We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business hotel”
Review of Zhongbang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zhongbang Hotel
Ranked #427 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and like it very much. Good location to shopping and restaurant’s. I found that some of the front desk clerks do speak English which is very helpful. We have used this hotel as our home base as we travel around the different cities near Shanghai so the location is good. The gym was being remodeled last time but I did use it often on my first trip. The restaurant has a good offering for breakfast. The rooms are very nice and spacious, I have had the 2 room suite each time and the views are great if the smog is not too bad. Overall good experience!

Room Tip: 2 room suite is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

To begin with i must mention that Shanghai is a huge city & it is very important for a visitor to determine beforehand which area he needs to stay to best suit their purpose.

It was our last day in Shanghai & thus reserved for shopping around West Nanjing Metro Stn which has stores like H&M, Uniqlo,M&S, Isetan & also Plaza 66 which houses all luxury brand etc. Even the fake brands shopping area on West Nianjing Rd is close by & the closeby metro stn is on Line 2 which connects to both the airports as well as East Nianjing, the Bund & Hangpu area & Maglev & important sightseeing.

Also just behind the hotel is Dagu Road(Lu) which has many eateries, bars & massage places including 2 Indian restaurants - Masala Art & Masal Desi & are very welcome for those from India & on the lookout for Indian Food.

The hotel itself was Good with nice rooms & bathrooms and well worth the reasonable price we paid of approx 450 RMB for the room.

The beds were very comfortable & the TV had HBO channel.

Breakfast was not a part of our deal so i cannot comment.

The only CON is that right next to the Hotel construction is going on which can be a bit upsetting to some.

Room Tip: Better view from Higher Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linus_110048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is very nice. The room is huge, the bed is big and the bathroom too. One thing I didnt like was that the lighting of the room in general is dim. As for the location, It is 10 minutes walk at least from the shopping streets. The staff was nice and the breakfast good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dayana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My hotel room lock seemed kind of damaged and the room was awfully cold. The hotel customer service and concierge had an air of reluctance and avoidance. You have to be really forceful to get a small request across to them. Furthermore, they seemed prejudiced against their own kind - Chinese race from abroad.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minniekiyomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel is quite good.The rooms are very large, beds are king size and comfortable, . Location is relatively central ( 10 minutes to Nanjing metro station), although many construction sites nearby alters the aspect of the neighborhood. Not very good breakfast , although quite expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicu_moraru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#39 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhongbang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhongbang Hotel

Address: No.118 Shimen First Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200041, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#232 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Hotel Class:5 star — Zhongbang Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Zhongbang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing