We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated..Worst”
Review of Glenary's

Glenary's
Ranked #7 of 139 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$5
Cuisines: Indian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 8 April 2021

We reached at the hotel at 8.50..But the security was not allowing to enter and was telling that the restaurant is closed..After arguing they allowed us.. But the closing time is 9 pm..
The overall attitude of the hotel staff was unfavorable, as they are doing favor by serving us. we are a tourism firm spead all over the world , especially in Europe. There are many other good restaurants in darjelling.when we complained to the manager about the incident..he was least bothered...We will tell all our guest to share der experience about this hoteI ..atleast our 1500 guest has visited this restaurant. wont recommend this restaurant, it's an over rated restaurant...Thanks

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank rahrty81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenarys, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry for your experience with us, your message has been forwarded to our management, we hope your next visit won’t be the same and we hope you will give us the chance to serve you again. We hope to see you with your family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 2,706 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2021

Horrible service! They are just running because of their name. This restaurant should rather shut down. The owner doesn’t even know what is happening at his bakery! We ordered burger with fries and the waiter got us pizza with fries and constantly argued with us to eat the pizza since he got it to our table. Then finally our burger which was overpriced and stale and tasteless arrived, it started raining. No staff shifted our food inside and when we asked a waiter to help us with the same, he was like, ‘ go and ask the waiter who took your order to shift your food inside or let it get wet.’ On asking for the manager or some higher authority, the waiter claimed to be the manager there and when we asked them to give us a feed back form, they simply denied saying they have nothing for feedback. Also after all the problem, when we actually started shouting, the other staff members ganged up on us saying don’t shout. People working there can shout at their customers, but the customers who are actually paying can’t shout back after such rude and unpleasant behaviour. This place should seriously shut down since they are just looting the customers in terms of really really really bad service and overpriced menu for which you’re either forced to eat food that you are not ordered or just stale food arrives at your table. Also after all this, they dint apologise. They were like we dint do anything wrong and you can do whatever the hell you want. I would give them negative rating but trip advisor dint have an option. Also, I’m not a tourist. Have been visiting this place since childhood and this place is degrading day by day. I would have a loved the place and settled for the bas food had the service been nice. But they serve the food like they are feeding us for free.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Simran271195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenarys, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry for your experience with us, your message has been forwarded to our management, we hope your next visit won’t be the same and we hope you will give us the chance to serve you again. We hope to see you with your family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

Not only in Darjeeling but any major City, this Bakery would be among the best. Local and Tourists flock together to enjoy food, and some of the bakery items are unique. Don't miss out on Muffins and Cookies.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank nkratnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenarys, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are happy you had a wonderful time. See you again with your family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2021 via mobile

Food is not good at all. Over crowded and no service at all. Overall not a good experience. It's an over rated restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Rita_Podder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenarys, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry for your experience with us, your message has been forwarded to our management, we hope your next visit won’t be the same and we hope you will give us the chance to serve you again. We hope to see you with your family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2021

This place looks great but if you are not Bengali and a big group you are unwelcome at this place. Had gone for there for breakfast but left after how rude the manager is when it comes to allot tables. Only big groups are given the best seating however early you reach. We waited for over and hour and then we’re turned down a table that we wanted because a bigger group came. No solution or alternate table was given.
THE STAFF HERE IS EXTREMELY RUDE! (I cannot emphasis more on this!) and is not friendly for all tourists. I would recommend you rather go to keventers or la patio

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank BardeyReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenarys, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry for your experience with us, your message has been forwarded to our management, we hope your next visit won’t be the same and we hope you will give us the chance to serve you again. We hope to see you with your family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glenary's also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to Glenary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.