We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It should be renamed Dhukh Alaya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sterling Darjeeling
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Darjeeling
Reviewed 20 June 2017

I recommend even if you are a member of Sterling do not stay here and spoil your vacation. Firstly the location is a biggest put off. To reach this resort you have to enter an extremely narrow lane where its extremely difficult for 2 vehicles to pass each other. Our driver use to get very irritated and use to ask us, out of all resorts why you chose this one. Secondly this resort is not in proper Darjeling..its in Ghoom about 8 kms away and the travel desk here was quoting us a price of 1000 rupees only to travel for 8 kms, wait for 2 hours and come back. My wife went to the salon many times and came back saying there was no staff there...Food was nothing extra ordinary...service nothing great....things were not organized at all. At night we requested for an extra heater and house keeping told us...they do not have any spare heater as all of them have gone for repairs. we stayed in a one bedroom room which was very congested and nothing great. How i wished that we should have stayed somewhere else to have a better holiday experience .

Room Tip: i dont recommend this hotel in the 1st place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaKs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear Sir,

Namaste!

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of Darjeeling - Khush Alaya.

We are deeply regretful that you are dissatisfied with your stay. It is of great concern to us that our culinary delights, housekeeping services and staff could not delight you. Your feedback has been escalated to the Resort Management Team so that we can work on these areas and enrich the resort experience.

We request you to kindly consider this as an unfortunate exception and give us another opportunity to serve you. For your next holiday, we recommend Goa La Vida Varca - our newest beach resort in South Goa that offers exciting options for you to unwind and relax by the sea. Please visit our website for more details about our new properties.

We eagerly look forward to welcoming you again and assure you of a delightful stay.

Sincerely,

The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

I was supposed to visit this hotel between 22nd to 24th June, but had to cancel my visit owing to the riots happening in Darjeeling and these people refunded me only 50% of my money, I was astounded with the "Unethical" manner this hotel was run and the ways they were using to "loot" thier customers. I suggest everyone not to book this hotel and if you book don't pay them till you check out... High possibility they will not give you a penny back even if it's not your fault or emergency !!!

This hotel is a disgrace to hospitality industry and the owners should be ashamed of earning money in this manner...

Pathetic would be an understatement...

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Abhinav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear Sir,
Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Darjeeling – Khush Alaya.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.
We are saddened to learn that there were issues that marred your stay. Please accept our apology for the same. Resort Management team has been alerted with your feedback. However, the refund policies are as per the organizational standards followed by us and our fellow hospitality associates.
We extend our heartfelt apology for the disappointment caused on this occasion, and request you to consider it as an unfortunate exception.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Room(studio) is good, but many of them do not have a good view. The room in which we stayed had a window facing the laundry room!! Every day in the morning when we opened the window we got to see white linen fluttering in the breeze. What a terrible sight. Travel Desk - Pathetic. Had to always wait for the vehicle to arrive which was booked on the previous day itself. Cab drivers are rude, unfriendly and dont know the meaning of customer service. We had opted for a 1 full day tour, the driver told us that couple of places in that list cannot be covered due to traffic!!! When we insisted that we have to cover those places, first he said the Art Gallary is closed(which was a lie), then again when we insisted, he said he cannot take us and he turned the vehicle and dropped us back at the resort!!! We lost many hours on that day and missed a few sightseeing locations. I bet Khush Alaya just has ‘Kush’ on the name and dose'nt see to it that the customers really feel it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ganeshaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Sir,

Namaste!

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of Darjeeling - Khush Alaya.

We are regretful that you could not explore the places you want to see. Your feedback has been shared with the Resort Management Team so that we can see to it that our guests’ preferences are not compromised in future. We are also concerned that you are dissatisfied with the room, kindly mention your preference in future to enable us to serve you better. We do hope that our staff were able to make up for the inconvenience caused by serving you well.

It would be most generous of you to excuse this as an unfortunate exception and give us another opportunity so that we may pamper you with the signature Sterling experience. Please visit our website to view our recently renovated and brand new properties in various exciting destinations across India.

We look forward to serving you again and assure you a pleasant stay.

Sincerely,

The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

very nice property, with clean rooms and very good buffet spread. property as such is not very well maintained, lot of scope of improvement is there. the only turn down was the very late check in. we had to wait for almost 2 hours before they could accord us a room. that was a major turn down but after that it was smooth. kids liked the game zone and the play zone.

Room Tip: privilege suits are good on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anurag259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear Sir,
Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Darjeeling – Khush Alaya.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.
We apologize for the delay caused in your check-in. We understand how annoying it can be. The Resort Management Team has been alerted of the issue and steps are being taken to ensure that such incidents do not occur again in the near future. We are glad that our young aged guests had a merry time. We express our gratitude for your kind words directed towards our much loved rooms and buffet menu. Thank you for sharing your room tip.
It was a delight to host you. We hope you choose us again as your hospitality partner.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

It's a very beautiful resort , away from the hurry burry of the chaotic city Darjeeling !! The staff is very curtious and helpful. It's a cast property which is well maintained , though they require a good gardener.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sheru2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Sir/Ma'am,
Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Darjeeling – Khush Alaya.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. At Sterling resorts, we strive to provide the best of what hospitality has to offer to our guests and Darjeeling – Khush Alaya is no different. Our well trained staff members are the ambassadors of Sterling’s core beliefs – to leave no stone unturned in ensuring that our guests feel welcomed and are taken care of.
Please visit our website to know more about our expansive range of resorts in scenic locations across India.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.7 km away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#7 of 100 in Darjeeling
385 reviews
4.9 km away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 100 in Darjeeling
673 reviews
3.7 km away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
4.7 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
3.8 km away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#10 of 100 in Darjeeling
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Darjeeling

Address: Ghoom Monastery Road | Ghoom, Darjeeling 734102, India (Formerly Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort)
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: RM 188 - RM 584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn left on the Old Monastery road from Ghoom station, and you come upon sloping roofs and curving stairways that define the mystique of Sterling Darjeeling. Modern comfort at the resort is steeped in the tranquility of the surrounding mountains enhancing the charm of this lovely town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sterling Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing