We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
94
48
13
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
94
48
13
3
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2012

I stayed for 2 nights at Oriental Riverside. It was great for us cost-wise, being that we were students on a tight budget. The room and common bathroom was clean. Room was quiet. Owner was willing to let us check in at 5am. Location was quite safe as well. The owner is very friendly, accomodating and extremely helpful with planning where to visit. There's a bicycle rental too nearby (Sayang Sayang Guest House I think). Pretty near Jonker street (Jalan Hang Jebat) and lots of other places of attraction such as the museums and A'Famosa.

The only downside to this I could recall is that most nearby eateries are non-halal (except one Indian coffeeshop down the road. We *are* at Kampung Cina after all.), you'd have to go a little further to find halal places. Last thing about Malacca is that eateries tend to close early on weekdays. We went to Pantai Klebang and everything was closed (except one or two shops -- one place selling Asam Pedas has a really cute waiter haha)! Apparently they closed at 4pm. Fridays and weekends are when they open till late.

Other than the halal diet consideration, this was a fantastic place for us to stay.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night but from the moment we got there we were made to feel really welcome by the owners. We had a quick chat about our backgrounds and plans, what the owner would recommend as places to visit on our travels before going through the local map with their recommendations for what to see and where to eat.

Given we only had one day these tips made the visit to Melaka that much better.

The accommodation is very clean and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The back door also opens onto the river side which, as we were leaving the next morning, we noticed provides a beautiful view in the morning sun and would be great for a walk.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenEwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This Guest house is family run and well kept. The husband and wife team are extremely friendly and always happy to help. We had a clean and very large room over looking the river. The bathrooms were clean and the location is perfect for exploring Melaka. You get a great feel for the real Malaysian way of life. Would definately recommend :)

Room tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river, you might be lucky enough to see the giant monitor lizard venturing out of the river to a nearby garden :)
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during our stay in Melaka. The owners, Asri and Lin-Lin, are adorable, just like their guesthouse. Conveniently situated with a view on the river, easy to reach and close to China Town. Our room (we stayed in room 8 on the top floor) was spacious, clean with A/C and view on the river. Very clean shared bathroom on a lower floor. Definately a place to stay during your next stay in Melaka. We will definately come back (hopefully soon). Asri and Lin-Lin, thanks for everything!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tine_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in July 2012 and loved it! We stayed in a room on the first floor - simple with a/c and no en suite, however bathrooms upstairs we very clean and never had to wait. Room was clean if basic, but what makes this guesthouse so great is Asri and his wife. They were fantastic from the beginning - guiding us with where to go, eat etc. We visited during Ramadan so Asri took us along with them to the local food market one evening where we got a taste of the real Malaysia. It was great to see all the locals stocking up on food ready for sunset! Location is great too - easy to walk anywhere in Melaka yet not too noisy or crowded. Would definitely visit again.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyD1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews