We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,739)
Filter reviews
2,739 results
Traveller rating
644
1,355
496
142
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
1,355
496
142
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alto sky lounge junior suite shopping mall jonker street premier lounge lcd tvs mahkota parade swimming pool rooftop bar breakfast spread walking distance living area convenient location long queue spacious room parking ticket hotel guests
Filter
Updating list...
2,567 - 2,572 of 2,739 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We turned into malacca from the highway spontaneously without figuring where should we stay for the night. First hotel that came to mind was Equatorial, as its location was simply perfect (in conjunction to Jonker Street and Stadthuys). Hence, we steered towards Jonker, and stumbled upon this newest hotel in Malacca. Found out it was only 2 months old and is not officially launched yet. I went down to get a room tariff but it wasn't ready yet. So I just enquired about the room rates and as it was still in a pre-opening promotional rate, a night just cost RM182 (weekdays) and a Deluxe Room is what we get. Thus, we were satisfied but still, we do not want to "betray" Equatorial Hotel. Upon reaching Equatorial, packs of people where crowding everywhere and the answer came out to be fully booked. We had no choice but to follow God's Will and head back to Hatten Hotel.

Back at hatten, we parked right in the building. Oh and yeah, hotel guests, please do not wave your 'touch n go' as you enter as you will receive complimentary parking. Check in was kinda slow with new staff rushing here and there to please waiting customers. it was a weekday, so I really can't imagine how they would handle on a weekend. Now that's one to take note of. Nevertheless, staff were very friendly and helpful, providing necessary information and pointers around malacca. i asked for a internet cable upon check in and less than 5 minutes in the room, the cable was promptly sent. Kudos to the staff members there. And to clarify, everything from the sofa bed, linen, pillows, bathroom and every corner was perfectly clean and no insects were seen. rain shower in the bathroom was another wonderful addition to our stay. Room view enabled us to stare at the beautiful infinity pool downstairs but sadly, we were told that it would only be opened in a month's time. Currently, only 3 levels of rooms are operating and there's only one 24-hour restaurant-Chatterz. Not to mention, breakfast was rewarding. Variety of selections with nice deco and ambience. Love the taste of the hotel grounds. Classical music were played even at the corridors (Canon in D was one of their favorites). 2 LCD TVs were found in each room. Sofa bed was nothing but extremely comfortable.

Unfortunately, there wasn't a shower cap in the bathroom and there were no toothbrushes and tooth paste provided too. Upon going out to get some stuff from nearby shopping malls, I passed by the reception and requested for an extra blanket. it was handled professionally by a tired-looking staff who checked us in that very afternoon. In a few minutes time, my family upstairs received the blanket. Housekeeping was rather efficient in that sense. Check out was a long queue but we were granted 30 minutes late check out. Security was good and tight as guests need to insert their room cards before pressing the level buttons in the lift.

Overall, the hotel gave us a great impression and we would definitely come back when the infinity pool opens. Highly recommend this hotel to family and friends and dear trip advisor members.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Celinell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

At the first look and impression, it seems like a grand 5-star hotel (No, found out it only has 4-star after the trip), what with its attractive location, next to a megamall, at the hub of the city and blahblahblah, beckoning us to start a relaxing and pleasant stay in it. But upon entering, it's a big mess of disappointment. The lobby had a weird design, probably because the full development of the hotel hasn't been completed, with it's long meandering endless bends. There were kids shouting, running, and even rolling on the carpet and the hotel staff just looked and walked away. Talk about a 4-star hotel. First, at the entrance, we first saw that there was a bar that was empty with workers. Then why build a bar there if it is not meant for offering guests welcome drinks? Next, we had to wait a long time to store our luggages at the baggage counter. Thirdly, we had to queue for a long time for check-in. At 2.30pm, room wasn't ready. Came back at 3.30pm, reception said just wait for a couple more minutes to let our housekeepers do their checks. Came back after 15min, sorry, rooms havent been checked. Please wait again. Hotel staff just smiled and stared back at us. We started to complain and explain how long we have waited before the lady at the reception said she would upgrade our rooms such that we can get one of the 2 rooms that we have booked, but the ready one doesn't have towels yet. the other room might be ready soon. But if we have to wait for it, we cannot complain about it. Fine, wadever, just give us the damn rooms. Upon reaching our rooms, extra bed requested for one of the rooms was not sent. Finally, everything was settled at 4.30pm, a one and half hour later from our promised 3pm check-in. After coming back from dinner, found out that there was an extra bed in each of our 2 rooms. Had to call houskeeping to remove one of the beds. Luckily, the service was fast this time. After all these unlcuky awful services, we couldn't wait to check out the next day and leave malacca. To make up for it, breakfast buffet was awesome, ranging from nice furniture to wide variety of appealing delicious fast-refilled food (Western, Malay, Chinese, Danish pastry) Had to devour as much food as we could to compensate for the disturbing service the day before. (What can you say? Singaporeans!) Well, just my luck:(

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happysingaporean123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Hatten Hotel is in a prime position next to several big shopping malls and within easy walking distance of all the main tourist traps in Malacca. It aspires to be a high grade hotel and the rooms are comfortable with nice beds and a touch of "grooviness" to the design. The buffet breakfast is comprehensive with lots of choices, and everything is clean and new - because it's a brand new hotel.

And because it's a brand new hotel please note - at the time of staying (June 2012) there are no facilities whatsoever despite being shown on their website. No pool, no gym, no bar and, actually, no service to speak of. Breakfast was a zoo of "snatch and grab" characters because the hotel are offering special rates to schools and very large tour groups. The staff are clumsy and a bit negative - some exude an attitude of "don't mess with me". The senior staff are better and one or two there try to help, for example in giving local directions, but overall I didn't feel happy or welcome there and after a long day at work I don't want to feel uneasy in my hotel.

Note also that, as a business traveller, there is no wi-fi in the room but there is a complimentary cable socket and you can request a cable for your laptop. Wi-fi is in the lobby and the breakfast restaurant.

I might try this hotel in a year's time, but at the moment I'll stick to others should I have a business trip to Malacca again.

Room Tip: It seems that, at the time of writing, only floor 13 is open.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SingaporeBizTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

During my stay at Hatten Hotel:
1) very pleasant greeting by the reception but a 'clumsy' / disorganized front desk because the customer need to qeue like waiting to depart on the bus with our luggage still by our side.
2) i can see that the service effeciency level were declining at the time we reaching higher to our room. The reception offer very prompt service but after we entered the room seems like all the good service was only at the point of we paid for the room. The aircond was not running as per expectation (previous visitor had complaint about it, i dont want to elaborate more), the room was like breeding nest for the cockroaches, for two night stay, all of these insect family has greet us, its baby, sister, mama & papa & even dead grandpa in the toilet.
3) i was even very very very dissapointed with the service because when i ask for the prayer rug at 4.30pm and after 3 times call the room service, finally at 7.35pm i manage to get it..for a piece of prayer rug they need almost 3hours to send it to me..phewww that is a damn heavy thing to bring up to me..i think :)
4) on the 2nd day, we went out & ask for housekeeping..guest what, when we came back..the room was been 'clean up' the only thing been tidy up is the bed..the toilet hmm i think i can clean it better..they just spray water to make the toilet look wet..what a joke!! Then another suprise came, my daughter towel that we bring along was taken by the maid without informing us about that..luckily i notice the towel is missing and i make a call to the housekeeping and ask for the towel..they said we will rush our maid to get the towel to you..i wait until 9.00pm then call again for thw towel??they said the towel was not with them??!!they just give me a puzzle to solve, right? One time it is there and now its gone? I ask them to find it by hook or by by crook because i know it is with them..i wait again until i decided to sleep because it already 1am & i ain't crazy..yes!! you are right..i only get the towel after i checked out from the hotel & after waiting for almost an hour after i drop the hotel key at the front desk..another key 'success story' by Hatten staff..
5) i would recommend this hotel to those that have a lot money but with a very aggresive attitude because you will need it to deal with the Hatten's gladiators..to Hatten..please please please improve your service & the attitude of your staff..you have a long way to go..all the best..

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don_Issac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Good location of hotel. Hotel staff are pleasant and helpful. The hotel cafe serves good food and the buffet breakfast has a good spread of food. Being newly opened there are some minor rectifications and the hotel should be fully functional by late this year.

A big Shopping centre on opposite of the hotel and on the other side a Mega Mall link by bridge across. Further down the main road, numerous Nyonya (Peranakan) restaurants serving favourite local dishes. Tried the food at Big Nyonya restaurant , 33 Taman Melaka Raya. It was authentic peranakan food.

Room Tip: Higher floors above 12 levels on south have good views of sea front and quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank corbinchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews