We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$39
US$37
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$56
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$49/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$45
US$44
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Seven Seventeen(Darjeeling)(Great Value!)
US$26
US$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$36/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Little Singamari HomeStay(Darjeeling)(Great Value!)
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Aliment(Darjeeling)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
The Pinewood Hotel(Darjeeling)(Great Value!)
US$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tathagata Farm(Darjeeling)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
117
145
53
32
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
145
53
32
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsghoom monasterybhim singhghum stationstudio apartmentactivity roomsofa cum bedtravel deskkanchenjunga peakthe cottageshighest pointexcellent resortplace to stayexcellent view of kanchenjungahouse keepingbuffet spreadthe resort managerdarjeeling town
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

The sprawling hotel property is located in the calm precinct of Ghum. It is maintained quite efficiently. The routine upkeep is regular. The staff is supportive as well. The view of Kanchenjunga is just stunning from the hotel as can bee seen in the photo. Go for it when you plan Darjeeling!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank ronak d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Myself and my Husband stayed there for three days only instead of a week as originally planned. While Darjeeling doesn"t have much to see, narrow streets and dirty, the resort staff were very friendly and helpful. Special mention has to be made to the resort manager Mr.Mainak Mitra who helped us by making arrangement for our stay at Gangtok, Sikkim, Sterling Resort by transferring the remaining days of our holiday at Gangtok. On the whole we enjoyed staying at Sterling Kush Alaya and will opt for the same place should we go there again.
Mrs. Lakshmi Ravichandran.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Kanchan Junga
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lakravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Sir,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Khush Alaya, Darjeeling.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of our resort.

We’re happy that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Darjeeling as a city continues to reinvent itself and we’re sure it will beckon you again.

Thank you for all the kind words for our resort staff. At Khush Alaya, it’s our endeavor to cater to all the needs of our guests. Mr. Mainak Mitra is glad to know that you liked the arrangements.

We hope that next time around you’re in the city, you’ll drop by.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The basic place is good but the rooms are badly maintained with loose wires hanging here and there. The staff seem to be in an eternal state of confusion though they do apologise for their bumbling. The food is average at best. The ever present Bonglaa Babu makes the whole experience a drudgery. We couldn't get out of Darjeeling fast enough.

Room Tip: There is no lift so don't go if you have mobility issues
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peter_j_isaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Sir,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Darjeeling - Khush Alaya.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.

We are regretful for the issues that marred the quality of your experience. Your feedback has been shared with the Resort Management Team to ensure that the aberrations are rectified at the earliest. Our staff work hard to deliver exceptional holidays and we request you to consider this as an unfortunate exception to the usual standard of service.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you with the best of what Sterling has to offer.

Sincerely,

The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We had a great stay at Mount Pleasant hotel, as the service was excellent. The rooms were fantastic and the food was fabulous. Sanjay has given us his best service including the others. 

They made us feel at home the moment we reached. The Driver who took us to Nathula Pass was nice and friendly as well as the local driver. 

The Driver who drove us to Pelling was very nice and helpful.. Pelling was a great place and the hotel as well... The room service was great and we had a great stay at Pelling though it was just for a night. 

The stay at darjeeling was Pleasant though the weather was cold. We got the best view specially Mt.  Kanchenjunga from  our room. The service was good... 

The drivers were good and friendly..the Driver who drove us to the airport was very friendly and nice. 

The local drivers who took us for a sightseeing was nice. 

         We are looking forward for our next trip.

  Thank you Mr Rajan for making our trip a very enjoyable experience.  

             Yours faithful,

                 LANGEN WA I SHALLAM                  AND FAMILY. 

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank langen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Sir/Ma'am,
Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Darjeeling – Khush Alaya.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.
We are pleased that your stay with us was pleasant in more ways than one. Thank you for detailing the features that you enjoyed the most. We are glad that our rooms and much-loved gourmet options were to your liking. Please accept our gratitude for empathizing with our staff members, who are working diligently to ensure that our guests feel welcomed.
We would love to welcome you again in our expansive range of resorts pan-India.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

The property is quite big with a Monastery to visit, just 5 mins walk. We stayed there as a group, so feedback is based on same. They had buffet meals served which were quite average . You are lucky if room is having view to mountains. Be careful while booking regarding the view from the room , as all rooms do not have good view. Their bar was such a big disappointment. Be prepared to drink luke warm beers !! The music and activities that they arranged for the group was pathetic.Overall property is good but services needs lot of improvement.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KapoorSakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear Ma'am,
Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Darjeeling – Khush Alaya.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.
We apologize for the untoward exceptions to the usual Sterling experience. We are deeply concerned about the issues you have raised and our Resort Management team is working to rectify the aberrations at the earliest.
We request you to kindly not hold this experience as a norm, as at Sterling, holidays are all about fine hospitality in the lap of nature. We hope that you will give us the opportunity of serving you again.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews