We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$97
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$173
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$159
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$110
US$106
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$86
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,897)
Filter reviews
1,897 results
Traveller rating
779
792
238
51
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
779
792
238
51
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationthe executive loungehotel entranceconvenient locationchinese restaurantsuperior roomstar hotelnon smokingpeople's squareconvenience storemain restaurantconcierge staffpudong airportlobby areacomfortable staybuffet breakfastbusiness hotel
Filter
Updating list...
465 - 470 of 1,897 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

As a result of bad weather our cruise liner only docked late in afternoon and only got to hotel after 8 o'clock in the evening,Staff were very helpful and a few could speak English which was great.The room was large and very comfortable. Had to leave very early for the airport the next morning so no time to look around the city or have any meals at the hotel.From the short time spent at the hotel was pleasant and enjoyable

Stayed: June 2015
Thank BARRYBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Dear Barrybe,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback on your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Central on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Recognition is very important to us and I am delighted to see that our staff exceeded your expectations on that manner.

We hope to see you again very soon at Grand Mercure Central for another trip to Shanghai!

Best wishes!

Morgane Borrel
Guest Experience Manager
Grand Mercure Shanghai Central
gem@grandmercurezhongya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

What a beautiful hotel, from checking in,to getting up to our room,again very efficient courteous staff. Our room could not have been better,everything you needed including that old favourite of ours, the tea and coffee making facilities.
Once again, the restaurant provided a wide selection of foods to satisfy us with a very good breakfast. The frontline staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble, especially the young french girl by the name of Morgane who was very helpful.
The hotel is well situated shopping malls and only a short taxi ride( not expensive) to many others, as well as being close to the main railway station

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank morgana1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Dear Morgana1625,

Thank you very much for taking the time the post such a nice review on Tripadvisor!

We are spoiled to receive these wonderful comments on the Hotel and particularly the front office staff and myself!
I have shared your kind words with our entire team. This support of our guest is extremely rewarding for our team who greatly appreciated them.

We hope to see you again very soon at Grand Mercure Central for another trip to Shanghai!

Sincerly,

Morgane Borrel
Guest Experience Manager
Grand Mercure Shanghai Central
gem@grandmercurezhongya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015

I stayed here two days ago and have checked in again for another three nights. The concierge staff even welcomed me back, very nice. The hotel is well looked after and the breakfast is excellent. The gym is well equipped if a little warm!
I am staying here right now and have to say the internet is awful, not sure why? I did complain at the front desk a few hours ago, but nothing has happened since.
This is the only real letdown, but when you are an English speaker and local TV is not for you, having good internet is crucial.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingoItalia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2015

Dear KingoItalia2013,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback on your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Central on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Recognition is very important to us and I am delighted to see that our staff exceeded your expectations on that manner.

Also, we have well noted your remark about the Wifi and will transmit it to our management. Please be assured that your comments are valuable to us, we take them into consideration to improve our guest needs and expectations.

We hope to see you again very soon at Grand Mercure Central for another trip to Shanghai!

Sincerly,

Morgane Borrel
Guest Experience Manager
Grand Mercure Shanghai Central
gem@grandmercurezhongya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015 via mobile

Grand mercure is very well located, bang in the centre of town amidst lots of shopping and the metro right beside. However we were given a small room (I'm sure they have better ones) with no windows(!) even though reception confirmed that the room had a city view. There is no swimming pool in the property which was a let down really as we didn't even bother checking if it had one before booking our room.
Staff are nice and courteous, helpful in arranging taxis with the usual translation cards for the drivers. They even allowed an early checkin at 10am which was a pleasant surprise.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Rohit_1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Dear Rohit_1801,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback on your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Central on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. And I will share your kind words with all our staffs.
We do have various kind of rooms. If you have the opportunity to visit us again I'll suggest you to try one of our Deluxe Room.

We hope to see you again very soon at Grand Mercure Central for another trip to Shanghai!

Kind Regards,

Morgane Borrel
Guest Experience Manager
Grand Mercure Shanghai Central
gem@grandmercurezhongya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Booked a suite room 2308 and 2310 during our stay last week. The room is well equipped, bathroom is huge, bed is comfortable. Housekeeping staffs have awesome attitude, they would always attend to my numerous request promptly. Request for memory foam pillow if u prefer medium soft pillow, the default pillows are too soft for me.

Staffs in the executive lounge were friendly, however had a little difficulty communicating my request as a vegetarian. Breakfast at the 5th level has much better variety though. But if you prefer some quiet moments, executive lounge would be good.

Internet connection is good except that we can't have access to international web (I heard that its block through out china?)

Room Tip: high floor,
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Dear Mandy L,

Thank you very much for taking the time the post such a nice review on Tripadvisor!

We are spoiled to receive these wonderful comments on the Hotel and particularly the housekeeping team.
I have shared your kind words with our entire team. This support of our guest is extremely rewarding for our team who greatly appreciated them.

Sincerely Yours,

Morgane Borrel
Guest Experience Manager
Grand Mercure Shanghai Central
gem@grandmercurezhongya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews