We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST VIEW HOTEL”
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Retreat
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Hotel Retreat in Darjeeling is my seen best view hotel. I have been to Darjeeling many times, but visit to the Hotel Retreat is the very best till now. But one thing I would like to mention , its much much more best if you stay in the Royal delux room (the room 411) beside the reception.
Its the the best. The room is large , nice big bathroom, and most important the covered glass large varandah, from where you would be able to see the mighty kanchanjhunga total ranges with other peaks also on one side and on the other side the sunrise from tiger hill, you no need to go to tiger hill to see the sunrise, you would be to see it from your room only given that the weather is clear and your luck is good. As of my luck , i was very very lucky in that matter. Its costly also but if you see all those peaks and sunrise, cost is very very reasonable..
The other rooms are also good and you would be able to see the mountain peaks. The rooms are neat and clean. The position of the hotel is also very good a little away from bustling and busy Mall market area.
Manager Mr. Sarcar is also very helpfull and nice person and try to give best services.
Overall i enjoyed very much.

Room Tip: Choose royal delux room or delux rooms with varandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niladri_Shekhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

It was an awesome trip as we went for our honeymoon in the month of April. The weather was very good and the hotel has an excellent view of Kanchenjunga as shown in the pics. The service of the hotel is very good and people were very nice and friendly. The manager of the hotel is a very nice person and helped us plan our trip daily. Overall it was a very nice experience and i would give them 9 out of ten..
Thanks for making my honeymoon so special...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Preet883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I was there with family in the second week of June, 2011. I visited darjeeling many times before. But this time it was a superb experience. Especially the days at the hotel Retreat was fantastic. It was located just after Raj Bhaban, 5 mins walking distance from Vanu Bhaban,10 mins walking distance from Male, 15 mins walking distance from Zoo and 10 mins walking distance from Mahakal Mandir. Apart from that the rooms were well furnished and also enough spacious. The sunrise seen from the hotel balcony and Tiger Hills were almost similar experience. Besides that the food quality was very high. Finally their service, especially the manager was very good and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Subhanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Reached Darjeeling on 29th June 2011 and went directly to The Retreat where we had a prior booking based on the feedback given by one of my colleague. Mr.D.P.Sarkar, the Manager of the Hotel was there to welcome us. The weather was gloomy but the excellent lunch provided by the inhouse restaurant made us forget all the fatigue of the journey. Took a walk to the Mall which is 10mins walking distance from the Hotel in the evening and returned back to find a warm cup of Darjeeling tea & snacks waiting for us. The rest of the evening was equally entertaining with all guests of the Hotel gathering at the Lounge and Karma the chef of the Hotel singing wonderful old melodies!!! The next morning started with a view of the Kanchenjunga from our room followed by local sight-seeing arranged by the Hotel. After returning back went for some shopping at the market very near to the Hotel. Although we had plans for visiting Tiger Hills the next morning but the weather didnot permit us to do so. So had to leave The Retreat & Darjeeling with definitely some good memorable moments and a warm hospitality!!! Positive points - Home like atmosphere, Excellent location, Delicious food and Courteous staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank subhojits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Our journey to Darjeeling and stayed at THE RETREAT was an outstanding experience since it’s excellent location at the lap of Himalaya gave us a paradise beauty, enjoyed the day by looking Kanchenjunga from room ,furthermore the warmth of staff members ,good quality of food ,overall a homely atmosphere were so admirable that we would like to stay at RETREAT every time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srabani_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.5 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.2 km away
Little Tibet Resort
Little Tibet Resort
#13 of 97 in Darjeeling
217 reviews
0.9 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 97 in Darjeeling
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#12 of 97 in Darjeeling
313 reviews
0.3 km away
Krishna Service Apartment
Krishna Service Apartment
#27 of 97 in Darjeeling
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Address: 15 Hermitage Road | Raj Bhaban, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: RM237 - RM341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laced by horizon-kissing green tea-estates and foggy hills, Darjeeling is the 'Queen of the Hills' in all its own splendour. For the world tourists, trekkers and globetrotters, Darjeeling is the gate to a tranquil world that is filled with enchanting and breath-taking picturesque beauty. The sunrise from atop the Tiger Hill is mysticism beyond compare. And who ever misses a walk to the Mall Road for some woollens shopping, or a ride on the famous toy-train that whistles its way through the greenery? Darjeeling will wrap you in its beauty, and your stay at The Retreat will make your trip more memorable. Here at The Retreat, you can see the Kanchenjunga peak from every room! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing