We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cottages! The location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sterling Darjeeling
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Darjeeling
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Darjeeling

A stunning property near the Ghoom station, I cannot say more how I loved this place. Superb hospitality, great stuff, fast service and awesome rooms. We choose to stay in the villas that also lets to view through the amazing scenery. The hotel is near Ghoom sttaion (5 min walk) and the famed monastry is just by side. Do choose the place if you are traveling by a car. It is far away from the hustle of the town yet a quick tour by the car or even by the toy train. Local settlements are everywhere and pretty often you shall come across the small shops selling tea or local vegetables. Breakfast could include a bit of meaty options. They serve all veg except for eggs. Overall, I am very satisfied and would definitely recommend the place to others.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Madhurima C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Ma’am,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sterling Darjeeling and for giving us a fabulous review.

We’re so thrilled you loved the scenic vistas from your room. Location is one of the things about our property that we’re really proud of.

Thank you for recommending us to the fellow travelers. Our staff are always on hand to serve you, which includes cuisine as well.

Please plan a visit next time soon.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2017

HI We were family of 7 people stayed at Sterling Khush Alaya in last week of October the place is amazing except the road from Ghoom Main road uptill inside the Sterling Resort which is a very narrow road where 2 cars cannot pass easily. But most of the driver have amazing driving skill so it was not bad.

the location of the resort is amazing once you reach inside with magnificient views of Kanchenganga Mountain range and surrounding views
the resort did not have much occupancy when we visited due to the political situation in Darjeeling but we never experienced any problems during our trip as all the locals are very friendly & nice people.

the rooms were quiet clean & ok except the heating could have been much better. As our kids could not sleep on the sofa cum bed as it was very cold downstairs in living room area so we had to accommodate them inside our bedrooms which got very cramped. we would have appreciated if they can get better quality heaters

Restaurant at the sterling Resort Food Menu has limited Dishes to choose from but they were amazing specially the Barbeque Section was amazing. I would specially like to Thank Mr Uttam Bhattacharjee Executive Chef who was a very helpful & specially went out of his way to cook some amazing Momos & Sheesh Kababs. And on our last day arranged special Breakfast overlooking the Kanchenganga Mountains we all appreciated his great gesture Thank you Mr Uttam for your great Hospitablity.

we also had Spa Service which we would highly recommend specially their steam cupboard which feels really nice in cold weather of darjeeling

On the whole we enjoyed our stay at sterling khush Alaya and will opt for the same if we go there again.

Abbasi Tankiwala

Room Tip: Room at the far end of resort have Kanchenganga Views from windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASBABOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Sir/Ma'am,
Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Darjeeling – Khush Alaya.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.
It gives us great joy in knowing that your holidaying experience had the Sterling way of delight imprinted all over it. Our resort seeks to allow our guests an intimate experience with nature and its bounties and we are glad that it left you rejuvenated! We are glad that you could make the most out of our dining options and our spa. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused and have shared your concerns along with your valuable suggestions of improvement with the concerned team. Thank you for sharing your room tip.
We hope you try more of our resorts located at scenic locations across India.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

The sprawling hotel property is located in the calm precinct of Ghum. It is maintained quite efficiently. The routine upkeep is regular. The staff is supportive as well. The view of Kanchenjunga is just stunning from the hotel as can bee seen in the photo. Go for it when you plan Darjeeling!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank ronak d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Myself and my Husband stayed there for three days only instead of a week as originally planned. While Darjeeling doesn"t have much to see, narrow streets and dirty, the resort staff were very friendly and helpful. Special mention has to be made to the resort manager Mr.Mainak Mitra who helped us by making arrangement for our stay at Gangtok, Sikkim, Sterling Resort by transferring the remaining days of our holiday at Gangtok. On the whole we enjoyed staying at Sterling Kush Alaya and will opt for the same place should we go there again.
Mrs. Lakshmi Ravichandran.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Kanchan Junga
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lakravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Sir,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Khush Alaya, Darjeeling.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of our resort.

We’re happy that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Darjeeling as a city continues to reinvent itself and we’re sure it will beckon you again.

Thank you for all the kind words for our resort staff. At Khush Alaya, it’s our endeavor to cater to all the needs of our guests. Mr. Mainak Mitra is glad to know that you liked the arrangements.

We hope that next time around you’re in the city, you’ll drop by.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The basic place is good but the rooms are badly maintained with loose wires hanging here and there. The staff seem to be in an eternal state of confusion though they do apologise for their bumbling. The food is average at best. The ever present Bonglaa Babu makes the whole experience a drudgery. We couldn't get out of Darjeeling fast enough.

Room Tip: There is no lift so don't go if you have mobility issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peter_j_isaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Sir,

Namaste!

Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Darjeeling - Khush Alaya.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort.

We are regretful for the issues that marred the quality of your experience. Your feedback has been shared with the Resort Management Team to ensure that the aberrations are rectified at the earliest. Our staff work hard to deliver exceptional holidays and we request you to consider this as an unfortunate exception to the usual standard of service.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you with the best of what Sterling has to offer.

Sincerely,

The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.7 km away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#7 of 100 in Darjeeling
385 reviews
4.9 km away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 100 in Darjeeling
672 reviews
3.7 km away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
4.7 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
3.8 km away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#9 of 100 in Darjeeling
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Darjeeling

Address: Ghoom Monastery Road | Ghoom, Darjeeling 734102, India (Formerly Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort)
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: RM 188 - RM 576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn left on the Old Monastery road from Ghoom station, and you come upon sloping roofs and curving stairways that define the mystique of Sterling Darjeeling. Modern comfort at the resort is steeped in the tranquility of the surrounding mountains enhancing the charm of this lovely town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sterling Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing