We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Star City Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Nearby Hotels
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$137
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Taj Coromandel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Residency Towers(Chennai (Madras))
US$75
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$74
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$105
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hyatt Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$99
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$104
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$79
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
33
34
9
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
34
9
5
7
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Fellow travellers. Kindly avoid this hotel even if they ask to come free. My first day experience is so pathetic and from checking in I have been treated like an pest and they wanna shoe me away at any moment

Tv did not work and the employee says no money to recharge. I did not understand. No room service and check in was disaster and finally they found it out

Avoid avoid

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank sarvysweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

...but some other things were less than perfect. The first apartment we moved into had a wardrobe with its insides all broken, but they moved us into another apartment fast enough. This second also had some stuff wanting, mainly in the kitchen utensils; they also took sometime to connect the cable TV but on the whole , we had a good stay.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank PrakashTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Booked through Travel guru for 5 nights for Luxury suite. Reached with my family on 10th August. After travelling for 12 hours we reached the hotel to get a rude shock.

The front desk guy prompty said the rooms are not available in 4th & 5th Floor. Those have been kept for their regular guest who stay for months and not for days. He was giving me a room to stay which i had a shock of my life. It was stinking with unclean washrooms and shabby room.

When disagreed , he simply said "it is upto you , you want to stay then take this room else you may leave ". There is no superiors like the way you may find in other properties.

They guy was arrogant, curt & rude in his behaviour , very surprised to see in the hospitality industry. This only reflects the complete mis management.

As a consolation, one lady who seems to be their superior came in and tried to manage the situation, offered some interim solution. She was polite & seems to have some professional approach. But the damage was already done.

I was so much disappointed and just left the hotel checked into a good hotel in T Nagar.

My sincere request to fellow travellers not to chose this property for any reasons. It would be your worst nightmare.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank fprabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Had heard a lot about this. Booked for a day. Pros : Location, large rooms. Cons : No Wifi, no restaurant, No room service ! The Hotel is spacious etc but not good for a stay. The rooms are very large but very bare, basic and functional.

There was no room service, no restaurant and no Wifi in the rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid until renovation is over
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AjayAgrawalIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Checked in with my family for 5 nights booked through Travel guru and later extended for 4 more nights through booking.com.
Got a good price through these websites.
Initially we were allotted a room in the second floor. We were horrified to see a very old room , unclean and dirty toilet and later upgraded to 5th floor by the front desk personnel. Thanks to him.
Saw reviews prior to checking in. All were right.
Please choose rooms in 4th Floor or else 5th Floor , never in the lower floors.
Overall Review.

Advantages

Excellent Location.
Beds were very comfortable.
Spacious rooms with a small dining room, living room etc.

Improvements.

Break fast atleast to be provided.
Lift was shut down for few hours without any backup.
No Power back up for the rooms.
Front desk staff need to be little more courteous & attentive. They dont even smile at you.
Windows should have curtains, was surprised to see none due to which the room was very hot through out the day.
Wardrobes were all broken.
Room in lower floors were unclean with dirty toilets.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 4th Floor to be given first priority. Else 5th Floor.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fprabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews