We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for work visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chennai
Ranked #26 of 414 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I stayed here in September 2017 for a work visit. The hotel is one of those places that in photos looks amazing but in reality is maybe a tad rough around the edges - having said that probably more luxurious than alot of places i have stayed in the past! :-) The staff are very attentive, in fact probably too attentive as i tend to like to just do things for myself, i know alot of guests staying there would expect people to do everything for them though! Room was very big and well-equipt with a great view over city - it was a shame that it was all air conditioned and there was no way to open any windows to let some fresh (well as fresh as you can get in Chennai!) air in as everything ended up feeling a bit damp and musty. Food at breakfast was very nice - i particularly enjoyed the waffles and pancakes and also had some very nice meals in Foccachia and Spice Haat. The pool was really nice and i enjoyed watching the bats and dragonflies flying around everywhere. I did have a bit of an issue with noise in the hotel - on the Friday and Saturday night the bar downstairs played quite loud (and rubbish) music until about 2.30am - bearing in mind all the rooms are set on 10 floors round a marble central atrium you can imagine this ends up being pretty noisy, then another night i got woken up at 4.30am by someone moving furniture around and hoovering in the room above me! I appreciate staff have duties to carry out but does it really have to be quite so early or late - depending on which way you look at it! One other quite random thing we noticed is the card about changing bedding and towels was different in rooms! I always put mine on the bed saying not to change as I think there is absolutely no need to change them that often and is just a waste of water and energy whereas card in my colleagues room said to put on bed if you wanted it changed! The poor room attendants must get so confused! i think that definitely needs to be changed to avoid confusion and unnecessary washing of sheets and bedding.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyChenn, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your patronage and for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. The instances as described by you have indeed received our fullest attention. Please allow me to sincerely apologize for the unfortunate inconvenience you have experienced during your stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team I would like to extend my genuine apologies for the discomfort and disturbance caused as this should not have happened to you at all. I cannot agree with you more that the situation was unacceptable and please rest assured that we have taken all the required measures to ensure that this would not repeat in future.

Once again I would like to send my appreciation for sharing your comments and if you grant us with another visit, we would be privileged to ensure your flawless experience at Hyatt Regency Chennai.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you to Hyatt Regency Chennai in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Sohaib Kidwai
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017

I was actually disappointed in my check in process. I was early and was told to wait for 30 mins which i waited for 75 mins. The staff was poker face and neither was customer centric. But besides this incident, they were staff at the counter, Kaushik, whom was very much customer centric and eager to please and made me feel very comfortable in the check out and transportation process. Room is comfortable. Area of the hotel was surrounded by construction was might not be a place to hang around.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DNeshJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyChenn, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor.

We were disappointed to know that we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. The comments you have mentioned are definitely important for us to know and we are looking into this immediately. Please let us know whenever you are visiting us next. We will make sure we provide you a seamless service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Warm regards,
Sohaib Kidwai
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

I'm writing this on behalf of my dad. On a conversation today, 21 September, he told that when he was using the toilet a light fitting dropped from the ceiling on his back, this could have been worse and is totally unacceptable for a brand like hyatt. So just leaving a word out there to be careful when staying at this property.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rajesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyChenn, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback. The instances as described by you have indeed received our fullest attention. Please allow me to sincerely apologize for the unfortunate inconvenience your father experienced during his stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team I would like to extend my genuine apologies for the discomfort and disturbance caused as this should not have happened. Please rest assured that we have taken all the required measures to ensure that this would not repeat in future.

Warm Regards,
Sohaib Kidwai
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

- Value for Money - Excellent Hospitality - Well maintained rooms - Service oriented - Customer centric and satisfaction - Recommended - Create memories Overall, I am very happy with the services rendered by the staff. Starting from pick-up to reception to the room service, all were really good and made me feel special.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank kaustubhrameshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyChenn, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review. It is always very nice to know how our guest's stay was and how they felt while with us. I hope you can come back anytime soon and enjoy a few more days in our hotel.

We look forward to welcome you on your next visit soon.

Warm Regards,
Sohaib Kidwai
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Luigi L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HyattRegencyChenn, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 414 in Chennai (Madras)
1,064 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 414 in Chennai (Madras)
1,501 reviews
Royapettah
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#17 of 414 in Chennai (Madras)
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#16 of 414 in Chennai (Madras)
1,283 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 414 in Chennai (Madras)
1,535 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 414 in Chennai (Madras)
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chennai

Address: 365 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai., Chennai (Madras) 600018, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#18 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: RM422 - RM733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Chennai, located on the iconic Anna Salai in the heart of Chennai is the perfect destination for authentic hospitality. From multiple F&B offerings - Indian, Italian, Sichuan Chinese, 24 hour dining, Buffet restaurant, Cafe, Gourmet Shop, lounge bar and more to the luxurious Siddh Spa and Fitness Centre - it is a complete destination for business as well as leisure. The multiple banquet and meeting spaces make it a perfect meeting destination. The hotel offers 327 rooms and suites, Siddh Spa and fitness centre, Spice Haat, Stix, Focaccia, 365 AS, Biscotti, Lobby Lounge and banquet spaces. Also signature food specials - Italian Pranzo - Saturday Brunch at Focaccia; Sichuan Sunday brunch at Stix; Perfect Sunday brunch at Spice Haat; Double Happy Hours at 365 AS and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing