We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pentahotel Shanghai
Ranked #62 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2017

It is a convenient travel hotel with reasonably good breakfast. If you like Salsa dancing it is there every weekend. Koreans and Expats would be found enjoying dancing. The lobby is small but relatively well designed. Have a drink there in the evening at the lobby bar was a treat. Comfort Music is available.

Room Tip: Ask higher floors to avoid noise at lobby during weekend
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndrewM32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thank you for your positive comments about pentahotel Shanghai. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your nice remarks about our hotel, breakfast and vibrant pentalounge. We look forward to have you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
There are newer reviews for Pentahotel Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Just stayed at the Pentahotel Shanghai for 3 nights. The standard rooms are very small and the bathrooms are tiny. I mean like straddle the toilet to shut the door tiny. This was very inconvenient with two of us trying to get ready in the morning.

The room itself was nice and clean but very sparse, no drawers or enclosed closet. Though it had a nice counter with a chair to give you a little area to store stuff under.

The Pentalounge was very nice with a fun youthful atmosphere. Great food, drinks, and a very western friendly atmosphere. Service was good, most of the front desk and lounge staff spoke fluent English which was helpful.

The Pentalounge was definitely the highlight. We were just at the end of long two week trip so we didn't have much time or energy to enjoy the lounge at night but they had some pretty good drink specials and happy hour times that looked like fun.

Definitely a western hipster type place. Our friend who stayed at the hotel as well joked she was too old to stay here, she's in her 50s.

I would stay again at the hotel but would want the slightly larger room type next time and definitely would try to take advantage of the Pentalounge in the evening.

The property adjoins the New World Hotel Shanghai which is a very nice luxury hotel, for the grownups I think. They have shared amenities so a Pentahotel guest you can use the pool and other amenities at the New World Hotel.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MrBrandonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thank you for your extensive and constructive comments about pentahotel Shanghai. I am very happy you enjoyed our pentalounge and have to assure you that we welcome guests of all ages! For your next visit we recommended one of our pentaplus rooms that are bigger and have a much larger bathroom with a separate shower stall. I thank you for sharing your detailed experience with us and look forward to have you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

The Penta team are always very friendly and welcoming and recognise you are a regular in Shanghai.
The food in the bar is always good and the choice is wide. A really friendly hotel.
Thanks Penta team for making me feel at home.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E5623QWsuzanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you for your comments about pentahotel Shanghai. I am very happy to hear you enjoy your frequents stays with us. Thanks for your nice remarks about our food quality and variety at pentalounge and dedicated team of Associates. We look forward to have you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We had a short team retreat during a weekend break for a client project. We were from mourned the world and never been to Shanghai before. The Penta Hotel was close to a good Metro stop, easy area to find things to do (CrossFit, Starbucks, biking). The staff was helpful during the breakfast crush. A bit of street noise at night but nothing bad and the price was the best we found for the level of amenities.

Room Tip: we got a 14th floor suite and had a great view
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DmacAmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you for your positive comments about pentahotel Shanghai. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your first stay in our great city and appreciate your nice remarks about our hotel and fantastic location with metro lines 2, 3 and 4 right on our doorstep. Thanks also for your remarks about our enthusiastic team of Associates and value for money product. We look forward to have you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

I have stayed at Pentahotel Shanghai twice now and the reason for returning there has been the hotel itself and its great location. I really like this hotel and I think it offers good value for money when you can catch one of the discounted room prices. However, the customer service at the front desk is always very poor. It takes ages to check in or to check out and the front desk staff is just not friendly and I always feel like the hotel has recruited totally wrong people in the customer facing positions. I think the hotel would do much better if they paid more attention to choosing the staff in these key positions that give the first impression of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HeyD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you for your constructive comments about pentahotel Shanghai. I am happy to hear you like our hotel, location and value for money product. At the same time I am very sorry to hear that you did not have a good customer service experience at our front desk and have already discussed the issue with our Operations Manager to ensure improvement. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to have you back very soon to show that we have taken your comments to heart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#12 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,551 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#59 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,731 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#89 of 5,112 in Shanghai
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentahotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentahotel Shanghai

Address: No.1525 Dingxi Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200050, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: RM247 - RM620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pentahotel Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city’s commercial hub of Changning District, the hotel is directly opposite to Zhongshan Park with direct access to both the metro and light rail stations; which means getting around the town is quick, easy and hassle-free. Conveniently close to bustling Nanjing Road, Huaihai Road and the up-market business and entertainment area of Xintiandi, pentahotel Shanghai is also near to Jing'an Temple, the Jade Buddha Temple and ancient Yuyuan Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pentahotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing