We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location to meet with Kanchenjunga..!!”
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Retreat
Ranked #26 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights and fortunately got glance of Kanchenjunga in every morning between 6AM to 8AM. Best part is you don’t have to rush anywhere to see Kanchenjunga in every morning. Just wake up and check through your window whether Queen is visible or not!!! Accordingly you can take a snap or another nap . Breakfast is moderate and staffs are helpful. But service needs improvement per room tariff.

Room Tip: Book a executive room for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 33Suman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pd_s_11, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your valuable as well as encouraging words, we may request you if wants to enjoy Darjeeling ,please visit us, As we are lucky to view Mt.Kanchenjunga from each corner.
Regards,
THE RETREAT TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

This is our second visit to the queen of the hills within five months and second stay at the Retreat as well.

But, it was a detour this time!

Staying at Darjeeling was not in our original itinerary at all.

We were supposed to be at the heritage Tumsong Tea Resort only for all the three nights.

But, thanks to the precarious condition of the approach road and an extremely warm welcome and unmatched hospitality of Mr. Debi Prasad Sarcar of The Retreat Darjeeling and sudden availability of the premium balcony rooms our plan changed.

We spent the third night at The Retreat, Darjeeling.

This time it was a big team with 13 people, Mr. Sarcar made everything smooth and easy.

Karma was there to serve his signature dish chicken roast and what an awesome dish it was!

The dining hall renovation was a pleasant surprise for us which gave it a cosy European look.

A couple of additions like a small but well stacked library and a nice show case with artefacts at the lobby were refreshing indeed.

Mr. Sarkar with his unending penchant to qualify service with a personal touch makes all the difference.

As an astronomical icing on the cake
Kanchenjungha was in its full glory this morning.

We have already started counting the days of our return to the Retreat with the hope that the ambience do not change much, our ever smiling Mr. Sarkar is there and the wifi net connectivity is improved!


Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank drlahiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pd_s_11, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Dear Sir,
Thank you & your team,,,,as we have some repeater guest like you sir,

Thanks & Regards,
THE RETREAT TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

I visited with 2 other friends and I was very happy with the room number 301 and its unobstructed view of the Kanchenjungha from the room. We were not lucky as it was raining but it was a beautiful view nonetheless. The hotel room had basic amenities and was comfortable. I wish the extra bed was not a mattress though. We ate only the complimentary breakfast at the hotel and it was ok. Nothing great but sufficient.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Madhuchanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pd_s_11, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your valuable time ,again you have to visit if time permits ,
Regards,
D.P.SARCAR,
09434049994

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

You can get a wonderful view of Kanchenjunga from hotel. Benches has been provide for viewing the hill by hotel by enjoying the climate of darjelling. Hotel is nearer to Shopping place. This is near to ZOO and governors house

Room Tip: Get hill view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Revanth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pd_s_11, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your valuable time ,again you have to visit if time permits ,
Regards,
D.P.SARCAR,
09434049994

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

If you are sensible, please do not stay in the retreat even for free!! Worst hotel I have ever stayed in- Stinking room, torn towels, dirty bathrooms and horrible food with guaranteed infection!!!

Manager is rude. We got into the trap due to booking made by cox and King for north east trip. Will request cox and King to cancel hotel arrangement with this hotel in case they wish to save their reputation.

Have given one rating as there is no provision if giving negative rating. Actual rating should be minus five (-5). Serious request not to to ever stay even for free.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank sanjayhgogia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pd_s_11, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Dear Sir,
Thank you for the correction & places to improve, certainly we will take the necessary actions to improve ourselves,


Regards,
D.P.SARCAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.4 km away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#3 of 98 in Darjeeling
544 reviews
0.9 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
654 reviews
0.5 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Viceroy Hotel
Viceroy Hotel
#39 of 98 in Darjeeling
226 reviews
0.7 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
1.8 km away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 98 in Darjeeling
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Address: 15 Hermitage Road | Raj Bhaban, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: RM308 - RM405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laced by horizon-kissing green tea-estates and foggy hills, Darjeeling is the 'Queen of the Hills' in all its own splendour. For the world tourists, trekkers and globetrotters, Darjeeling is the gate to a tranquil world that is filled with enchanting and breath-taking picturesque beauty. The sunrise from atop the Tiger Hill is mysticism beyond compare. And who ever misses a walk to the Mall Road for some woollens shopping, or a ride on the famous toy-train that whistles its way through the greenery? Darjeeling will wrap you in its beauty, and your stay at The Retreat will make your trip more memorable. Here at The Retreat, you can see the Kanchenjunga peak from every room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing