We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Steve T
Newcastle OZ

It could of been so much better

Review of QuaySide Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Apr 2017
Location wise excellent, we had a room on the 2nd floor with a balcony overlooking the river the balcony was fantastic had great view and privacy but as I love to sit there and surf the net it was impossible as it was far too slow it took over a minute just to get to the tripadvisor website, even in the room so slow.
The room itself was fine, clean and a good size for 2. The air con was good the bathroom was OK. The biggest let down was the breakfast I honestly don't know why they bother first day Sunday, they had the normal stuff toast, coffee hash brown cereal but no egg station. The next day Monday morning it was just toast and coffee they did offer to cook us some noodles but we declined next day we had breakfast somewhere else. So to sum it up if you want a none fancy clean, well located hotel but don't mind really slow internet and no breakfast this place is fine
Date of stay: March 2017
Room Tip: upstairs with a balcony
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 203
  • Priceline
    RM 200
  • Trip.com
    RM 190
  • Expedia.com
    RM 238
0.4 km from QuaySide Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 663
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 720
  • Agoda.com
    RM 576
  • Hotels.com
    RM 648
0.1 km from QuaySide Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 235
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 221
  • Priceline
    RM 196
  • StayForLong
    RM 270
1.3 km from QuaySide Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 255
  • Expedia.com
    RM 231
  • Priceline
    RM 186
  • Vio.com
    RM 231
0.7 km from QuaySide Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 269
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 260
  • Priceline
    RM 177
  • Hotels.com
    RM 223
1.1 km from QuaySide Hotel
Free parking
Pool
RM 205
  • Expedia.com
    RM 205
  • Agoda.com
    RM 188
  • Hotels.com
    RM 205
1.1 km from QuaySide Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 322
Fully refundable
  • Trip.com
    RM 305
  • Vio.com
    RM 269
  • StayForLong
10.5 km from QuaySide Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Step into our hotel lobby and be welcomed by a spacious, contemporary design that exudes sophistication and style. The lobby's sleek and modern decor is complemented by natural elements such as marble and wood, creating an inviting and warm atmosphere. The high ceilings and floor-to-ceiling windows allow for ample natural light, providing a bright and airy ambiance.  The one-of-a-kind sculptural design chair's asymmetrical shape and sleek lines make it a visually striking addition to the lobby,
RM 440
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    RM 440
  • Expedia.com
    RM 440
  • Hotels.com
    RM 440
1.3 km from QuaySide Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Facade
RM 115
  • Expedia.com
    RM 133
  • Trip.com
    RM 101
  • StayForLong
    RM 135
0.7 km from QuaySide Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 399
RM 327
  • Expedia.com
    RM 327
  • Vio.com
    RM 327
  • Hotels.com
    RM 327
2.0 km from QuaySide Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Melaka
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
47
104
60
29
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
47
104
60
29
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river balcony room jonker street public parking mini fridge warehouse attractions riverside stadthuys menara design shampoo hairdryer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Great hotel to crash in with an amazing location. Worth every single penny. 5 mins away to the famous Jonker street. Housekeeping was a little noisy as my room was on the corner of the first floor, overall fantastic!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank nav1nr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We arrived slightly past noon on 13/3/2017, and for some reason, the parking lots in front of the hotel was being blocked off. So we parked in the open carpark not far opposite of the hotel. We later realized that the hotel reserved some lots in the open carpark for guests, but we missed the signage and paid the carpark operator for parking in normal lots.

Our room is on the second floor, with a nice little balcony facing the river. The hotel seem to be undergoing some renovation / upgrading and it was very noisy in the day. It will be good if the hotel staff bothered to at least inform us that there are renovation works going on when we arrived. No towels in the room, so we had to request for towels to be sent to our room. We expect to get some rest before heading out to the streets, but the noises are really disturbing and we couldn't rest at all.

Another annoying problem is the mosquitos. Cannot enjoy the night breeze and river view on the balcony without getting bitten by mosquitos. Some got into the room, resulting in a restless night. The hotel management should really consider looking for a solution to this issue. We did not pay a higher rate for the river view room, only to get bitten by mosquitos.

The location of the hotel is the best they can offer. Walking distance to tourist attractions like Jonker Street, St Paul's, The Stadthuys, Dataran Pahlawan...

Room tip: No lifts- guest with heavy luggage might want to consider ground floor rooms, but might be noisy due to the bad soundproofing from upstairs.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corrine6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Stayed here for 7 nights in a 2 storey building which had rooms that overlooks either the river view or main road. Check in was fast.My room with balcony was on the second level.The room was huge. Clothes hangers was provided.Rooms facing main road has no balcony.If travelling with elderly or people with a handicap problem will face issues as there is no lift in this hotel.Rooms were properly maintained. Rain shower was a problem in my room as i had only roughly 3 minutes of hot water before it became lukewarm throughout of my stay despite maintenance.No separate shower cubicle. So if you took a bath the whole bathroom floor as well as toilet seat would get wet.Rooms was not sound proof. Bring along mosquito repellent as there are mosquitoes every night at the balcony. Housekeeping was done everyday by staff who was friendly and room with amenities such as shower bath and shampoo along with tea and coffee facilities was refilled and clean bath towels and crisp bedsheets was replaced everyday. If you are a light sleeper choose another hotel. Noise from tourist walking just below the balcony goes on from early morning till past 1AM in the morning as well as trishaw riders, river cruise boats and nearby pub joints with music blaring during the night.Hotel within walking distance to all attractions,shopping malls,and Jonker street which made my trip enjoyable.Hotel has a restaurant which serves breakfast but i did not book the room with breakfast so i cant review the menu.If you need a taxi staff will gladly call one for you.Overall highlight of my stay in this hotel was location, location and again location. Would like to thank house keeping team,Rose Toh, Fiy, Dinesh and special mention especially to Fareyn who assisted me in my booking prior to my visit and during my overall stay where she and another staff Abdullah took the trouble in helping me locate certain places and eatries whicn i needed to go to. Thanks to you Fareyn and Abdullah my stay was made memorable. All the staffs was always smiling and cheerful which i appreciated very much.

Room tip: Second floor balcony rooms facing river view
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank desilvag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Booked this hotel because of its central location. Can walk to Jonker and attractions at Bandar Hilir.
Check in and check out were fast and fuss-free.
We booked the premium room with balcony. It was not noisy. Room was clean (no itch after sleeping on bed). We saw a few mosquitoes in the room but problem was easily solved with insect repellent.
Iron and ironing board is at a fixed location so if you need to iron anything, you will have to leave the room. That's the only downside.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank nurshasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Booked a suite for 2 nights. Room and bathroom were spacious. We had river facing view and it was awesome. Very relaxing to sit next to the window sipping your coffee, enjoying the view and watching tourists strolling down the river bank. Some rooms come with balcony but not mine.

We were given only 1 card access for a family of 4. Do note that the housekeeper doesn't clean up the room. You have to go down to concierge to exchange your bath towels or request for toilet roll when it runs out. The WIFI and TV reception work well in my room.

The sound proofing in the room needs to be fixed. It do gets noisy at night with all the trishaw riders blasting their music on the road.

Forget about the breakfast from the cafe. It's a small miserable spread and the orange juice is actually orange cordial drink. On the brighter side, at least you could order your scrambled eggs but it takes a while to cook.

Location of the hotel is awesome. Walking distance to all the heritage sites, Jonker Streets and shopping malls.

Room tip: River facing view
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lin2ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews