We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Minutes from West Nianjing Shopping, Metro & Dagu Road Eateries”
Review of Zhongbang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zhongbang Hotel
Ranked #416 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 1 June 2014

To begin with i must mention that Shanghai is a huge city & it is very important for a visitor to determine beforehand which area he needs to stay to best suit their purpose.

It was our last day in Shanghai & thus reserved for shopping around West Nanjing Metro Stn which has stores like H&M, Uniqlo,M&S, Isetan & also Plaza 66 which houses all luxury brand etc. Even the fake brands shopping area on West Nianjing Rd is close by & the closeby metro stn is on Line 2 which connects to both the airports as well as East Nianjing, the Bund & Hangpu area & Maglev & important sightseeing.

Also just behind the hotel is Dagu Road(Lu) which has many eateries, bars & massage places including 2 Indian restaurants - Masala Art & Masal Desi & are very welcome for those from India & on the lookout for Indian Food.

The hotel itself was Good with nice rooms & bathrooms and well worth the reasonable price we paid of approx 450 RMB for the room.

The beds were very comfortable & the TV had HBO channel.

Breakfast was not a part of our deal so i cannot comment.

The only CON is that right next to the Hotel construction is going on which can be a bit upsetting to some.

Room Tip: Better view from Higher Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linus_110048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is very nice. The room is huge, the bed is big and the bathroom too. One thing I didnt like was that the lighting of the room in general is dim. As for the location, It is 10 minutes walk at least from the shopping streets. The staff was nice and the breakfast good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dayana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My hotel room lock seemed kind of damaged and the room was awfully cold. The hotel customer service and concierge had an air of reluctance and avoidance. You have to be really forceful to get a small request across to them. Furthermore, they seemed prejudiced against their own kind - Chinese race from abroad.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minniekiyomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel is quite good.The rooms are very large, beds are king size and comfortable, . Location is relatively central ( 10 minutes to Nanjing metro station), although many construction sites nearby alters the aspect of the neighborhood. Not very good breakfast , although quite expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicu_moraru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, my 5th/6th stay over the last 5 years. Under new ownership and you can certainly tell... The staff are relatively unengaging and not particularly friendly. Food quality has slipped too, I was always able to rely on the decent quality breakfast here but the staff are very slow, dont offer coffee or tea refils unless asked (in my experience), the food was generally luke warm from the "hot buffet". The eggs chef, making fried eggs, scrambled eggs or omlettes was the best thing about breakfast. The fruit was not ripe, in my experience and the pastries had the feeling of being taken straight from a packet and put on a plate, not wamred through to freshen them up at all and as a consequence they had that cardboard feeling about them so only tried those once, never again.
I was concerned about the sleep quality I was going to get here given a few of the reviews I've read before travelling but fortunately, I was relatively unaffected by noise and the business room gives the sleeping quarters where you can close sliding doors and completely encapsulate yourself in peace so that was good. There used to be BBC world on the TV system but this has now gone and in fact, the choice of any English language programs on their TV system is a real let down for a foreign traveller. Given they're appealing mainly to foreign business people, you'd think that they'd make sure there was a decent selection of foreign channels available. That would definitely make me alot happier, for sure.
Cleanliness at the hotel seems to have slipped a little now compared with the past and I did feel disappointed by that while there.
I think the only other thing that is not clear, is the fact that the hotel has changed hands and there is a name, ACME, which is outside the hotel and the cigarette trays outside the lifts all have the name ACME set into the sand whereas it used to be Howard Johnson before and yet there's no real clear identity to the hotel at all......you can find reference to both names and in the foyer, there seems to be someone standing at the bottom of the stairs to the restaurant that appears to have been renamed WILLS but nobody actually explained this or even tried to approach me to explain this so I was left absolutely clueless as to what has or hasn't happened with it and what they might even do there. I think they are lacking direction and management.
As the main thing I want to be able to do is relax in my room and sleep well, I'll probably use the hotel on future visits because it's well situated for 58- Nanjing Road indoor market which I visit often too and I do sleep well. I've just had to modify my eating habits and find other places to eat, thank goodness they have a Starbucks next door......
Hope this is of use to any of you considering the hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, business rooms are good with a separate sleeping area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#40 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,482 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhongbang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhongbang Hotel

Address: No.118 Shimen First Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200041, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#224 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Hotel Class:5 star — Zhongbang Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Zhongbang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing