We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
121
59
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
121
59
5
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2019

We spent two nights at this wonderful home stay. We stayed on the top floor (Artist's room) with a view over the river, loved the dark shutters, the dark timber floor. The hosts were very kind, always on hand to give directions, answer questions, call taxis. Coffee and tea are available on the ground floor which was very much appreciated. Really good location for exploring what's left of the historical heart of Melaka.

Room tip: Recommend the Artist's Room on the top floor.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank zambrosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 December 2019 via mobile

My wife and I spent three nights in this gorgeous home stay and it was the perfect base from which to explore Malacca.

We sprung for one of their larger apartments with a balcony affording us a great view of the river and old town. While there are a lot of stairs to haul your suitcases up, the spacious room and the view it affords is worth the investment.

Located right in old town, it’s a short walk to the riverfront restaurants and Jonkers Walk. You’re is close to the action that the only downside is the occasional late night music. This shut off at or before midnight every night, and we were there during Diwali.

The staff are a family and very friendly. We especially loved playing with the new kittens.

An on-site restaurant would be nice, especially since they’re squandering what would be a gorgeous river front breakfast setup. There’s plenty of other food nearby, however, so it’s no big deal.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank cwbush83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2019

Wayfarer Guesthouse is a wonderful place to stay. Located in a historic building full of character beside the river, in the heart of the old town of Melaka, it is ideally placed for exploring all the main sights. However, the main reason for saying that it excels as a place to stay lies within the house. It has a lovely cosy atmosphere and feels welcoming from the first moment you enter. It is a place where the family has put thought and care into everything they do and we found them unfailingly helpful and friendly. There is 24/7 availability of tea, coffee and snacks; a basket of random chargers and a rack of umbrellas are provided for guests to use. They even placed a happy birthday balloon in our room on my daughter's birthday.
We stayed two nights and had to change rooms between the two. Both were very comfortable and spacious and one had a balcony overlooking the river which was wonderful. The other was a family room with the children's area above the main room accessed by stairs within the room. We felt children would love it.
Breakfast is not provided but there are several places nearby where different kinds of breakfast are available.

Room tip: Two rooms overlook the river and one certainly has a private balcony (not sure about the upper one).
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank happytraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2019

A beautiful renovated historical building by the river in the heart of the heritage quarter of Melaka. The owners put a lot of effort into keeping the original structure of the building intact while making it suited for travelers (there is a repurposed wooden staircase now used as a bar counter). The place is well kept, very comfortable, secure, and at a walking distance to the monuments, eateries, and transport! Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rajarshi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 June 2019

Fell in love with the open sky well, a view from my room. Hallway have a long stretch till the riverside with different section, a typical architecture China heritage houses design. Backyard is a river, and less than 5 mins walk to Jonker Walk. And I couldn't resist to play with the rustic indoor swing, the focal point of the whole hallway. Great job, Wei Yi & Wei Ming (the hosts)!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Sm2018solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews