We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in paradise”
Review of Viwa Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viwa Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Yasawa Islands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Friendly, very welcoming and relaxing resort. Staff wonderful. We enjoyed the food, the water sport activities and the happy hour cocktails. With only 11 bures on the island there is never any pressure on facilities and one can be as private or convivial as you want. A great FIji experience.

Room Tip: All excellent
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank stephiem83p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roymhalliday, Owner at Viwa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Bula Steph,

Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review of Viwa Island Resort and we are very happy to hear that you had a great time here. It certainly is a place that you can chill out and relax with a mixture of activities and just generally enjoying that well earned down time.

Hopefully we will get the chance to see you back at the resort in the not too distant future.

Vinaka.

Roy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Viwa Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017

We had a wonderful week at this truly exceptional resort. There were many things that were really impressive but it was the personal touches and friendliness of management and staff that really made it unforgettable. I think this is possible due to the small number of bures and the lovely main bure where everyone got together for dining and socialising and after dinner entertainment. The bure was beautiful and we loved the semi-outdoor bathroom. Every bure had it's own hammock and beach umbrella and sun loungers. The beach was picturesque and garden plantings really pretty. The dining was sensational. The service was outstanding and the quality and presentation of food was superb. The staff were so versatile, one minute they were all working and the next they all came together to sing! I loved the chef's beautiful voice!! We visited two of the local villages and this was really interesting. They made us very welcome. We loved arriving and departing by sea-plane.This was a really great place to come and be pampered and to totally relax. Thanks Viwa, we will visit again.

Room Tip: All fantastic. All on the beach front.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nadine740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roymhalliday, Owner at Viwa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Bula Nadine,

Thanks so much for taking time to respond on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us here at Viwa Island Resort. It's always great to get feedback from guests especially when the feedback is so positive. The Fijian staff are the warmest and most friendly we have seen in the world and we as Western people learn from them every day to be humble and sharing and it's a real lesson in life for us as owners. We are lucky to blessed with amazing surroundings as well that helps complement the whole stay. Along with great staff in the kitchen that meticulously take pride in the meals that they prepare and are presented to our guests in the the restaurant. As you rightly highlighted as well the Fijians are all blessed with amazing singing voices that sound like they have come from angels.

We hope that you get he chance to come back and see us again at Viwa Island Resort which I hope you now look on as your second home.

Vinaka.

Roy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

WOW what a fabulous holiday destination!
flew in by sea plane which was fabulous in itself, we got to view a lot of the islands and reefs from the air. I am not a good flyer but I felt completely safe and actually enjoyed it.

We were greeted on the beach with a "welcome home" from the staff and at home we certainly felt. A very warm and friendly place. Roy and Louise go out of their way to make you feel welcome and make your holiday special. The staff are absolutely delightful and certainly add an extra special dimension to the island.
You can relax or be as active as you like on this island, activities from morning to night. The beach is gorgeous and the water so clear and blue.
I could not fault this place and can honestly say one of the best holidays I have had.
Only 11 Bures right on the beach with your own hammock and recliners.No fighting for a deck chair by the pool here. The Bures are very spacious, not that we spent much time in there. Lovely veranda for us to sit on at night and watch the sun set.
We took our two girls with us 16 and 18. We initially thought they may get a little bored.I could not have been more wrong! There were so many activities such as walks with guide, which were stunningly beautiful; Snorkeling and a Fijian cooking cooking lesson.We played Volleyball on the beach with the staff and other guests.
There were also social activities at night such as a Kava ceremony, I could go on and on.
We visited the two villages on the island which are traditional and a true Fijian cultural experience that you wont get at the bigger resorts.
We Scuba dived together as family and that was an amazing experience. We all felt very safe and comfortable with Roy, (owner and Scuba dive instructor).
Although the island suffered a major cyclone a couple of years ago which did affect the reefs they are coming aback in abundance, we were not disappointed. We saw beautiful coral, fish and even a Turtle-magic.
The rooms were very clean and attended to daily, with nice little touches such as Tropical flowers on your pillow, the beds were turned down at night.
The staff couldn't do enough for you, not that we wanted for anything. Lovely toiletries "Pure Fiji" which are beautiful.
Food lovely, good choices taking into consideration logistics of getting produce to the island, some of the produce is actually produced fresh on the island.
I also had quite a few massages which were so relaxing, (the girls were very professional and well trained). I found myself snoring half way through.
This is somewhere I will definitely return to.
Was very hard leaving e this place and the staff.
Thanks Roy, Louise and all of the lovely staff on the island, too many to name and I wouldn't like to miss one out.
Sara,Mark, Abbie and Hannah.
P.S. Thanks so much for 25 year wedding anniversary cake, that was a nice surprise and a nice touch.

Room Tip: only 11 Bures on the beach very private. your own recliners and hammock on the beach.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Sarhanab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roymhalliday, Owner at Viwa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Bula Sara, Mark, Abbie and Hannah,

Great to here from you and thanks so much for taking time time to write the novel of a review haha. It was wonderful to be able to look after your family here and they really contributed to what Viwa Island Resort is all about. The way that you all interacted with the staff and the villages along with the other guests is exactly what we are trying to achieve here at Viwa so thank you from the staff and the management here. I am so happy you got involved in so many activities and that the girls never got bored during their stay. It was also my great pleasure to get the chance to take you all out scuba diving and have the opportunity to showcase our amazing dive sites here at Viwa. We are truly blessed with amazing diving and it is also so exclusive with only us on the dive sites as well. It was also an honor to get the chance to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary with you as well - a very special time.

We look forward to your return visit to your 2nd home and your Viwa family. Until then I hope you all enjoy your time back home and start looking at your next trip to Viwa :-)

Vinaka.

Roy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Fantastic intimate resort, well suited to couples or small groups of friends. We enjoyed diving, kayaking, swimming, drinking and all of the entertainment put on by the resort including a Fijian night and kava ceremony. The natural beauty of this island is stunning. The staff and owners are amazing people, very friendly.

Couple of small points: the restaurant is very remote so some of the food is maybe not of the same quality that you would get in Denarau for example. Recommend the fish dishes. There was a bit of rubbish around the resort. The cleaning of the bures was a little inconsistent depending on the day. Also some of the bures are on a slightly different part of the beach to the others. But these were really minor things, didn't really detract from this amazing resort.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tpiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roymhalliday, Owner at Viwa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Bula

I hope you arrived home safe and sound and that the weather is being kind to you back in the UK. We really appreciate the time you have taken to write a review as we know you all lead busy lives. I am happy to hear that you really enjoyed your time here at Viwa Island Resort and it was great to go diving with you.

Unusually for us we had some rubbish wash up on our beach which is due to the king tides (high tides) and changed currents. We try to continually pick this up as soon as possible to keep our beaches in the immaculate condition they normally are. I am sorry to hear that the cleaning of the bure was inconsistent and I can only apologize for this and we will follow up with housekeeping.

We hope that you get the chance to come back and visit us here again at your 2nd home here at Viwa Island Resort.

Vinaka.

Roy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

After being overwhelmed by the array of resorts on offer in the Fiji Islands, we were led to Viwa because of the limited number of Bures and for us the lack of a kids club was exactly the break we needed.
From the moment we stepped on the sand all stress began to disappear.
Roy and Louise are incredible hosts and Akquila an amazing manager.
The staff were friendly and warm and nothing was ever too much trouble.
The Bures were perfect, sitting on the verandah with the gentle sounds of the ocean lapping at the shore, as much or as little as you wanted to do. Vata is just the best, as are all the staff, from the band to the bar to the grounds, massages, cleaners and cooks.
Food, delicious and never left hungry, great value on all fronts. We were incredibly lucky to make some great connections with other travelers from all parts of the world.
We truly felt like we were part of the family and loved seeing the villages and the local school.
we have so much of the world still to explore....but seriously, want to come back here.
The hardest part of the holiday was leaving.
Thankyou to all for an incredible stay. Keep doing exactly what you are doing.
Vanaka
Megan and Ian.

Room Tip: Loved our Bure number 4
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meganpickwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roymhalliday, Owner at Viwa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Hi Ian and Megan,

I hope you arrived home safe and sound and thanks for taking the time to write such a glowing review of Viwa Island Resort. It was our pleasure to host you here and I am very glad that you got the opportunity to experience all the resort and the villages have to offer. We are truly blessed to have such wonderful surroundings as well as the best staff ever.

I hope you get the chance to enjoy the rest of your holidays before returning back to work. But you will hopefully always have the memory of staying here at Viwa Island Resort and as you say there is a big world to explore out there but we would very much look forward to receiving you back here at our little slice of paradise and to your 2nd home.

Vinaka.

Roy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasawa Islands
27.4 km away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
736 reviews
32.9 km away
Naqalia Lodge
Naqalia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waya Lailai
193 reviews
0.0 km away
Gecko Lodge Fiji
Gecko Lodge Fiji
#7 of 12 in Savusavu
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Octopus Resort
Octopus Resort
#1 of 3 in Waya Island
1,286 reviews
28.2 km away
Mantaray Island Resort
32.7 km away
Barefoot Kuata Island
Barefoot Kuata Island
#1 of 1 in Kuata Island
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viwa Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viwa Island Resort

Address: Viwa Island | Viwa Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Yasawa Islands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Yasawa Islands
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Yasawa Islands
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yasawa Islands
Price Range: RM1,656 - RM2,326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Viwa Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate boutique resort for adults only with 11 deluxe beachfront bures set on a beautiful white sandy beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Viwa Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viwa Island Hotel Yasawa Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing