We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Seven Seventeen(Darjeeling)(Great Value!)
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Ivy Castle(Darjeeling)
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tathagata Farm(Darjeeling)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
The Pinewood Hotel(Darjeeling)(Great Value!)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
61
59
15
5
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
59
15
5
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsraj bhavanmanager mrexecutive roomglass coveredwalking distancesnow cladhot cold waterkanchenjunga viewexcellent locationshopping placesclear viewreception arealocal sightseeinghotel is situatedroom heaterexcellent hospitalitybalcony
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2011

It was an awesome trip as we went for our honeymoon in the month of April. The weather was very good and the hotel has an excellent view of Kanchenjunga as shown in the pics. The service of the hotel is very good and people were very nice and friendly. The manager of the hotel is a very nice person and helped us plan our trip daily. Overall it was a very nice experience and i would give them 9 out of ten..
Thanks for making my honeymoon so special...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Preet883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I was there with family in the second week of June, 2011. I visited darjeeling many times before. But this time it was a superb experience. Especially the days at the hotel Retreat was fantastic. It was located just after Raj Bhaban, 5 mins walking distance from Vanu Bhaban,10 mins walking distance from Male, 15 mins walking distance from Zoo and 10 mins walking distance from Mahakal Mandir. Apart from that the rooms were well furnished and also enough spacious. The sunrise seen from the hotel balcony and Tiger Hills were almost similar experience. Besides that the food quality was very high. Finally their service, especially the manager was very good and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Subhanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Reached Darjeeling on 29th June 2011 and went directly to The Retreat where we had a prior booking based on the feedback given by one of my colleague. Mr.D.P.Sarkar, the Manager of the Hotel was there to welcome us. The weather was gloomy but the excellent lunch provided by the inhouse restaurant made us forget all the fatigue of the journey. Took a walk to the Mall which is 10mins walking distance from the Hotel in the evening and returned back to find a warm cup of Darjeeling tea & snacks waiting for us. The rest of the evening was equally entertaining with all guests of the Hotel gathering at the Lounge and Karma the chef of the Hotel singing wonderful old melodies!!! The next morning started with a view of the Kanchenjunga from our room followed by local sight-seeing arranged by the Hotel. After returning back went for some shopping at the market very near to the Hotel. Although we had plans for visiting Tiger Hills the next morning but the weather didnot permit us to do so. So had to leave The Retreat & Darjeeling with definitely some good memorable moments and a warm hospitality!!! Positive points - Home like atmosphere, Excellent location, Delicious food and Courteous staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank subhojits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Our journey to Darjeeling and stayed at THE RETREAT was an outstanding experience since it’s excellent location at the lap of Himalaya gave us a paradise beauty, enjoyed the day by looking Kanchenjunga from room ,furthermore the warmth of staff members ,good quality of food ,overall a homely atmosphere were so admirable that we would like to stay at RETREAT every time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srabani_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

i really don't know that how i should start writing about my experience at DARJEELING as i have visited that city countless time (almost) for business purpose and the absence of neatness always caused distractions in me. but finally due to keen interest of my wife we went there at the weekend and stayed at hotel RETRAT. what to say, it changed my whole conception. the beauty i search, the green, the serene, and of course the hospitality every thing made a new impression on my mind.
i will love to go over there again and will enjoy the open window and its horizon with a cup of Darjeeling tea.
regards,
kuntal bhattacharyya.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kuntal1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews