We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vomo Island Resort
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
378
48
15
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
48
15
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubbeachfront villalunch and dinnerdaily laundry servicesunset drinksmovie roomfishnon alcoholic drinksthree coursesprivate picnichelicopter transferwelcome songbeach sidefiji nightdaily snorkel tripsmonth old babysea plane
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Our travel agent suggested Vomo Island. We usually stay at Four Season Resorts because of their quality and our 10 year-old loves their Kids Club.
Vomo was different from our norm, but we decided to go for it.
When we arrived at Vomo, we were welcomed from the moment we departed our seaplane. We were greeted with a hearty " Welcome Home!" Which was very comforting. The staff gathered around and sang the traditional greeting song that ended with "Bula!"
Our Villa was was very accommodating with plenty of room and closet space. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was complete with oversized tub, separate walk-in shower, and all the necessary accompaniments.
The restaurant turned out to be very different. The head chef has been able to put together a menu that changes daily. If your a foodie, you'll enjoy all of the flavors and fusions that have been created. There is also a basic menu that will satisfy the everyday palette.
The bar has all the comforts of home and fresh coconuts are served to order.
"Ocean Play" is the resorts aquatic center that will take care of all of your ocean desires from paddle boarding to SCUBA certification courses. The dive masters are awesome. Our 10-year old daughter completed her PADI scuba certification at VOMO and they were great with her.
My wife and I had some incredible dives including a Bull Shark dive at a neighboring island.
Vomo's daily complimentary boat snorkeling trips are better than many scuba dives I've been on, and shouldn't be missed if you go to Vomo.
Vomo also has a Kids Club that was second to none. They have a large indoor area, as well as outdoor play areas, and very fun daily schedules to satisfy the most finicky child. The staff was very friendly, caring, and attentive to children of all ages.
Take advantage of this beautiful island and its sandy beaches with stunning sunrises an sunsets on all sides of the island.
The staff has limitless smiles and their true loving nature shines through and gives a special feel to this island.
There are also numerous off-island excursions that can be scheduled if you desire.
I would highly recommend visiting Vomo!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank DC90292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Bula DC90292!
We are so happy to read that VOMO will be on your highly recommended list.
Vinaka from the Vomo family and we hope we can welcome you home again for more diving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

High quality accommodation, good quick service (occasionally lacking drinks knowledge), good food changed daily, but is quite Asian influenced, so choice sometimes restricted. All the staff try hard to please & are friendly. The beach is amazing with plenty of loungers, hammocks & privacy, island a good size with plenty of water sports to do, saved by beaches on two sides, so trade winds can be avoided. Gardens could do with a bit of weeding, but Vomo could still be recovering from the cyclone 18 months ago. The generator noise is there in the background on quiet, low wind days.

Suitable for both couples and families with good separation in most areas.

Although expensive, all meals are included and it does feel that you do get what you should for the money. The ammenities are clean and excellent, linen is good.

Reservations could do with better attention to detail. A mistake with helicopter bookings could have been avoided with the type of confirmation email showing all services booked that is quite common with many other hotels.

Recommend beachside villas. All have views, great access to beach & privacy. Love the laid back almost secluded luxury Bach feel. All that's needed to lift the property to 5 points is a bit more shelter from the prevailing winds, a bit more couple to family separation at meals, and attention to booking detail. Will probably come back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Glynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Bula Glynn T
Thanks for your feedback and we are glad to know that for the most part, we met your expectations. We take on board your comments re cuisine and drinks and have discussed with Indulge F&B team.
In the tropics, the gardens grow before your eyes but we have increased our landscaping and grounds team to make improvements in this area.
We apologise for the helicopter reservation miscommunication and have asked our Res team to reconfirm in full in future.
vinaka from the Vomo family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Vomo Notes
Written by overworked and discerning travellers/parents of 8yr old, 6 yr old, and 1.5 year old from Sydney on holiday to Vomo early August 2017 - looking for maximum R&R.

Arrival via Heli is excellent. Its logistically easy and efficient and its what would bring us back every year in the winter bc it makes an easy getaway from Sydney. VA flight get us to Vomo by abt 4pm which is between lunch and dinner service so a welcome platter of nibblies would have been much appreciated as meals are offered in a structured timetable and we were hungry when we got in! They offer a nice bottle of chilled white wine but an accompaniment of their cheese platter and kids crudite would have been perfect for our family (this would be my special request for our next visit).

Resort Facilities
Main entry reception area is small and understated. We appreciated the welcome and departure fijian serenade. Style of resort is understated which we liked. The tennis court and mini golf were good but the gym needs a re-vamp with fresh equipment and bigger space.
Beach surrounds are really pretty but can be a bit rocky and corally so not the easiest or softest to walk on. Reception area (women's) bathroom needs better ventilation, it smells like very strong moth balls, and generally very tight and not pleasant to be in - an upgrade would be one of my main recommendations.
Villas
Beachside Villas were good overall and very comfortable. I liked the curtain partition and block out curtains. Bathroom worked well except the floor tiles were really slippery when wet. I would have liked better ventilation in the bathroom for both toilet and humidity. I prefer the layout of the beachfront villas over the beachfront retreats. Our villa 13/14 was very convenient to main area and would suit us fine for the next few years. The newer residence villas were really nice, Palm being very opulent. I would choose The Beachhouse over The Residence or The Royal. Apparently they are planning to build two bedroom residences on the other side though the walk from the residences would be far enough for us.
There is daily wash and fold service which we appreciated travelling with young children but note it is a mixed bag wash so be careful what you have them wash (ie dont include reds and whites bc the whites will come back pink!).
The linens are of fine quality in their heyday however they could do with a general refresh of all the resort linens (bath towels, bed sheets, pool towels, and beach towels) as they are a bit on the shabby side, some very threadbare and/or sun bleached.
Wifi is free and available on the island. Though having to obtain and reinstall a new complicated password every day was annoying. Surely one login per stay would be suffice.

Pool
Only one main boring rectangular pool at the center of the resort by restaurant while adequate, it would have beeen fabulous to have an adults only pool, as well as a kids pool with slides etc

Restaurants
Rocks bar has full kitchen but was not open during out stay early august. Rocks has a beautiful view of Vomo Lai lai and lovely atmosphere.
Poolside restaurant for all three main meals. Food was really good. We really loved the kids crudite platter. Menu for breakfast same every day. Lunch and dinner changed daily. 4 options for starters and mains. Really nice dessert selection for dinner. We also loved the cheese platter. Fine dining three meals a day plus happy hour snacks for a week long vacation added a few kilos!

Spa
Fine but basic. Massages all seemed the same from their signature to deep tissue.

Kids Club
Great facilities for kids aged 1 to primary school aged. We used it daily.

Staff
Very friendly and family oriented. Most staff were excellent. Very nice to kids / babies - know all their names by end of week
Alena was our nanny for the week and she was great with bassy as well as the girls. We would ask for her again on our next trip. Other stand out staff: Semi, Ace, Bogi, Oscar and Mela from restaurant. Moses the driver. Tomani from Ocean play.

Weekly Schedule:
Sunset adults only drinks at Rocks bar every night except Thursday. Happy hour was our fav part of the day. A la carte drinks comes with substantial nibblies which we enjoyed given the structured meals.
Lovo on Thursdays is Fijian BBQ party. Buffet style. Best polynesian bbq we ever had. Show was just OK but seemed authentic with Kava (tea) ceremony.
Snorkeling excursion daily at 11am was great - reefs and fish were really nice.
Option for private lunch picnic to Vomo Lai lai was beautiful though very pricey for what you get. But having the little island to ourselves with a lovely picnic was fabulous. We had the seafood spread and chicken wrap. The seafood was very rubbery and I would not order it again. But the chicken wrap was really nice. I recommend alotting a minimum of 3 hours to make the most of using the island privately. We had 2 and it felt a bit short.

Overall, we loved Vomo. Its really nice and the quality of service accom and food is definitely 5 star. We liked its understated nature and the high ratio of staff to guests, not to mention you won't encounter bogans. The staff are lovely and the convenience and good food and kid friendliness is what will bring us back for years to come until our youngest can handle longer overseas flights!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank nk248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Bula nk248!
Wow what a detailed review. Vinaka for all the feedback. We read all these reviews and we take all constructive comments very seriously and with actions where appropriate.
We do look forward to welcoming you back again.
Regards,
The Vomo family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

No wifi, no mobile coverage and no newspapers....... paradise in the modern age. I love this place and it's people. Though If you want these things they are available to you. I just wanted Complete Isolation from the world at large.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank vonRothschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Bula!
We like to say that VOMO is everything the world isn't anymore.
Our little piece of paradise is certainly the perfect place to step off the planet for a short while and enjoy time.
We do have very good wifi and most of our guests use it daily, but we are glad you chose to spend some time disconnected to the outside world and we hope, that in turn, connected you back to where you needed to be - relaxed, refreshed and recharged.
Come back any time for some time out.
Vinaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Last week we stayed in Vomo for one week and absolutely loved every aspect of it.

We were staying at the "Beachhouse", which I personally think is the most beautiful villa in Vomo. While the normal Beach Villas are absolutely great too, it was the best option for us as a family of 4 with two older children to have three bedrooms and still be able to spend so much time together. The villa itself had modern interior and was perfectly build for a big family.

The Restaurant at Vomo is very nicely furnifured and offers protection from the winds, while still sitting outside. At this moment it is the only restaurant at Vomo, but another one (Rocks) will be opening soon. Breakfast is buffet-style plus a big menu, and the best thing: all meals are inclusive! Lunch and Dinner menu changes every day, so you really never get bored.

Activities don't come too short at such a laid-back and relaxing hotel, since there is plenty of things to do. For example hiking Mount Vomo for sunrise is a must, there is a gym, tennis courts, spa, golf course and watersports center. We especially enjoyed going diving, our dive master Vili (?) was very caring. The only thing we were a bit concerned about is that he was constantly touching and harassing marine-life, which I personally can't stand.

The reason why our enitre stay run so smoothly is because of our wonderful butler Semi. He was with us from the morning, where he set up the pool area, accompanied us to all meals to serve us and always made sure we were feeling well. He is definitely a very good butler and additionally a super fun and loving guy to have around.

We love to travel and have seen a lot of resorts similar to Vomo. Generally we are not easy to please, due to very high standards, but we can say with certainty that Vomo has made it to our top 3 destinations. The Fijian culture with their extremely lovely people plus this perfect hotel has made us want to come back to Fiji as soon as possible.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Bula Victoria B
We were delighted to read how and your family enjoyed your stay at Beachouse @ Vomo. It is certainly a firm favorite of the lucky few who have so far stayed in this beautiful residence.

Last night we re-opened the Rocks Bar for dining and it was an outstanding success, so we hope you will all return to sample the very different menu and vibe on offer, including tandoor oven delights - the lamb was spectacular, robata grill and chilli crab.

We have mentioned your feedback regarding touching the marine life, to our Ocean Play team and thank you for your input in that regard.

Semi and the VOMO family look forward to welcoming you back to Beachouse again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews