We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viwa Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Mantaray Island Resort(Nanuya Lailai Island)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Naqalia Lodge(Waya Lailai)
US$101
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$236
US$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Barefoot Kuata Island(Kuata Island)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Coralview Island Resort(Tavewa Island)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Paradise Cove Resort(Naukacuvu Island)
US$231
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$239/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Barefoot Manta Island(Drawaqa Island)
US$124
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nanuya Island Resort(Nanuya Lailai Island)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
187
12
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
12
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeep sea fishingother guestsfoot massageour honeymoonbasket weavingdaily activitieslocal villagevinaka vakalevuhand line fishingsea planenew ownersevery guestwhite sandscuba divingmain buildingouter reefwelcome song
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

After visiting Viwa in July 2016 we returned for 14 nights at the end of July 2017

Viwa is like nowhere else we have been it is naturally beautiful (even more beautiful than the pictures) with a white sandy beach and clear waters as well as wonderful snorkelling and diving where there is coral and an abundance of sea life (reef sharks, stingrays, turtles, many fish both small and large).

The owners and staff are all very friendly and genuinely happy to have you visit their island and they will do everything they can to ensure you have the best time during your stay they are always very quick to help with anything and do so with a huge smile.

The food is of high quality and is fresh, tasty, well presented and good value for money.

The Resort only has 11 bures and so is quite private and peaceful.

You can feel free to laze around in your private beach chairs or can enjoy the many free activities on offer and there is always entertainment after dinner.

We also again went to the picnic on a private beach and the staff had set it up beautifully with flowers and a big love heart also made of flowers on the beach, the effort that was made is incredible.

Thank you Viwa for our wedding anniversary celebration - Hubby asked for a cake and what we received was so much more than that. It was a surprise for us both when all of the staff came out singing and with the band playing and carrying a cake big enough to share with all of the other guests, dancing with sparklers, making a lovely speech, giving us both a flower lei and also getting us up to join in the dancing it was very touching and a memory we will not forget, we also captured it on video which we have shared with our family and friends and even they have commented that it is just on another level to anywhere else.

We could go on forever about all of the amazing staff, the stunning location & fun things to do in Viwa.

A special thanks to Roy, Louise & Sheung you do more than any other resort owners and we truly appreciate it.

See you next time.

Cam & Jess

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheung D, Owner at Viwa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Bula Jess and Cam, and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your recent stay with us. We loved that fact that you enjoyed your first visit to Viwa last year, and we loved even more that you came back and had another wonderful time with us. We're delighted you enjoyed your wedding anniversary celebration - you're very much part of our Viwa Family and we are glad you chose to celebrate your 4th Anniversary with us. See you next time Cam & Jess, and hope we can enjoy some amazing diving next time you're here Jess! Vinaka vaka levu and sending lots of love from Team Viwa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We stayed at Viwa Island Resort for seven days in mid-June 2017. We had a wonderful experience.

We travel a great deal and knew what we were looking for on our trip to Fiji. We wanted a smallish resort that wasn’t overly extravagant or touristy, but that was right on the ocean so we could walk right in to snorkel and swim. We also wanted some hiking and optional activities, including diving, so we could do our own thing and participate when and if we wanted to. I had thoroughly researched the resort beforehand and thought it matched most of our requirements. The fact that it was an adult resort was fine with us, but not a big factor.

I must say Viwa met our expectations and more. It had everything mentioned above. The “more” part involved several things. First, the owners, Roy and Louise, and Sheung
(two Scots and an Englishwoman), were on site for our whole week. They greeted us when we arrived and they asked us how things were going every day. They have done a great job of creating their vision of what a resort should be. Guests come first in all respects. Whatever you need, they are only too happy to provide. For example, I am a diver and decided I wanted to do a dive on a given day. No one else at the resort wanted to dive that day and it would have been reasonable for Roy (the main divemaster) to say “We need 2-3 divers to take out the boat. We would be happy to take you tomorrow when other guests are planning to dive.” Instead, Roy said “OK, let’s go.” I said “But its just me.” And Roy said “You’re our guest, you want to dive. The conditions are fine. We dive. And besides, I love to dive, so I am always ready to go.” We went and had a very good dive.

Second, the staff wexceededour expectations. They are all Fijians from the two villages on the island, or from nearby islands. Whereever we encountered Fijians, we found them to exceptionally friendly and welcoming and that was clearly true of the Viwa staff. They all seemed to be invested in the owners’ philosophy of treating guests like visitors in their homes. I am sure they must get tired of “tourists” sometimes, but they always seemed generally happy to be of help. In addition, the owners have invested a great deal in training their staff in the technical details of their duties. And that really shows.

Third, we are active travelers. While I can’t think of a lot of places better for a “lay on the beach and do nothing” vacation than Viwa Resort, we like to try new things, take advantage of opportunities, and learn about different cultures, nature, etc. If you want this kind of holiday, Viwa has a full schedule of different activities each day. This includes different hikes, a visit to a local village, basket-making, cooking class, hand line fishing, coral planting, volleyball, and a daily snorkel trip outside the resort’s lagoon. And most nights the staff entertain with native dancing and singing, a great intro to Fijian culture. And many of the performers are realllly good. On the nights they don’t, there is an organized evening event (trivia night, crab races, casino night—admittedly these were sometimes a little hokie, but some were fun). Bottom line---what’s nice is you can do as many, or as little, of these as you want—no pressure.

Fourth, all of the above combined to provide a chance to learn more about Fijian culture and society. In addition to a visit to the village and its school, one of the bar staff was having a 21st birthday party in the village and Roy asked if we would be interested in going. We said yes, Roy checked with the villagers, and several of us walked to the village for an authentic Fijian 21st birthday party. When we arrived, we tried to sit off to the side, but the birthday girl insisted we sit right next to her, which seemed like a place of honor. We quietly watched the whole proceedings, never feeling like we were interlopers. There was authentic Fiji dancing and singing and cava ceremonies that we knew were not being put on for the tourists, as it had all been planned before we were invited to attend. We felt very privileged to have been given this glimpse into everyday village life.

Fifth, the food was really excellent. It was fresh and you had several choices at breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You ate on an open air, thatch-covered patio overlooking the lagoon and the ocean.

Sixth, the bures (accommodations) were great. Open air, but private, bathroom and shower. Different and nifty.

Seventh, we very much enjoyed the mix of people who came and went during our seven-day stay. During that period there were several Australian and New Zealand couples, 2-3 Italian couples, a mother and two daughters from Kazakhstan (by way of NZ) who were very lovely, and two Chinese couples. We are from the US and it was great to meet generally interesting and active people.

You can travel to Viwa from the main Fiji island via high speed ocean ferry (it takes roughly 2 1/2 hours), followed by a 45 minute smaller boat trip (I’m told this can be rough). Or you can fly by seaplane. The seaplane is more expensive, but more direct and you avoid a long, sometimes, rocky boat trip. There are two air services you can use—Turtle and Pacific Air. Both generally get good reviews. We used one to get there and one to get back, and had a better experience with Turtle.

No resort/trip is ever perfect, so you may be wondering what the negatives of the experience were. Well, the only glitch was that the Pacific Air flight from Viwa to Nadi made three stops and took 1 hour 45 minutes, when we were expecting more like a 30-45 minute flight. But that was Pacific Air’s doing, not Viwa Resort’s. Other than that, nothing negative. We had a wonderful week at Viwa.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheung D, Owner at Viwa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Bula P & D, and thank you so much for taking the time to write such an epic and magnificent, detailed review of your recent stay with us! We are delighted you had a wonderful experience at Viwa and we are always glad to hear that we exceeded expectations. We are very fortunate to be blessed by nature with a beautiful white sandy beach and warm turqouise waters, but we are equally blessed with an amazing team at Viwa who will go out of their way to ensure you have a happy and memorable stay. We're glad you enjoyed the diving - we have some incredible dive sites around Viwa Island, and we believe it really is a joy and a privilege to be able to experience and share our remarkable underwater world with our guests. It was great that you immersed yourselves in the Fijian culture, and you enjoyed meeting our other guests. The interaction between guests often makes a holiday just that more special. I'm sorry that the Pacific Island Air flight from Viwa to Nadi took a long time. I know that some people enjoy a long scenic seaplane flight, but I can understand that if you were expecting a 30-minute flight back to Nadi then the additional stops were frustrating so apologies for that. Thank you again P & D for doing your research and for choosing Viwa Island Resort. We loved having you here, and we do hope you will come back and spend more time with your Fijian family in the near future. Vinaka vaka levu and best regards from all your friends at Viwa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Friendly, very welcoming and relaxing resort. Staff wonderful. We enjoyed the food, the water sport activities and the happy hour cocktails. With only 11 bures on the island there is never any pressure on facilities and one can be as private or convivial as you want. A great FIji experience.

Room Tip: All excellent
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank stephiem83p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roymhalliday, Owner at Viwa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Bula Steph,

Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review of Viwa Island Resort and we are very happy to hear that you had a great time here. It certainly is a place that you can chill out and relax with a mixture of activities and just generally enjoying that well earned down time.

Hopefully we will get the chance to see you back at the resort in the not too distant future.

Vinaka.

Roy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We had a wonderful week at this truly exceptional resort. There were many things that were really impressive but it was the personal touches and friendliness of management and staff that really made it unforgettable. I think this is possible due to the small number of bures and the lovely main bure where everyone got together for dining and socialising and after dinner entertainment. The bure was beautiful and we loved the semi-outdoor bathroom. Every bure had it's own hammock and beach umbrella and sun loungers. The beach was picturesque and garden plantings really pretty. The dining was sensational. The service was outstanding and the quality and presentation of food was superb. The staff were so versatile, one minute they were all working and the next they all came together to sing! I loved the chef's beautiful voice!! We visited two of the local villages and this was really interesting. They made us very welcome. We loved arriving and departing by sea-plane.This was a really great place to come and be pampered and to totally relax. Thanks Viwa, we will visit again.

Room Tip: All fantastic. All on the beach front.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nadine740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roymhalliday, Owner at Viwa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Bula Nadine,

Thanks so much for taking time to respond on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us here at Viwa Island Resort. It's always great to get feedback from guests especially when the feedback is so positive. The Fijian staff are the warmest and most friendly we have seen in the world and we as Western people learn from them every day to be humble and sharing and it's a real lesson in life for us as owners. We are lucky to blessed with amazing surroundings as well that helps complement the whole stay. Along with great staff in the kitchen that meticulously take pride in the meals that they prepare and are presented to our guests in the the restaurant. As you rightly highlighted as well the Fijians are all blessed with amazing singing voices that sound like they have come from angels.

We hope that you get he chance to come back and see us again at Viwa Island Resort which I hope you now look on as your second home.

Vinaka.

Roy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

WOW what a fabulous holiday destination!
flew in by sea plane which was fabulous in itself, we got to view a lot of the islands and reefs from the air. I am not a good flyer but I felt completely safe and actually enjoyed it.

We were greeted on the beach with a "welcome home" from the staff and at home we certainly felt. A very warm and friendly place. Roy and Louise go out of their way to make you feel welcome and make your holiday special. The staff are absolutely delightful and certainly add an extra special dimension to the island.
You can relax or be as active as you like on this island, activities from morning to night. The beach is gorgeous and the water so clear and blue.
I could not fault this place and can honestly say one of the best holidays I have had.
Only 11 Bures right on the beach with your own hammock and recliners.No fighting for a deck chair by the pool here. The Bures are very spacious, not that we spent much time in there. Lovely veranda for us to sit on at night and watch the sun set.
We took our two girls with us 16 and 18. We initially thought they may get a little bored.I could not have been more wrong! There were so many activities such as walks with guide, which were stunningly beautiful; Snorkeling and a Fijian cooking cooking lesson.We played Volleyball on the beach with the staff and other guests.
There were also social activities at night such as a Kava ceremony, I could go on and on.
We visited the two villages on the island which are traditional and a true Fijian cultural experience that you wont get at the bigger resorts.
We Scuba dived together as family and that was an amazing experience. We all felt very safe and comfortable with Roy, (owner and Scuba dive instructor).
Although the island suffered a major cyclone a couple of years ago which did affect the reefs they are coming aback in abundance, we were not disappointed. We saw beautiful coral, fish and even a Turtle-magic.
The rooms were very clean and attended to daily, with nice little touches such as Tropical flowers on your pillow, the beds were turned down at night.
The staff couldn't do enough for you, not that we wanted for anything. Lovely toiletries "Pure Fiji" which are beautiful.
Food lovely, good choices taking into consideration logistics of getting produce to the island, some of the produce is actually produced fresh on the island.
I also had quite a few massages which were so relaxing, (the girls were very professional and well trained). I found myself snoring half way through.
This is somewhere I will definitely return to.
Was very hard leaving e this place and the staff.
Thanks Roy, Louise and all of the lovely staff on the island, too many to name and I wouldn't like to miss one out.
Sara,Mark, Abbie and Hannah.
P.S. Thanks so much for 25 year wedding anniversary cake, that was a nice surprise and a nice touch.

Room Tip: only 11 Bures on the beach very private. your own recliners and hammock on the beach.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Sarhanab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roymhalliday, Owner at Viwa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Bula Sara, Mark, Abbie and Hannah,

Great to here from you and thanks so much for taking time time to write the novel of a review haha. It was wonderful to be able to look after your family here and they really contributed to what Viwa Island Resort is all about. The way that you all interacted with the staff and the villages along with the other guests is exactly what we are trying to achieve here at Viwa so thank you from the staff and the management here. I am so happy you got involved in so many activities and that the girls never got bored during their stay. It was also my great pleasure to get the chance to take you all out scuba diving and have the opportunity to showcase our amazing dive sites here at Viwa. We are truly blessed with amazing diving and it is also so exclusive with only us on the dive sites as well. It was also an honor to get the chance to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary with you as well - a very special time.

We look forward to your return visit to your 2nd home and your Viwa family. Until then I hope you all enjoy your time back home and start looking at your next trip to Viwa :-)

Vinaka.

Roy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews