We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disinterested service ...”
Review of Geographer Cafe

Geographer Cafe
Ranked #14 of 701 Restaurants in Melaka
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disinterested service ...”
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We dropped in there for a snack and a cold drink at about 6.30pm on a Friday night. The night markets in Jonker St were just kicking off. The cafe itself was not very busy at this time. We'd been recommended to go by a restaurant owner in Singapore. Service was very slow, and provided in a very dis-interested manner. I ordered the naan bread with vege curry. Curry was OK at best and the naan bread was not fresh at all - more like the highly processed type you would buy in a supermarket. Overall, nothing special and would not bother to return.

  • Visited April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikey1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    613
    291
    101
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Terrible service - serving cold food”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

After a friend of mine recommended the place, we went there for lunch and a drink. It all seemed ok but once we ordered the food it took forever to arrive. As somewhat usual in Asia, both dishes were served with 15 minutes between them, not allowing us to eat together. Worst thing was that the food was cold and the staff didn't care. A request for condiments was completely ignored twice. When talking to the manager about it he complained about the poor staff and how no one wanted to work at the place. He even asked me to write a complaint. I hope this helps both travelers and him.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Marcel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Very Poor Service!”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

We came with high expectations on a Friday night. We were told that they are busy and the food will take 30min. We were okay with that. After 1 hour, people who arrived long after us received their food. The more we asked, nothing happened. No apologies and no one cared. After 1.5 hours we cancelled our orders and went for street food. Not recommended at all!! Don't waist your time or money!

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Corné v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Terrible service- disappointing!”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

We came to Geographer Cafe around 7:30pm to have dinner. There were 6 of us.the waiter told us that it'll take at least half an hour for the food to come. We were fine with that and ordered our drinks. An hour and more drinks later..food not arrived even though they arrived on other tables!Staff didn't bother to apologise and even ask if we want to cancel our orders. We came here with high expectations but really felt let down by the staff nonchalant answers and can't be bothered attitude!
Will not return or recommend this restaurant. Disappointing!

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tiger stop”
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Good place to have a couple of draught Tigers in between strolls. We didn't try the food. Good service.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank luispaisbernardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Geographer Cafe also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Geographer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing