We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
777 results
Traveller rating
314
313
94
30
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
313
94
30
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssofa bedspacious roompoolside suiteoak restaurantsalt water swimming poolthe riverjonker streetpool sidenight viewexecutive floordining tablesmall kitchencity viewfree shuttlethe hotel offersbreakfast spreadshuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 777 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel just to sleep in and do nothing and room is huge for my 11 month old to crawl around...

Nice river view around the hotel. Will be back for sure and hopefully get to try out the poolsuite..

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Joran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnathan L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Joran K,

It was such a pleasure to read your review and I am delighted that you and your family had such a great in-room experience at our hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us and fellow travellers and we hope to welcome you back to The Pines Melaka very soon.

Warm regards,
Johnathan Lazaroo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

We arrived rather late and I noticed that the reception area had queue line prepared (I am in the impression that check-in at this hotel can be quite long during the day). This could be the fact that the reception area was rather small. There was small seating / waiting area at the reception which I think during the day, can be quite congested.
However, the design of the hotel is very hipster with quirky taglines, modern interior outlook. Our check was pleasant and no issues at all and the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

The room is basic, but with a touch of modernity and updated interior elements. I loved the room, because for a large family (2 adults and 4 kids), it fits us perfectly.

Breakfast however was a nightmare! There was a queue to be seated and the place looked like a cafeteria rather than a coffee house. We had to queue for almost everything! But, they made up for it with their service (very patient and accommodating to all guests) and food was good and had an array of selections.

The highlight of the hotel would be their poolside area. Loved that they used saltwater instead of chlorine water. The pool area were decked with artificial grass which allows the guests to have a "picnic area" to lounge about should the pool lazy chairs be occupied. And they have a playground for the kiddos.

The surroundings is rather limited. There is a 7-11 for your snacks and tidbits session. and there is an access for the river walkway, should you feel like taking a stroll in the evening or to move about around town. For really good food hunting, you would still need to drive out and it is not nearby the all time must-go-to spot Jonker Street.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay, if you are not a fussy guest and if you are looking something rather posh and elegant, then this might not be the place for you. For me, The Pines caters for guests with large family members, looking a comfortable place to stay. So if you want fuss free, I think this is a standard across all Melaka hotels, avoid spending the holidays there over the weekend. Melaka is flooded during this time.

Room Tip: Select rooms with city view, our room were facing the building next to it.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadia z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnathan L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Nadia Z,

Warm greetings and thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your recent stay with us, we sincerely apologize for the wait you encountered during breakfast and thank you so much for all of your kind compliments to our dedicated staff and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Pines Melaka in the near future.

Warm regards,
Johnathan Lazaroo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Kudos to all the staff at The Pines Melaka , especially housekeeping department !

first weekend of February 2018 we went there for relaxing . unfortunately i left my precious sneaker in the hotel room after check out - i realised after a week back at KL when i couldn’t found it . a quick phone call to them . my issue been conducted by Ms. Rozita . yes , my sneaker still there & well wrapped nicely .

so here , i would like to express my appreciation for the quality of service The Pines offered me - such a grateful moment & thank you for being aware of my stuff .

I will definitely recommend The Pines Melaka to my friends & family .

Thank you .

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jadey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnathan L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Jadey H,

Reading reviews like yours truly put a smile on our faces. Thank you so much for all of your kind compliments to our dedicated staff. They genuinely care about providing impeccable service to ensure our guest's complete satisfaction. All of us here at The Pines Melaka would love to welcome you back for another getaway!

Warm Regards,
Johnathan Lazaroo
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

We booked 3 rooms for a one night stay. The rooms were spacious and clean. The bathrooms were great. Nice view of malacca river cruise and malacca town. The breakfast were also great. What a nice experience we had here. Will definately come back!

Room Tip: Higher floor as the elevator works fine, plus great view.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohd k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnathan L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Mohd K,

Nothing pleases us more than knowing you had a great getaway. We strive to maintain the highest level of service and comfort for all our guests, and we appreciate your high praise. Thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Pines Melaka again.

Warm regards,
Johnathan Lazaroo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Room was spacious and clean. There was a sitting area with a sofa in the room. One aspect that I am not fond of is the room was not fully carpeted. There was only a small carpet in the sofa area. The tiles felt cold, especially during night time. Overall look of the room was plain and boring. Breakfast spread was delicious and tasty. Their chicken rendang tasted nice.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DayangHaslinda, Deputy General Manager at The Pines Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Marya M,
Thank you for your feedback in particular regarding the non carpeted room. The room was designed as such and we provide in-room slippers in the closet. Meanwhile, we are glad that you were impressed with the quality of our buffet breakfast. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews