We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Explorer
Singapore, Singapore

Not the best location and stay experience

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Mar 2024
Likes:

(1) The Premier Studio room was spacious (49 square metres) and had adequate furniture.

(2) The bathroom was stylish.

(3) Bed was quite comfortable.

(4) Useful power sockets were provided: universal sockets and USB A ports. See photo.

(5) The stained-glass dome in lobby was impressive.

(6) There was a nightly dinner buffet with live music in the lobby to enliven things up. This likely catered to the Iftar market during Ramadan.

(7) The staff generally tried hard to please.

Dislikes:

(1) If you prefer walking to places of attraction yourself, this hotel’s location is poor. Had to spend money on Grab each time I wanted to find food or visit a place.

(2) The room safe was not user-friendly. The instructions for the room safe printed by the hotel were also inaccurate and incomplete. For example, the instructions did not mention that the safe door had to be left ajar when setting the desired PIN. The instructions for unlocking also specified a button which did not exist. See photo of corrections made to safe instructions. My passport got inadvertently locked in. Wasted an exasperating afternoon troubleshooting this issue.

(3) My Premier Studio room was too dark at night. Although the bed had reading lights, bright ceiling lighting in the room was sorely lacking. Do take note if you plan to do serious work or reading at night.

(4) Breakfast was underwhelming: (a) Unlabelled items. For instance, soybean milk and fresh milk, which looked similar, were placed side by side but only the fresh milk was labelled. How easy it would be for someone to mistake the soybean milk for fresh milk; (b) Coffee and soup left to turn cold without anyone checking; and (c) Food flies hovered around some breakfast items.

(5) The room bathroom had no hand or face towels. I had to use the bath towels to wipe my face and hand.

(6) Gymnasium was inexplicably closed during my stay.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bari Amin, Owner at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka, responded to this review
Responded 26 Mar 2024
Dear Daniel Teo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our Premier Studio room, the stylish bathroom, comfortable bed, and the amenities such as the universal power sockets and USB ports. We're also pleased that you appreciated the ambiance created by the stained-glass dome in our lobby and the evening buffet with live music.

However, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We understand that our location may not have met your expectations in terms of accessibility to nearby attractions. Your comments regarding the room safe, lighting, breakfast experience, absence of towels, and the unexpected closure of the gym are duly noted. Rest assured, we will address these issues with our team to ensure improvements are made for the benefit of our guests.

We appreciate your constructive feedback as it helps us identify areas for enhancement. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a more enjoyable experience in the future.

Warm regards,

Bari Amin
Assistant Marcomm Manager
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
RM 373
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 326
  • Expedia.com
    RM 405
1.2 km from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 224
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 218
  • Expedia.com
    RM 264
0.8 km from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 235
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 189
  • Expedia.com
    RM 222
2.5 km from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 1,195
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,264
  • Priceline
    RM 671
  • Vio.com
1.5 km from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 194
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 177
  • Expedia.com
    RM 193
1.0 km from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
Step into our hotel lobby and be welcomed by a spacious, contemporary design that exudes sophistication and style. The lobby's sleek and modern decor is complemented by natural elements such as marble and wood, creating an inviting and warm atmosphere. The high ceilings and floor-to-ceiling windows allow for ample natural light, providing a bright and airy ambiance.  The one-of-a-kind sculptural design chair's asymmetrical shape and sleek lines make it a visually striking addition to the lobby,
RM 400
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 400
  • Tripadvisor
    RM 400
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 255
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    RM 203
  • Expedia.com
    RM 231
2.2 km from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 331
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 261
  • Vio.com
9.3 km from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka
Free parking
Pool
RM 216
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    RM 155
  • Expedia.com
    RM 192
0.7 km from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka
Free parking
Pool
Facade
RM 115
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    RM 98
  • Expedia.com
    RM 130
2.1 km from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Melaka
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
96
13
4
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
96
13
4
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hi tea lobby hotel beautiful lobby place to stay walking distance aiman design staycation deco spread level
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2024

Honestly, I booked this hotel is due to my first few choices hatten, doubletree, the pines and holiday inn are not available. The room does not disappoint, the carpark is not the cleanest but it's the same with the one at hatten. Hotel staff all spoke good English so communication is not an issue, they even allow us to check in early. The room was huge and clean. There was signs of age at some corners but generally was well maintained. Only levels 8-14 was for guest rooms so it's not a big hotel. There was no issues with fighting for the lifts unlike some hotels. Location wise probably is not the best but it still within walking distance to jonker, but heck Melaka is not very big either.
Price wise is also reasonable for the space. Overall, it's one of the better hotel that our family stayed in

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sunboi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bari Amin, Owner at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2024

Dear Sunboi,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience! We're delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be a hidden gem in Melaka. While we're sorry to hear that your first choices were unavailable, we're glad that you found our rooms to be spacious and clean. We appreciate your understanding regarding the cleanliness of the carpark and any signs of age, and we assure you that we strive to maintain our facilities to the highest standards.

It's wonderful to know that our staff's proficiency in English and our flexibility with early check-in made your stay more enjoyable. We're also pleased that you found the size of our hotel to be convenient, with no issues with lift congestion.

Thank you for acknowledging our reasonable pricing and overall positive experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back for another great stay in the future!

Best regards,

Bari Amin
Assistant Marcomm Manager
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2024 via mobile

Hi Hotel Team,

I wanted to take a moment to express my sincere gratitude for the exceptional stay at your hotel. From the delicious breakfast to the impeccably clean and spacious room, every aspect of my visit was truly wonderful. The convenience and comfort of the hotel were remarkable, making my stay thoroughly enjoyable.

I must also mention the bathroom's new design—it was fantastic and added a touch of luxury to the experience.

Thank you to the entire team for your hard work and dedication to providing such a welcoming environment. I look forward to my next visit!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank arpratheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bari Amin, Owner at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2024

Dear Arpratheep,

Thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing to stay with us at our hotel! We're thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic experience and that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast, impeccably clean and spacious room, and the remarkable convenience and comfort of our hotel. We're delighted that you appreciated the new design of the bathroom—it's always rewarding to know that our efforts to enhance our guests' experience are noticed and appreciated.

Your appreciation means a lot to us, and we're grateful for your recognition of our team's hard work and dedication. We can't wait to welcome you back for another wonderful stay!

Warm regards,

Bari Amin
Assistant Marcomm Manager
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2024

Good location, responsive room service, clean and comfortable room, fast check out. It was an excellent stay.

Friendly staff, nice design, good food. Staff are friendly, the foods are yummy. Comfortable bed I love it and sure will go again

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SUZILA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bari Amin, Owner at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2024

Dear Suzilan,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience! We're thrilled to hear that you had an excellent stay and that you found our location convenient, room service responsive, and rooms clean and comfortable. We're also delighted that you appreciated our friendly staff, nice design, and delicious food. Your satisfaction is our priority, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards,

Bari Amin
Assistant Marcomm Manager
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2024

Very convenient. Nice lobby. Nice reception, beautiful room. Near to shopping mall and malacca river cruise. Also inside hotel the decoration n vibe in lobby very awesome...Recommended for everyone to stay at this nicely renovated hotel.

The most very very i like to stay here coz all staff totally very friendly n very helpfully👍👍👍 also buffet for breakfast food all SEDAP⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐💯

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pak yuss H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bari Amin, Owner at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2024

Dear Pakyushh,

Thank you for your kind words and recommendation! We're delighted to hear that you found our hotel convenient and enjoyed our nice lobby, reception, and beautiful rooms. It's fantastic that our location near the shopping mall and Malacca River Cruise suited your needs. We're thrilled that you found the decoration and vibe in our lobby awesome.

Your compliments about our friendly and helpful staff mean the world to us, and we're pleased that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast. We hope to welcome you back for another wonderful stay soon!

Warm regards,

Bari Amin
Assistant Marcomm Manager
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2024

Very convenient. Nice lobby, early check in late check out. Nice reception, beautiful room. Near to shopping mall and malacca river cruise. Maizatul and hasniza were really accomodative and friendly. Recommended for everuone to stay at this nicely renovated hotel.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Relax12890506023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bari Amin, Owner at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka and for sharing your fantastic experience! We're thrilled to hear that you found our hotel very convenient, with a nice lobby.

It's wonderful that you enjoyed our beautiful rooms and the proximity to both the shopping mall and the Malacca River cruise. We're especially grateful for your kind words about Maizatul and Haliza – we'll be sure to pass on your compliments to them.

Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another delightful stay. If there's anything specific you loved or any suggestions you have, feel free to share.

Warm regards,

Bari Amin
Assistant Marcomm Manager
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Melaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews