We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal International Hotel
Ranked #109 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 27 April 2017

It was not too far from the airport. We got there late at night and we were very pleasantly surprised. It was not a new place but it was beautiful. The room was really nice, in the bathroom they keep shampoos, conditioners,toothbrushes toothpaste, etc. There were slippers, and a refrigerator with free water. There was free wi-fi. A tremendous breakfast buffet was included in the price. There was soup with noodles with meats and whatever vegetables you wanted, eggs, all types of vegetable and meat dishes, coffee and all types of breads and desserts. Everyone tried to help us. The only thing that was wrong is that no one spoke english. Only Chinese people come to this hotel. It was very far from the city, but there were tons of restaurants, mostly noodle restaurants and dim sum restaurants. We made our own entertaiment. Everyone was really helpful once I found an app on my kindle which translated everything I needed into chinese. Loved the place.

Room Tip: I do not know, our room was very confortable, and I think all the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doris638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

We had the opportunity to stay at the Royal International Hotel while on route to Hong Kong. This hotel is all class. The rooms are quite large and very well appointed - you just need to give yourself time to work out the various buttons and switches for curtains, lights, etc. The rooms are completely darkened if you want to enjoy the extra sleep before the late flight. The staff were very friendly and helpful considering they were dealing with cranky travellers arriving late after a long day. The staff made the end of our day calm and relaxing. The breakfast was huge with a wide variety of food to to suit the Asian and Western tastes. We will stay here again for our next visit to Shanghai as it is still close enough to the centre of town without the painful price tag! We had trouble with our taxi drivers knowing exactly where the hotel is so make sure you have the address clearly written in Chinese. Thank you for a most enjoyable stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Stayed 3 nights on business and was very impressed with this hotel ,The staff on check-in were nice and foods are delicious .The most important is very luxurious hotel about 20 min from Shanghai pudong airport.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Juiter1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Location - Yes away from city centre; subway line 2 Changshuan station nearby 1.2 kms ;
taxi service not advisible to go to city centre unless emergency.
Taxi bill will be 100 rmb minimum if ride to city centre.
Near to Pudong airport 30 minutes maximum.
Staff English speaking

Rooms- spacious, not so great view but yes not worst either. Standard rooms non smoking
Clean and equipped free one day wifi, not so noisy

Food nearby small chinese food outlets and kfc/starbucks avaiable near hotel area,
Breakfast good with english food options
Comfortable stay and better than city centre small rooms hefty or pricey hotels


Lastly good property will recommend for business/disney land travellers.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank 19,854,487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

I booked this hotel thru booking.com just 30 mins before we checked in. Took them about 30 mins to figure out my reservation but it was understandable. Walk-in price for executive double room is RMB 2080 but with the booking we only paid RMB 990. They will charge you for deposit which you will get back when you check out. Staffs are extra friendly and the breakfast is amazing! Both Asian meals and Western meals are provided. We went there by taxi and the fare was RMB 50. Going to the airport was a bit more expensive, RMB 70.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Pudong International Airport
The QUBE Hotel Shanghai Pudong
The QUBE Hotel Shanghai Pudong
#103 of 5,159 in Shanghai
433 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
#120 of 5,159 in Shanghai
910 reviews
Royal Garden Hotel Shanghai
#175 of 5,159 in Shanghai
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Encore Shanghai Pudong
#436 of 5,159 in Shanghai
11 reviews
Caoyang / Zhenru
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan
Theme Leyuan Wanxin Hotel
#195 of 5,159 in Shanghai
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal International Hotel

Address: No.998 Xiuchuan Road, Pudong District, Shanghai, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Pudong International Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: RM403 - RM603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing