as it would have issues with the services if there are too many occupants in theroom in this case the hot water as you mentioned), the travel agent had either committed for 4 rooms or refused and had put the booking on hold and having a option for finding other hotels. At many times the travel agents do parallel reservations without any monetary commitments, so they can drop out one.
On that mentioned date. All of sudden the guests arrived at the hotel without any intimation and it was way past the original arrival time and without any confirmed booking. As thus there is no valid reservation then, we do agree that you have travelled a long journey but is it the hotel’s fault if the booking is not managed well by the travel agent.
Dear Sir, You could well have requested your travel agent to find rooms in other hotels, we are also surprised why you stayed with us for 4 days and 3 nights if you were not happy and every minute was hell, On that particular day The travel agent had pleaded with the MD of the hotel and requested to make arrangement for a room at least, saying that they are budget travellers and taking them to another hotel would be twice as expensive, this is the time taken for you in the lobby, The MD could have simply refused the rooms as it is no fault of ours, as this was mentioned by the front office staff, its just that the travel agent said you were with the kids and on compassion grounds the MD asked for some arrangement for the rooms to be made
to the front office. There was only one vacant room and it was also under reservation for early morning. There was a room under (pest control)maintenance and a deluxe suite which was the only rooms left in the hotel,
You could have very well checked into another hotel even at this juncture, When all of you went in to a single room, we had placed extra mattress on that room to accommodate the extra people for the night, and on the next day we had given superior rooms two junior suites which there are two queen size beds which will accommodate 4 persons in each room, In this instance there is no requirement for an extra bed, Please check our website this room is almost twice as expensive, we had charged only for a deluxe room with extra bed at special rates to the travel agent, . This room was given as it would have been more comfortable as you were with kids, I think if you check the price differences of this room are almost Rs1000 more per room, We had done all this so as for you to have a comfortable stay,
Dear Sir, Chennai is a metropolitan city and almost all the guests are able to converse in English, the front office personnel is fluent in English, Hindi and Telugu and can understand Tamil though he can’t speak fluently, We are not sure why you had issues that he was not able to converse in Tamil as you are already well able to communicate with him and write reviews in English, even if you had faced issues the bellman or your driver with whom you have traveled all along could have translated to you in Tamil, We have taken your feedback and would also employ someone who is able to speak Tamil in the reception in the future. We once again apologize for the inconvenience caused

Regards
Leander D’Gomez
Manager –Operations
For Nachiappa Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We paid deposit to reserve two a/c rooms. On arrival all rooms were sold out and we were asked to stay in Adyar. It is not the question of staying in another hotel of theirs, it is the trust that is lost despite taking cash deposit to book room. Finally given non a/c room, with toilet flush not working, dusty. Poor service all round. Management, please buck-up.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelyPlanet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
BKR Grand Hotel
#265 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Aadvik Sai Residency
#104 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Treebo Mount Kailash Suites
#80 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thyagaraya Nagar
Taz Kamar Inn
Taz Kamar Inn
#40 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Hotel Raj Palace
#132 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Nungambakkam
My Fortune, Chennai
My Fortune, Chennai
#33 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nachiappa Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nachiappa Park Hotel

Property: Nachiappa Park Hotel
Address: Mahalakshmi Street | Usman Road, T Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price range (per night): RM129 - RM172
Hotel Class:2 star — Nachiappa Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
60 spacious and well appointed rooms. Located in heart of T. Nagar, the shopping paradise for tourists. Multi-cuisine restaurant. Bar. Free Wi-Fi internet access, laundry, 24 hr check-out, 24 hr room service. Near Mambalam Railway Station. From airport 12 km, central railway station 8 km. Safty lockers, TV with satellite dish connections. Travel desk. Close to Ranganathan Street and famous Silk and jewelry shops. Ample car parking. star facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Nachiappa Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing