We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel-Would Stay There Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Reviewed 18 December 2009

This cute little hotel is right in the historic distric. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location makes it ideal for walking tours or riding the free trolley around town. Take a trip back in time to the Skyview Lounge on the17th floor, don't know if it was meant to be retro or just hasn't been remodeled since the Johnson administration. Either way, it is very cool. The beds are super comfy too.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zippychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 529 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2009

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in downtown Mobile for 3 nights at the beginning of November. Was in town for a conference at the Renaissance Riverview, but got a much better rate at the Holiday Inn (through Hotwire) than at the conference hotel. The Holiday Inn was excellent, with friendly staff, a clean room with a good view, and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast at the restaurant downstairs was good, and served quickly & with a friendly attitude. This hotel was also an easy and safe walk from everything on Water St. and the nightlife on Dauphine.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

I booked this hotel for a night on Hotwire. We intended to stay in Mobile for the night and head out to the beaches in the area in the morning. The staff was very courteous and welcoming. They offered me a gift for being Priority Club even though I booked on Hotwire.

The room was very nice! The freshly cleaned linens of the newly renovated rooms was greatly appreciated as was the view of Mobile Bay. The hotel was packed because of some high school reunions, but it was quiet on the 10th floor for us. There is a lounge/bar on the top floor and restaurant on the ground floor. The hotel has free parking, rare for downtown locations in most cities. Free wireless internet is also included along with extended basic Comcast cable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We made this reservation before checking the reviews on TripAdvisor. Some of the reviews were flattering -- some, not so much -- so we were curious about our decision before we arrived. This is what we found: a very nice hotel in the downtown location where we wanted to stay. The parking problem mentioned by some of the posters is ubiquitous in the downtown area: none of the hotels has expansive parking available. Arriving in the late afternoon, however, we easily found a parking space. There is no bellman: this would be an issue at the Carlyle in New York or at the Regina in Paris. But considering that we were not paying $700 a night, hauling our own luggage was just fine at $119 a night. The room was clean and -- again -- perfect at $119 a night. Clean; excellent bed linens and mattresses; the expected compliments in the bathroom. We walked about the tourist area (Dauphin Street) but wound up having dinner at the hotel. It was fairly priced for what we had. Most importantly (very important) the service surpassed what we paid for. The bartender in the Sky Lounge overheard us mention that we wished we could just have dinner in the lounge rather than go downstairs or go out -- and the waitress from the restaurant downstairs appeared with menus. It was early for dinner -- but we ordered and asked it to be served in about an hour -- and it was served promptly -- and was delicious. The desk clerk, the bar tender, the waitress -- everyone we have encountered has been pleasant and helpful. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a downtown Mobile location and a clean and fresh hotel that is fairly priced and wonderfully staffed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timrevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Karaoke nights till midnight during weekdays on 17th floor. Imposible to sleep, even from two floors below. More noise coming from highway and train tracks. Don't stay here!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
Thank No_names2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.1 km away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 km away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 65 in Mobile
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Mobile
0.5 km away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
0.6 km away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Address: 301 Government St, Mobile, AL 36602-2608 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#14 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range: RM453 - RM1,028 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing