We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed disaster ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Ranked #209 of 436 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Fellow travellers. Kindly avoid this hotel even if they ask to come free. My first day experience is so pathetic and from checking in I have been treated like an pest and they wanna shoe me away at any moment

Tv did not work and the employee says no money to recharge. I did not understand. No room service and check in was disaster and finally they found it out

Avoid avoid

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank sarvysweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2017

...but some other things were less than perfect. The first apartment we moved into had a wardrobe with its insides all broken, but they moved us into another apartment fast enough. This second also had some stuff wanting, mainly in the kitchen utensils; they also took sometime to connect the cable TV but on the whole , we had a good stay.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank PrakashTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Booked through Travel guru for 5 nights for Luxury suite. Reached with my family on 10th August. After travelling for 12 hours we reached the hotel to get a rude shock.

The front desk guy prompty said the rooms are not available in 4th & 5th Floor. Those have been kept for their regular guest who stay for months and not for days. He was giving me a room to stay which i had a shock of my life. It was stinking with unclean washrooms and shabby room.

When disagreed , he simply said "it is upto you , you want to stay then take this room else you may leave ". There is no superiors like the way you may find in other properties.

They guy was arrogant, curt & rude in his behaviour , very surprised to see in the hospitality industry. This only reflects the complete mis management.

As a consolation, one lady who seems to be their superior came in and tried to manage the situation, offered some interim solution. She was polite & seems to have some professional approach. But the damage was already done.

I was so much disappointed and just left the hotel checked into a good hotel in T Nagar.

My sincere request to fellow travellers not to chose this property for any reasons. It would be your worst nightmare.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank fprabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Had heard a lot about this. Booked for a day. Pros : Location, large rooms. Cons : No Wifi, no restaurant, No room service ! The Hotel is spacious etc but not good for a stay. The rooms are very large but very bare, basic and functional.

There was no room service, no restaurant and no Wifi in the rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid until renovation is over
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AjayAgrawalIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Checked in with my family for 5 nights booked through Travel guru and later extended for 4 more nights through booking.com.
Got a good price through these websites.
Initially we were allotted a room in the second floor. We were horrified to see a very old room , unclean and dirty toilet and later upgraded to 5th floor by the front desk personnel. Thanks to him.
Saw reviews prior to checking in. All were right.
Please choose rooms in 4th Floor or else 5th Floor , never in the lower floors.
Overall Review.

Advantages

Excellent Location.
Beds were very comfortable.
Spacious rooms with a small dining room, living room etc.

Improvements.

Break fast atleast to be provided.
Lift was shut down for few hours without any backup.
No Power back up for the rooms.
Front desk staff need to be little more courteous & attentive. They dont even smile at you.
Windows should have curtains, was surprised to see none due to which the room was very hot through out the day.
Wardrobes were all broken.
Room in lower floors were unclean with dirty toilets.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 4th Floor to be given first priority. Else 5th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fprabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Velachery
Velacity - Luxury Serviced Apartments
Velacity - Luxury Serviced Apart...
#94 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
50 reviews
Somerset Greenways Chennai
#36 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
331 reviews
T. Nagar
The Iris Hotel
The Iris Hotel
#64 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treebo Mount Kailash Suites
#65 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
94 reviews
Mylapore
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#59 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
364 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#55 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments

Address: 39 Bazullah Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India (Formerly Star City Bazullah Road)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > T. Nagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 436 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: RM147 - RM223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star City Chennai Serviced Apartments & Villas, the first and finest Serviced Apartments in Chennai is the first choice for both business and leisure travellers and just 30 minutes away from the airport and from the Central Railway station.Combining prime locations across Chennai with modern facilities we ensure that our guests experience the maximum in comfort and convenience during their stay at any of our 5 Luxury serviced apartments and villas in T.Nagar (now managed by the internationally acclaimed hotel and resort chain - Aitken Spence Hotels) and Nungambakkam. Our superb air conditioned serviced apartments, studios, suites and independent guest house villas across Chennai offer you a choice of large one bedroom, two bedroom or three bedroom accommodations featuring spacious living and dining areas, full kitchenette facilities besides room service, restaurant, house keeping and business center facilities. All assured with a personal level of service that you won't find in any other serviced apartment hotel in Chennai. Enjoy a free breakfast everyday (depending on your stay plan), meet informally with clients or friends, conduct a board meeting, dine at our specialty Mainland China restaurant and at close of the day, relax in the comfort and space of your fully furnished service apartment in Chennai.When you stay at any of our 5 StarCity Apartment hotel & villa properties across Chennai, we're confident that you will have a comfortable and enjoyable stay and most importantly, be surprised at the great value that we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing