We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Retreat
Nearby Hotels
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$44
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tathagata Farm(Darjeeling)
US$59
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Windamere Hotel(Darjeeling)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Seven Seventeen(Darjeeling)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The Pinewood Hotel(Darjeeling)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
61
59
15
5
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
59
15
5
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsraj bhavanexecutive roommanager mrglass coveredwalking distancegovernor's housesnow cladkanchenjunga viewhot cold waterhotel mrdarjeeling teaexcellent locationshopping placesclear viewfront officeaffordable pricereception area
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

This is our second visit to the queen of the hills within five months and second stay at the Retreat as well.

But, it was a detour this time!

Staying at Darjeeling was not in our original itinerary at all.

We were supposed to be at the heritage Tumsong Tea Resort only for all the three nights.

But, thanks to the precarious condition of the approach road and an extremely warm welcome and unmatched hospitality of Mr. Debi Prasad Sarcar of The Retreat Darjeeling and sudden availability of the premium balcony rooms our plan changed.

We spent the third night at The Retreat, Darjeeling.

This time it was a big team with 13 people, Mr. Sarcar made everything smooth and easy.

Karma was there to serve his signature dish chicken roast and what an awesome dish it was!

The dining hall renovation was a pleasant surprise for us which gave it a cosy European look.

A couple of additions like a small but well stacked library and a nice show case with artefacts at the lobby were refreshing indeed.

Mr. Sarkar with his unending penchant to qualify service with a personal touch makes all the difference.

As an astronomical icing on the cake
Kanchenjungha was in its full glory this morning.

We have already started counting the days of our return to the Retreat with the hope that the ambience do not change much, our ever smiling Mr. Sarkar is there and the wifi net connectivity is improved!


Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank drlahiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pd_s_11, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Dear Sir,
Thank you & your team,,,,as we have some repeater guest like you sir,

Thanks & Regards,
THE RETREAT TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

I visited with 2 other friends and I was very happy with the room number 301 and its unobstructed view of the Kanchenjungha from the room. We were not lucky as it was raining but it was a beautiful view nonetheless. The hotel room had basic amenities and was comfortable. I wish the extra bed was not a mattress though. We ate only the complimentary breakfast at the hotel and it was ok. Nothing great but sufficient.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Madhuchanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pd_s_11, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your valuable time ,again you have to visit if time permits ,
Regards,
D.P.SARCAR,
09434049994

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

You can get a wonderful view of Kanchenjunga from hotel. Benches has been provide for viewing the hill by hotel by enjoying the climate of darjelling. Hotel is nearer to Shopping place. This is near to ZOO and governors house

Room Tip: Get hill view rooms
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Revanth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pd_s_11, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your valuable time ,again you have to visit if time permits ,
Regards,
D.P.SARCAR,
09434049994

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

If you are sensible, please do not stay in the retreat even for free!! Worst hotel I have ever stayed in- Stinking room, torn towels, dirty bathrooms and horrible food with guaranteed infection!!!

Manager is rude. We got into the trap due to booking made by cox and King for north east trip. Will request cox and King to cancel hotel arrangement with this hotel in case they wish to save their reputation.

Have given one rating as there is no provision if giving negative rating. Actual rating should be minus five (-5). Serious request not to to ever stay even for free.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank sanjayhgogia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pd_s_11, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Dear Sir,
Thank you for the correction & places to improve, certainly we will take the necessary actions to improve ourselves,


Regards,
D.P.SARCAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Best place to stay in Darjeeling.excellent food,awesome location,good service,good cleanliness and a superb food quality.Specially i want to Thank Sarkar Da,whose behaviour is just best.secondly if i got a chance,again i will stay in this Resort,A speechless recommended place to stay in Darjeeling.The most important is "The Kanchenjanga" which we have seen from our room's window is awesome.

From Prasenjit & Papia Saha

Room Tip: Large Rooms,best view from room's window.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank papiadutta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pd_s_11, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your valuable time ,again you have to visit if time permits ,
Regards,
D.P.SARCAR,
09434049994

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews