We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$125
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$89
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$123
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$181
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$114
US$103
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$117
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$118
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$148
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$95
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
33
67
20
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
67
20
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed at the hostel for 3 nights. Room and toilet .is clean and the location is great
On our last day we thought of having breakfast there instead of eating at McDonald or KFC
We asked a female staff (10 minutes to 8am) but she wasn't too interested to answer some of the questions we asked her. At 7.55 We ask her again if she could just take our order and prepare our breakfast after 8. The answer was " order after 8" . And she went back to eat her buns and talk to her male colleague. We finally went out to buy at KFC.
We don't think that we will be going to that hostel again as there are many more like Mingtown around. The only reason we went there in the first place is the warm and courteous staff we encounter in the Mingtown hostel in Hangzhou the last time we went there

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness centre . Unable to click off
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddielim47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This hostel's location is fantastic and the lobby was nice today. However, the 4 bedroom dorm we stayed in was very dirty. The mattresses were dirty and one of them smelled horrible and there was dust and black stuff hanging from the ceiling which isn't nice when sleeping on the top bunk. Didn't appreciate having to arrange all the bed coverings ourselves either nor the cheeky sign in the lobby which said you're not allowed to eat food and drink from outside in English but said 'If you want to eat or drink things from outside do it secretly' in Chinese underneath it. There are plenty of other hostels around Shanghai which are much better, including Blue Mountain just around the corner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lingvolingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We never expected this to be so friendly, nor so close to everything we wanted. Proximity to the underground was brilliant and made exploring easy as we could break up our days exploration into day and night instead of having to be out all day and evening. Which is perfect for dressing up to take in the fashionable bars of Shanghai! The bathroom drains were a bit smelly - we were in a lovely twin room, which means the drains dry by day - just run water through them and the smell disappears. I learnt that in Beijing! The room was bright and airy, though the beds were hard, we slept very well. There was no audible noise despite being in the city centre. We will return again - though with backpacks rather than suitcases as there is no lift!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulubelle_eireannach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I stayed at the mingtown hiker hostel multiple times during my stay in China. Before getting to know this hostel i tried out some others (captain, blue mountain) but this one was definitely the best! Good rooms, I tried privates (lots of couples of different ages) and shared (lots of backpackers), both really nice. Really good atmosphere in the dorms but also in the area downstairs. I loved the bar area with the sofa's, its really nice to meet people there. They serve food and drinks and have wifi. The little balcony on the front side of the building is nice to enjoy the evening hours. Nanjing Road, Bund and the metro are all within walking distance (5-10min). Personnel is helpful and speak english. I can really recommend this hostel!

Room Tip: Dorms on the top floor are less noisy when there are noisy backpackers around and the private rooms on the side of the street (quiet street, dont worry) are really beautiful.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neeltje88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed at more mingtown hostels. They seem to have a formula where they offer decent rooms and a good cafe for affordable prices. The atmosphere is relaxed. But maybe most important of all, the shared fascilities are clean. At the bar you get 3 big Tsingtoa's for 20 yuan.

The have "special rooms" which are probably the most value for money. Especialy with an HI card.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jasper F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews