We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
107
96
31
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
96
31
13
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed there couple of days and we should say that we really enjoy your stay. You can use fridge, hot water. Coffe and water are provided for free. The housekeeper (english) is really friendly and provide good tips. Location is also very good.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLMATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed for one week in one double room in the old Jalan Jalan, very clean, simple and cheap rooms, the dorms looked pretty good too. Alan takes care of everything diligently and with lots of british humour. We had a great time.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 December 2012

It is excellent value for money and as I am travelling alone, it was great to feel home and save. We received a lot of great advice on where to best eat from live in manager Alan. Also loved that you could rent bikes. Nights were sociable in the cosy lounge. Will definitely come back if I pass by again. Exactly what I am looking for in a backpacker hostel. Wish more places would be like that.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girlonajourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed at Jalan-jalan for two nights in mixed dormitory room. The dorm is spacious with locker. I like that each bed has its own fan and power outlet. The toilet is clean and u never have to wait so long for it. U will always see the owner cleaning here and there in the hostel. Overall, I really like the experience staying in Jalan-jalan, definitely will stay again next time when visit to Malacca

Date of stay: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xzhen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We booked a double room at Jalan Jalan Besi. The hostel has 2 buildings. Jalan Jalan Ema and Besi. Ema is where you’ll find Alan – a lovely, hard working English chap. He is full of information and entertaining stories and really makes this place – sit down and have a chat with him.
We initially stayed in room 1 at Besi. This is a double with a fan. It has a window onto a balcony overlooking the street. With the fan going, it was a well aired and pleasant room. There are 2 toilets and showers and we never had any problem getting into them. We extended our stay and moved into room 5 which is a very large en-suite room with air con. Both rooms had extremely comfortable beds. Some people have commented on the Hindu temple and the call to prayer at around 5am. I remember hearing it twice...but on both occasions I don’t remember it finishing! It never bothered us.
If you want to hang out, Ema hostel is the place to be. But it’s not a party hostel, just a friendly, sociable place. If you want quiet time and you are staying at Besi, then you can chill out there on the comfy sofas.
Both hostels had good strong free wi-fi and a computer in each building. Both places were always clean and Sam the owner couldn’t do enough for us.
We really enjoyed our stay at Jalan Jalan and would have stayed longer had I not received a surprise call to say my brother would be in Thailand in 2 weeks! Loved it and would highly recommend if staying in Melaka.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews