We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original Crepe is a must try”
Review of Nadeje Cake House

Nadeje Cake House
Ranked #1 of 8 Bakeries in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Butterworth, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Original Crepe is a must try”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Didn't get to try on the first time we went to the outlet at Dataran Pahlawan in last year trip down to Melaka due to the long queue. This year we returned again and found that the outlet in Dataran Pahlawan had moved to Mahkota Parade. Again long queue at the outlet, possibly due to weekends and in a shopping mall. So we decided to go for takeaway at the shop at Plaza Mahkota. The queue was not long and we got our cakes nicely packed in approximately 15mins.

We bought 4 different flavours: Original, Green Tea, Cheese and Rum & Raisins. We think the original was the best.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jyshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    154
    60
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is my favorite cake house to visit~~They have three branches in malacca. I usually visit the one at Plaza Mahkota~ Two more branches are at Mahkota Parade and Dataran Pahlawan~~

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoanLee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth to try”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We went to outlet at Dataran Pahlawan at the first place, but found out that the shop was closed down, very surprise. Then we went to the shop located at Plaza Mahkota on next day, there was long queue, maybe because of the weekend. But the queue move quite fast, service is ok and polite. So need not to wait long. We bought a whole cake of Original mille crepe and another 3 slices of mille crepe (strawberry chocolate, double chocolate and hazelnut), they free us a slice of their new flavour, Gula Melaka. Prefer the double chocolate, very rich and creamy. Gula Melaka just like the "kuih dodol".Don't really love it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuanJuan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Definitely overrated”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We hard a hard time looking for this cake house at Plaza Mahkota......Went about in circles in the plaza and ended up looking at Pizza Hut outlet again and again which kinda have the same unit number. Then it daunted on us that Nadeje is right behind Pizza Hut facing the main road......no access to it from within the shopping complex unless you walk out of one of the side exit doors. It is actually located at the extreme right side of the shopping mall facing the main road/open carpark.

Dining area is pretty small with not many tables and very noisy as diners there seemed to chat very loudly. Look for a table first before making your order for mains and drinks. For cakes, you have to walk over to the cake counter to choose your cakes and let them know your table number so they can serve up the cakes to your table later.

We tried 5 different flavors and like the original and Mocha flavor best. Good thing the cakes are not too sweet but I must say we find the many layers of cream too rich and heavy for our palettes. We could hardly finish the five cakes though there were 5 of us. We downed them with Latte and expressos which regretfully were not served together with the cakes. Had to wait a while for the beverages to come one by one. Service wise is quite an issue here. Staff seemed new and unable to cope with the crowd.

I find the cakes overpriced for what we are getting. They are basically layers of crepes coated with fresh cream in between which we find cloying after eating half a slice. Still prefer the sponge type of cakes with light cream. The cakes did not sit well in our stomachs and we felt bloated throughout the day.

It's probably fine to try out the cakes for the first time but I would not be raving about it because it did not impress.

We left feeling

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ganadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Just a lot of hype...”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The Mille cake (for which the cafe is famous) seems to taste better previously. Tasted a tad sweeter than before and has more cream than before. Also was uncomfortable with the counter staff handling the slices with their bare hands which also handles the cake boxes and clearing the counter tops. The staff who served me went to the store to get some cooler bags (which we need to purchase if we are bringing the cakes out of Malacca) and came back to pick up each slices by his hands!
Service attitude was also near non-existent - perhaps due to the crowd present. But that's not an excuse.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAngi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nadeje Cake House also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Nadeje Cake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing