We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Official Hotel Site
eDreams
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Amanda C
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Ideal location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Mar 2024
It's the best location for historical sites, places to eat, chill and shop, as all are within walking distance. I really like that the room is bright and ours looks out into a park. It's a small hotel and more suitable for couples/partners or solo travelers. Bed and pillows are comfortable. However, attention to cleanliness is required. It's not bad, but could be improved. The same goes for the fittings and decorations which are due for change.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: This is a hotel for you to crash into a comfy bed and have a lovely powerful shower after a long...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
RM 290
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 380
  • Agoda.com
    RM 275
  • Hotels.com
    RM 324
0.9 km from The Rucksack Caratel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 480
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 367
  • Agoda.com
    RM 346
  • Trip.com
    RM 362
0.8 km from The Rucksack Caratel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 264
  • Hotels.com
    RM 235
  • Vio.com
    RM 195
  • Priceline
    RM 232
0.8 km from The Rucksack Caratel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 700
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 700
  • Agoda.com
    RM 365
  • Official Hotel
    RM 700
1.0 km from The Rucksack Caratel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
RM 321
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 357
  • Agoda.com
    RM 261
  • Vio.com
    RM 266
10.3 km from The Rucksack Caratel
Free parking
Pool
Facade
Priceline
RM 184
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 184
  • Agoda.com
    RM 157
  • Expedia.com
    RM 184
0.4 km from The Rucksack Caratel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 211
  • Expedia.com
    RM 211
  • Agoda.com
    RM 193
  • Hotels.com
    RM 211
1.0 km from The Rucksack Caratel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
RM 342
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 563
  • Agoda.com
    RM 321
  • Expedia.com
    RM 454
1.1 km from The Rucksack Caratel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Melaka
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
293
208
39
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
293
208
39
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden view jonker street dutch square walking distance deluxe king swimming pool christ church toilet and shower limited parking nice place to stay hotel location is water pressure short stay caravan bolster blinds attractions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2024 via mobile

Great place to stay. Good location, close to Jonker Street but far enough away from the crowds. Friendly staff, comfortable bed and clean room. Pool area to relax in and cool down. Our room had a lovely view over the colourful gardens of the nearby park. Very chilled place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2024

On the website the write 4*, sorry but We Travel since Jan 2nd 2024 across Asia ( Thailand, Malaisia and Vietnam and It’s the first hotel that the rate is not appropriate.
0 service, room very small, no housekeeping, obligated to ask for changing bath towel and toilet paper. The pool was ok but they Didn’t have towel??? My rate would be at the max 2.5* . We rented différent hotel between 2 & 3* and thée Price was 30 to 50% lower and that was very clean, housekeeping every day, clean pool with towel . I don’t understand why ´agoda ´ give them * ??????

Room tip: Too expansive for that kind of hotel and they are not good ratez!!!
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Canadahockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2024

As a regular here, i always see improvements. Helpful staff, great cosy ambience and friendly guests too. I have always loved the swimming pool area as it is quiet and you can have privacy there. Always highly recommended! No other photos required, all in the website are suffice!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Voyager56946132884
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2023

Good location, convenient for bars and restaurants and yet quiet. We had a twin room on the first floor, beds comfortable but room small. Main issue is soundproofing, you can hear when someone upstairs is using the bathroom. But, as you're out for most of the day, it's not a big problem. We did feel it was a bit pricey for what we got though, maybe because it was during Xmas.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FarAway37718191858
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2023

Checked in on 2/12/23 with 1 standard twin room, the experience is totally bad.

1. Super limited parking lot provided
2. Dirty pillow, blankets & towel
3. Bedbugs found on the bed

Recommend? No
Price worthy? No

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Voyager68307994067
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews