We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shanghaied to Shanghai. Mayo.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
Ranked #37 of 394 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Reviewed 27 June 2013

In the days of Shanghai being the most dreaded of sailor ports sailors were recruited by getting them passed out drunk. They awakened to a working gig on a ship bound for Shanghai. From Western China I booked a flight from Shanghai back to Kunming and got on a sleeper train to Shanghai, thinking this trip was rough and the only way I would come back is if I hadn't seen Shanghai. Woke up in Shanghai to discover the return flight was cancelled because C-Trip wanted all kinds of passport/visa info within 24 hours that there was no way of getting to them while on a train. Arrived and left 2 days early, but that was mostly because I had to take a hardseat train back to Kunming. The Bund is tourist ridden, bride photo territory. Asked hostel staff and roommate if there was a light show tunnel on the Bund. Yes but hard to describe exactly where. Asked a cop on the Bund beat. "Mayo." No such thing. Not allowed. The light tunnel is a light show under the river in a tram type car but you know that. It is one of the big attractions. Plus I was used to seeing other Westerners, one a day. Suddenly the place is swarming with them and forget a quick info exchange. Food mall has good vegetable steamed buns. Lots of fruit stands. Lit up heel wheels can be had for 20 yen. Hostel was fine. Clean showers, comfortable upper bunk bed, crowded room, easy location, watched the staff quickly get a couple with a sick baby a taxi to a hospital, good street food, street toys, but do not imagine you have to see Shanghai, 2 days were plenty. China was smart to herd the masses of crazy, lost tourists into one neighborhood.

Room Tip: You are here because it is cheap and the location is easy. Accept it for what it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mothnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed at the hostel for 3 nights. Room and toilet .is clean and the location is great
On our last day we thought of having breakfast there instead of eating at McDonald or KFC
We asked a female staff (10 minutes to 8am) but she wasn't too interested to answer some of the questions we asked her. At 7.55 We ask her again if she could just take our order and prepare our breakfast after 8. The answer was " order after 8" . And she went back to eat her buns and talk to her male colleague. We finally went out to buy at KFC.
We don't think that we will be going to that hostel again as there are many more like Mingtown around. The only reason we went there in the first place is the warm and courteous staff we encounter in the Mingtown hostel in Hangzhou the last time we went there

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness centre . Unable to click off
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddielim47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This hostel's location is fantastic and the lobby was nice today. However, the 4 bedroom dorm we stayed in was very dirty. The mattresses were dirty and one of them smelled horrible and there was dust and black stuff hanging from the ceiling which isn't nice when sleeping on the top bunk. Didn't appreciate having to arrange all the bed coverings ourselves either nor the cheeky sign in the lobby which said you're not allowed to eat food and drink from outside in English but said 'If you want to eat or drink things from outside do it secretly' in Chinese underneath it. There are plenty of other hostels around Shanghai which are much better, including Blue Mountain just around the corner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lingvolingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We never expected this to be so friendly, nor so close to everything we wanted. Proximity to the underground was brilliant and made exploring easy as we could break up our days exploration into day and night instead of having to be out all day and evening. Which is perfect for dressing up to take in the fashionable bars of Shanghai! The bathroom drains were a bit smelly - we were in a lovely twin room, which means the drains dry by day - just run water through them and the smell disappears. I learnt that in Beijing! The room was bright and airy, though the beds were hard, we slept very well. There was no audible noise despite being in the city centre. We will return again - though with backpacks rather than suitcases as there is no lift!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulubelle_eireannach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I stayed at the mingtown hiker hostel multiple times during my stay in China. Before getting to know this hostel i tried out some others (captain, blue mountain) but this one was definitely the best! Good rooms, I tried privates (lots of couples of different ages) and shared (lots of backpackers), both really nice. Really good atmosphere in the dorms but also in the area downstairs. I loved the bar area with the sofa's, its really nice to meet people there. They serve food and drinks and have wifi. The little balcony on the front side of the building is nice to enjoy the evening hours. Nanjing Road, Bund and the metro are all within walking distance (5-10min). Personnel is helpful and speak english. I can really recommend this hostel!

Room Tip: Dorms on the top floor are less noisy when there are noisy backpackers around and the private rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neeltje88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,205 in Shanghai
2,013 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#37 of 5,205 in Shanghai
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel

Address: No.450 Middle Jiangxi Road, Shanghai 200002, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 394 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing