We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It's value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Ranked #30 of 4,939 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I would recommend this hotel to those who are concerned with cost while expecting 4.5-5 star quality. Due to its location in the Putuo district (an area of Shanghai that hasn't been fully "renovated" yet), its prices are made more affordable, especially with tour groups and those booking holiday packages. When we stayed there for the first time back in 2010 it was relatively new and the service apartment next to it was still under construction. We suspected this being the reason why we sensed an air of VOC in our room. We also experienced an episode of skin allergy when we developed hives as we were about to go to sleep. At first I thought it was VOC, but then my wife said it could be the filler in the comforter and pillows and she's allergic to duck/goose, i.e. the down. The next morning we were fine but we still asked the hotel to give us another room and change the bedding to something hypoallergenic. Once in our new room, we were fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guruojgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    149
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
50
87
25
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Great Hotel- although location is not at the heart of Shanghai, but complete with accessible nearby mall where u can get your daily needs- Excellent hotel facility, and brand new - Service are excellent - certain portion of its rooms seem to be in association with tour operators and hence you can see big crowds- which fortunately not so loud. It will be louder if they are local tourists :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackLim88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level Contributor
134 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We liked this hotel. Our room was quiet, everything was clean and worked well. Some in our group didn't care for the sliding walls that were necessary to make a room of and isolate the bathroom from the bed room. This didn't bother us. There is a shower in addition to the tub.

The concierge was helpful to us a couple of different times.

The breakfast was very good with a variety of western and Chinese food. The chef would cook eggs to your request.

The hotel is isolated, but that was not a problem for us since we were on a big bus tour.

Be sure to check out other traveler photos as they are accurate. No need to duplicate.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here due to rate we got and the facilities it had. Pros - facility is 5 star but the location is not. However, the subway stop is literally across the street and if you don't mind adding about 20 minutes each day to get to the sights, I would highly recommended this hotel. We started out in the morning, had dinner before returning to the hotel and then relaxed until the next day. It has very comfortable beds and great tub and shower.
Breakfast was included in our room rate. You need to sign for it every day, but there are no charges if you have it in your room rate. If not included, it is quite expensive. Cappacino is included with breakfast rate which you would not know if someone did not tell you this.
The staff spoke enough English for us to communicate and tried to be as helpful as they could be.
Couple of tips - even though we had the hotel address printed in chinese, the taxi from the airport seemed to get lost along the way. As we had no way to communicate (my Chinese is non existent), I would have the directions that are on their website in English translated into Chinese. Instead of 200 CNY that they say it should cost, it cost us 279 CNY. It is a little difficult to find the main entrance to the hotel when arriving in vehicle so I would do my research ahead of time and make sure I have instructions in Chinese. We arrived too late to take the public transportation.
We took metro back to the airport. If you have luggage on wheels there is handicapped entrance across the street - you take an elevator into the station, go through security, lift your bags over the metal divider and then take an elevator into the metro station. Line 7 connects directly to the maglev at longyeng Road. Once you arrive, we did not find the signage great to find the Maglev. You need to exit, go outside (take 2-3 stairs) and the take an escalor up to the maglev on the second level. Remember to show your airline ticket/boarding passes at you get a 20% discount. It departs every 15 minutes - think it stops running at 22:00.
The only negative I have to say about this hotel is the thermastat in the room. I could not adjust it to say 20 C. It was a bit warm.

Room Tip: I booked for a room with king bed and no smoking, and asked to be on a higher floor. We were given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albertatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay area, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Hotel is new and morden and clean. Spent 5 nights there and had to complain to the check-in counter 3 times.
First time: a group of people were so loud near the lift on the 9th floor at 2am on my first night there;
Second time: a group of men next room were so loud and had to call the front desk on my 3rd night there;
Third time: one of my local friends had a very difficulty time to leave me a package at the front costomer service counter. A argument occured between the staff and my friend. That is totally unacceptable.
The management team should have trained the employees better, with a clear guildline, with a professional attitude, to limit such incident happen again in the future.

Recommendation: ask a room as far away from the lift as possible, noticed there were many tour groups in the hotel and they might have a very early check in/out time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#20 of 4,939 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
#13 of 4,939 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel

Property: Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Address: No.50 Tongchuan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China (Formerly Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel&A Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 4,939 Hotels in Shanghai
Price range (per night): RM423 - RM731
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel, a Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel you'll find a place where simple delights become memorable moments. Where distinctive style flirts with touches of whimsy. And where unparalleled service and uncommon sophistication provide a unique experience. At this exceptional boutique hotel in Shanghai, there's always something wonderfully new to be found. Indulge in inspired cuisine at one of four delectable restaurants, meet with colleagues and clients at our state-of-the-art meeting space, dive into our sparkling indoor swimming pool or take in the view from your room or suite. If you'd like to venture beyond our doors, all of the city awaits. Just steps from this boutique hotel's Shanghai location you'll find awe-inspiring museums, chic shops, exciting nightlife and world-renowned businesses. And if you're not sure how to spend the day, our Shanghai boutique hotel's concierge can help you choose the activities that best suit your needs. We look forward to welcoming you to Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing